We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel - good value”
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Stayed for one night in this hotel and had a really nice time. Certainly not a building site now - had a really nice lobby with log fires. Staff were really helpful, and bought us a kettle as we wanted to make tea. Right next to metro station, about 10 mins from city centre. I paid £80, which I think is very good value for Oslo. Room was comfortable and clean (decoration was a little unusual), and bathroom was bright and modern. Gave me an extra bed for my child at no extra charge. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    266
    129
    36
    23
See reviews for
89
138
42
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The hotel itself was OK (although a lot of the public areas were a building site while I was there). However, I've never had such a poor bar meal anywhere -- and I'm British, so I know a bit about that! The salad was limp and so salty it was inedible; the chips were so overcooked that they were just hard shells.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fender_Jazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in Oslo. The hotel was under construction as they were/are adding a conference center so there was some extra noise but nothing done too late/early.

Positives: The hotel room was very comfortable, TV, Wifi Internet were all top notch. The hotel is right across the street from the Nydalen subway stop which is very convenient. The breakfast was very good, and they seemed to keep bringing the food as long as people were eating which wasn't the case anywhere else we've been in Europe. One day we went minutes before the breakfast was set to be over due our 6 month old being cranky...and they had plenty of everything. There was plenty of garage parking, however...

Negatives: The parking costs were VERY high...Norway is an expensive country but if you have your own car plan on spending quite a bit on parking. Overall if I'm in Oslo again I'd stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterpie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The room was clean, spacious, confortable, quiet, with a big window and renovated furniture. The location is very good, a few meters from the metro station (RING line) and in a quite and safe area of the town, close to the university. There's almost no restauranr and or pub newarby but you can easily reach the city center (or the train and bus station) by metro, it takes about 10 minutes. There is a free wi-fi internet connection in every room. Both continental and norvegian and english breakfast avaialable with a good choice and quality. A small remark: there is NO chocolate at breakfast (neither Nutella nor chocolate biscuits or croissant, nothing!)
By booking and pre-paying the room with much advance we got an excellent price and an excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyr, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed 5 nights here for holiday. We were upgraded to a business class room which was spacious. The decor is not my taste but ok if you only sleep there. The hotel is being renovated (restaurant closed) during the summer.

Breakfast was good, but sometimes the staff didn't replace/refill the buffet. We had one lunch there and the food was good and reasonably priced.

Housekeeping is to be improved. Sometimes they removed our towels but did not replace them. We even had to remind them to give us a spare roll of toilet paper. The room was not thoroughly cleaned (dusty telephone and lamps).

Some people think the location is disadvantageous, but with the metro or bus (both directly in front of the hotel) it's very convenient to get to the city centre. It's much quieter than in the city if you want to get some sleep at night.

We booked directly with the hotel (online) and got a good rate (we hope). So it was a good stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

stayed at Radisson Nydalen for a few days in august on one of their "hot deals" offers, fine hotel, we were upgraded to a business class room upon checkin, very large room in a very modern looking hotel, room had a balcony which overlooked the area, beds were comfortable, bathroom was a nice size with both shower and tub, tea/coffee making facilities in the room as well as a mini-bar and satellite tv

breakfast buffet from 7am to 10am is free and has an large assortment of different items like juice, tea/coffee, bread(s), scrambled egg, sausages, beans, bacon, fruit/vegetables, cold meats, yoghurt. the breakfast room is very large with plenty of place of everyone

overall a great hotel to base yourself for a few days in oslo, nice area of north oslo, the metro station is next door to the hotel, trains take about 10 minutes to get from the "Nydalen" stop to the city centre, there is a bar around the corner from the hotel, a small shopping mall/center next door with a rimi supermarket that closes at 9pm and a pizza restaurant next door too

at the moment the hotel seems to be undergoing some slight renovations with scaffolding going up out the back, not sure how that will affect future dates, we heard nothing during our stay on the 6th floor

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soria Moria Hotel
#46 of 100 in Oslo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo
Address: Nydalsveien 33, Oslo 0484, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Nydalen, Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Norway
Norway Radisson
Radisson Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing