We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best «GET AWAY» hotel in/around Oslo.”
Review of Lysebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lysebu
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best «GET AWAY» hotel in/around Oslo.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is located in the mountain area in Oslo. Around 45 minutes total travel time from the city center or the University (Blindern). Around 12 minutes walk (up hill, can be difficult with heavy luggage) from the T-Bane station to the hotel.
Huge room with double beds (even if you are traveling solo), with sofas, and table. Very small TV, so do not come to this hotel if you are traveling with TV-addicted children.
Good Breakfast (unfortunately nothing with Chicken or Turkey, everything with pork). The hotel has Sauna, Gym, and Swimming also, so everything one needs in a ‘get away’ hotel. Prices are high, very high, even with Norwegian standard. The breakfast is served only between 07:00-09:00, which is odd. Different varieties of egg dishes, pure butter, fresh breads, etc. The staff is very nice, and they try their best to take care of you. The toilets do not have a ventilation, which is fine in summer (by keeping the window open for a while), but you might have trouble sleeping in winter  No boiler in room, but the staff at reception is nice, and can get you warm water/tea/coffee any time (even middle of the night).
The main problem is the location of the hotel. You cannot go anywhere to eat, and the restaurant at the hotel is expensive. This is not for people who need to be at a meeting at 08:00 in City center area.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the same building as the reception. The view may not be great, but the rooms are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Massao. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    62
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
102
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we couldn't choose better.
The room was very nice, felt like home. The bed is super comfortable, I slept better than in my own bed at home. The breakfast is beyond amazing, organic food and beautiful view.
Staff is very helpful, we got a late check out without to pay any extra because the room wasn't booked after us.
That was very hard to leave this hotel, definitely recommend and we'll go back next time when need a room in Oslo. I loved every second in this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

There is an attitude at this hotel which we could not help but notice. They expect to excel at everything, and at every point they went one step further than we could have hoped. they did everything to make the stay unforgettable. The meal in the evening was one of the best we have ever had anywhere in the world, and the breakfast delightful in its setting, and delicious. When we unfortunately left a coat and scarf there, the staff did everything possible to get it back to us.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a special room, yet the view was perfect, and the room ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterlawrencebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Located in the "mountains" surrounding Oslo and only twenty minutes away, this is a place to see the real nature of south eastern Norway without having to leave Oslo. Very good food and an excellent wine list at the restaurant, modern rooms with the views as if you stayed in a private Norwegian cabin. Twenty minutes or so from downtown Oslo by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBC6246ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel and location on the mountain behind Oslo. Not easy to reach without ones own car and taxis are very expensive as most things are here in Norway. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely pool with views over mountains and forest. Excellent restaurant and menu largely organic and local but heavily meat and fish based.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greenlantern1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrköping Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a wonderful place! The scenery is lovely with an amazing view. Old, yet modern, sleek yet quaint and very original. We stayed in the newly decorated annex and this is definitely a hotel room I'll remember. The design was unique yet very functional with lots of nice details. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the valley. The bed was very comfortable, there was lots of storage in the room (great if you're staying a few days) and the bathroom was beautiful with lush toiletries from L'Occitane. There were fluffy robes as well.

We had a four course dinner in the evening and everything was delicious and very well presented.

Breakfast was delicious with an ecofriendly focus, something I really appreciate.

A great stay, I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_and_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for a night just to get out of the city. The hotel is beatifully situated in the forrest just north of Oslo (30-40 min by train, 20 min by car). They have a very good kitchen and an excellent vine cellar (I recommend selecting one of their daily menus with corresponding vine package, you won't regret it). The hotel itself and the rooms are also very nice, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.4 mi away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#54 of 100 in Oslo
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#46 of 100 in Oslo
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,606 reviews
4.4 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
777 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Gabelshus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysebu

Property: Lysebu
Address: Lysebuveien 12 | Postboks 109 Holmenkollen, Oslo 0790, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lysebu 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic, fairytale location above Holmenkollen, only 20 minutes drive from Oslo centre. We pride ourselves in being able to provide our guests with the best of everything. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, and enjoy wine from our cellar with more than 4000 bottles. Encounter 112 works by Norwegian and Danish artists from the Henie Onstad Art Centre. Have a swim in our wellness center or take a walk outside in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lysebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing