We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guest”
Review of PS:Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PS:Hotell
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Returning guest”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

PS Hotell is quite a unique concept in the very heart of Oslo where I have spent numerous nights. Despite living just an hour and a bit outside the capital PS Hotell is worth every penny and saves me from traveling back and forth when I have work to do in the capital. You'll find some 20 restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk and the hotel concept in itself is quite unique as its staff is made up by people struggling to find work (in a country with close to no unemployment) elsewhere. Needless to say, this job is important to those working there and I find the level of service and in particular their personal touch outperforming most other hotels in the city. On top of this the rooms are very modern, clean and affordable. Try it out if you don't carry too much luggage as the storage capacity in the somewhat small rooms are limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per A. O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    57
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
31
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at PS hotel when I spent a few days in Oslo. Close to public transportation and small shops and cafés close by. The rooms were nice, only problem I experienced was when showering the whole barroom got flooded.
Overall a great experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a cheap hotel which would suit young back packers. The rooms are clean and modern, but they are very small, with no wardrobe space, just hooks on the wall.

The breakfasts were good and the staff friendly.

It is a long walk from the train station!

I do not think it is a hotel for a long stay, unless you are not fussy about having creased clothes!

Room Tip: See if the room has a wardrobe. If not, ask for some clothes hangers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMurcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Something affordable and good in Norway is not something you find everyday! This hotel is a little gem, and thats for sure! Stayed there 2 times already.
Simple rooms but awesome design, the rooms could fit 3 people really easily since they had a bunk bed kind of on the top of the double bed. The toilette was modern and spacious.
Super friendly staff, awesome breakfast, nordic design furniture, everything very minimalistic/ creative.
The bad things were the windows that only opened a bit (that made the room a bit claustrophobic), it was a bit far from the center and up a hill and the garage was else where (took a while to be found). Other than that, I had a very comfy stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPaolucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay a few nights in Oslo and this was definately the right choice. From the friendly welcome at the front desk to the great meal in their in-house resturant you really couldn't get better value for money spent in a hotel in expensive Oslo. The location is a little out of the city center but a short bus ride on their efficient transit and you are downtown in no time. Right outside the front door is an amazing selection of trendy resturants and food stalls in a renovated building that is an important part of this growing hip neighbourhood. And about the in-house resturant....one of the best meals had on our trip around the Baltic. The chef was an artist, carefully arranging the last details on the plate before the presentation. Oh....and also don't miss the breakfast. The staff laid out a huge assortment of goodies for us and seemed genuinely happy when we attempted to sample all of their work. Hats off to the staff at PS Hotell!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickandSherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a very comfortable corner room with black out drapes and very close to the bus line into the city center. Across the way was a large market/restaurant with wonderful seafood. The staff were very helpful and directed us to the wine shop about half mile away. The breakfast was above average

Room Tip: get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BETTY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

read a lot of reviews on this hotel , we found it to be clean and modern, the staff which there was plentiful of, were great happy and helpful. Breakfast which was included in the price had a great choice and the times were suitable, It was easy to get to from the centre, and I would go back to it if I was travelling in Norway again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanessa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Vulkan
#25 of 102 in Oslo
627 reviews
Anker Hotel
#45 of 102 in Oslo
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
814 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 102 in Oslo
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PS:Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PS:Hotell

Property: PS:Hotell
Address: Maridalsveien 13c, Oslo 0178, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — PS:Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in its right meaning, PS:Hotell serves as a learning area in hospitality for people currently not in the jobsector. PS:Hotell's goal is to not only provide a full service hotel towards our guests but also a possibility for our staff to get back to a normal working life. With this concept, with our level of service provided, PS:hotell is unmatched by its rivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your PS:Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing