We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”
Review of PS:Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PS:Hotell
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had a tranquil suite with a zen-like atmosphere and all kinds of modern facilities - kitchen and bathroom inclusive.

The breakfast was good, with homemade bread, and the butter was not served in cheap little plastic boxes, like in most hotels. The service was very friendly.

The hotel is, however, not easy to find. Both our taxi drivers drove us to the other Vulcan Hotel. You have to state that you want to go to the PS Hotel vis à vis "Mathallen" - the new food mall in Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
31
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel is located at the "Vulkan"-area in Oslo (Grünerløkka), next to "Mathallen" (an indoor marketplace packed with delicious food shops). Pricing is good for being Oslo, lower than most other hotels in the city center. It`ll take you about 10-15 minutes by foot to get to the city center, but there are plenty of shops, bars and places to eat at Grünerløkka, as well as other facilities (cinema, art galleries etc.).

Rooms were spacious enough, clean, nice bathrooms. The staff was friendly and welcoming, can`t really put my finger on anything. Facilities are simple, no mini-bars, not sure if they even offer room-service (?), but what you pay for is what you get. I`d definitely come back to this hotel.

We had breakfast/lunch at the hotel`s restaurant as well, not many things to chose from on the menu and the staff seemed a little confused and stressed (and- I don`t think they noticed that with us sitting right in the front of the food preparing area, we could here everything that they were saying about us, quite funny actually;). But- they were all really friendly and the food was delicious- a lot better from what I`d expected! Try it out!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The new Vulkan-area is the hottest place in Oslo right now. Restoration of old industrial buildings into a fabulous Food-hall, apartments (currently under construction) and several cafes, restaurants and pubs makes this a great place to stay! Not to mention the closeness to Grünerløkka and great walking paths along the river. Hotel is brand new. Room and bathroom was good size, but no hangers and the bathroom lightning was impossible for putting on make up. No mini-bar,-but that's not a big deal. Free tea and coffe in reception is a plus. Very very nice and welcoming staff. Breakfast ok with the basics.
So to sum up: great area, good basic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I discovered this hotel only because there were no other available rooms in Oslo, and I'm so glad that I found it! This new and very groovy design hotel is actually a trainee hotel where people who have had trouble getting into the work market work as trainees, learning a new profession. All the staff were VERY friendly and helpful, and though sometimes you could tell they were still learning I felt well looked after. The hotel is a short walk from the city and in a new design sort of area of Grünerløkka right by Dansens hus and other arts organisations and restaurants.

Room Tip: I had a three person family room (because that's all that was available) which had a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mölnlycke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Looked like a nice hotel, friendly staff. Refreshingly different style! Only problem; they state parking possibilities for 100 NOK/per day. After check in it turned out to be 50 NOK/h (24/7!)!. Receptionist stated it is too difficult to change the homepage info. Checked out again and stayed somewhere else!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LagerforsM_lnlycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great hotel, good service, good breakfast. Design was nice - modern and youthful and due to the "youthfulness", the only minus - nowhere to hang your clothes. In other words, no hangers. But free wifi, free coffee and ok price for Oslo make it all up, so it's a place worth to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurus_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
0.0 mi away
Scandic Vulkan
Scandic Vulkan
#25 of 102 in Oslo
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anker Hotel
Anker Hotel
#45 of 102 in Oslo
1,388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
0.6 mi away
P-Hotels Oslo
P-Hotels Oslo
#87 of 102 in Oslo
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PS:Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PS:Hotell

Property: PS:Hotell
Address: Maridalsveien 13c, Oslo 0178, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PS:Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in its right meaning, PS:Hotell serves as a learning area in hospitality for people currently not in the jobsector. PS:Hotell's goal is to not only provide a full service hotel towards our guests but also a possibility for our staff to get back to a normal working life. With this concept, with our level of service provided, PS:hotell is unmatched by its rivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your PS:Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing