We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The secret gem in Oslo! Don't tell anyone”
Review of Lysebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lysebu
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is the best Oslo can offer! It's located in holmenkollen near the famous ski jump and approx 20min from the Oslo center with the subway. From the hotel its 10min to walk to the nearest stop on the metro. The hotel is part of the "historic hotels" in Norway and it states class and quality. I have stayed on 12 there hotels and they are top of the class, lysebu is absolutely the best in the Oslo area if you can afford it. The breakfast is the best Norwegian food I have tasted and the view from the restaurant is stunning! The dinner is world class, I have eaten on a couple of Michelin restaurants and this hotel has the same food quality. A swimming pool, sauna in the ground floor. Permanent art from the famous henie onstad art gallery and soviniers from danish designers. The building is designed by the danish architect Magnus Paulsson and a gift from Norway as a thank to Denmark from the food supply during the WWII. All danish people feel like coming home when they arrive at this hotel. This hotel is the best hotel experience you can get if you not is needed to stay in the city centre. I would had booked it if you will have something extra, see the ski jump, eat the best norwegian short traveled and organic food, enjoy art and discover the best wine cellar in Norway. Happy stay, I have lived in Oslo for a long time and this is my best advise to you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Lysebu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Lysebu is a combined conferance- and getaway hotel located in the outskirts of Oslo. Beautifully adorned in the mountains, Lysebu offers spectacular views for foreigners. If you're planning to visit Oslo and want to stay in a romantic, traditional hotel that captures some of Norways soul, go for Lysebu. Keep in mind though; it's in the outskirts of Oslo (roughly 20 minutes outside of town) and it's quite isolated. Of course, this creates a fantastic setting for all kinds of romance, so if you're a older couple looking for tranquil relaxation, I can safely recommend Lysebu.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

As soon as I stepped into the room - I wanted to come back.

You get the feeling of a cosy luxury 'cottage' in the mountains, along with the service level and cuisine you might expect in a 5 star luxury hotel.

I stayed in the 'newer' rooms, in the new building. Beautiful design and high quality fixtures and fittings. Very comfortable bed. Probably a great location for a romantic getaway! Lots of open fires, and cosy corners to sit, chat and relax.

I didn't use the spa, but I heard that the pool and Sauna were top class.

Tried the buffet lunch and breakfast - both superb. Also enjoyed a 4 course dinner, with great wines and service from the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel73Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is a nice hotel in the holmenkollen area of Oslo. This is closer to the forest than the city center, but can give fantastic experiences with beautiful nature and gourmet food. I recomend staying here for atnleastnone night during your oslo visit. The hotel is cosey and almost feel like beeing at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lysebu is quite a unique hotel being part of a cdanish/norwegian charity with a goal of promoting culture. This does mean that it feels distinctly different to a regular hotel with one wing adorned with many works of art in almost a gallery setting through which the rooms are entered. I was fortunate enough to stay here on business in a junior suite which had a wonderfully comfortable bed, fantastic shower and a balcony looking out over the hills. The food was very good and as part of the meeting we also used the cookery school facilities on site. For those that like wine there is a massive wine tasting area. It certainly has its character and I cannot fault my stay but give it 4 stars as considering it is part of a foundation and markets itself as being a place of culture and education, it has priced itself quite exclusively and I wouldn't go back if I was picking up the bill

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mns09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The only thing I can complain about, was a nasty shower, but they offered another room quickly and were very helpful. Other than that, great room, comfy bed, excellent dinner (wedding dinner). The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no
Thank Larza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

I stayed at Lysebu for 2 nights at a cofernce. The standard rooms
are very nice and the beds very good. It was so nice and Quiet even
it is not so far for the senter of Oslo. The food was exelent!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.4 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#55 of 102 in Oslo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oslo
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
THE THIEF
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,719 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysebu

Address: Lysebuveien 12 | Postboks 109 Holmenkollen, Oslo 0790, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £146 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lysebu 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic, fairytale location above Holmenkollen, only 20 minutes drive from Oslo centre. We pride ourselves in being able to provide our guests with the best of everything. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, and enjoy wine from our cellar with more than 4000 bottles. Encounter 112 works by Norwegian and Danish artists from the Henie Onstad Art Centre. Have a swim in our wellness center or take a walk outside in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lysebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing