We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Lysebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lysebu
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a nice hotel in the holmenkollen area of Oslo. This is closer to the forest than the city center, but can give fantastic experiences with beautiful nature and gourmet food. I recomend staying here for atnleastnone night during your oslo visit. The hotel is cosey and almost feel like beeing at home.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    62
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
108
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lysebu is quite a unique hotel being part of a cdanish/norwegian charity with a goal of promoting culture. This does mean that it feels distinctly different to a regular hotel with one wing adorned with many works of art in almost a gallery setting through which the rooms are entered. I was fortunate enough to stay here on business in a junior suite which had a wonderfully comfortable bed, fantastic shower and a balcony looking out over the hills. The food was very good and as part of the meeting we also used the cookery school facilities on site. For those that like wine there is a massive wine tasting area. It certainly has its character and I cannot fault my stay but give it 4 stars as considering it is part of a foundation and markets itself as being a place of culture and education, it has priced itself quite exclusively and I wouldn't go back if I was picking up the bill

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mns09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The only thing I can complain about, was a nasty shower, but they offered another room quickly and were very helpful. Other than that, great room, comfy bed, excellent dinner (wedding dinner). The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank Larza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2008

I stayed at Lysebu for 2 nights at a cofernce. The standard rooms
are very nice and the beds very good. It was so nice and Quiet even
it is not so far for the senter of Oslo. The food was exelent!

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Stayed here for a wedding over a long weekend. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were lovely, although the bathroom was fairly small and the room wasn't cleaned properly on the 2nd day

The food was incredible - beautifully presented and wonderful flavours. Be warned though, the drinks are HUGELY expensive, even by Norwegian standards. The cheapest bottle of wine was about £35 and spirits about £7 per measure

The location is remote but superb, being surrounded by forest. All the public areas of the hotel have a clean and warm feel to them, with an interesting mix of old and new styles. There is a tram stop within about a 25 minute walk, otherwise you'll need a car to get about.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — expensive drinks
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WickedTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Unfriendly staff-very little information- It ws supposed to be a romatic getaway and it ended out being an angry weekend towards the hotel- The rooms are ok but the price and the staff terrible- gave me
wrong price and a terrible bill- only works for conferences

  • Liked — the location in the woods
  • Disliked — the terrible staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.4 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#54 of 102 in Oslo
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#39 of 102 in Oslo
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,685 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
814 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysebu

Property: Lysebu
Address: Lysebuveien 12 | Postboks 109 Holmenkollen, Oslo 0790, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lysebu 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic, fairytale location above Holmenkollen, only 20 minutes drive from Oslo centre. We pride ourselves in being able to provide our guests with the best of everything. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, and enjoy wine from our cellar with more than 4000 bottles. Encounter 112 works by Norwegian and Danish artists from the Henie Onstad Art Centre. Have a swim in our wellness center or take a walk outside in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lysebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing