We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THE THIEF
Nearby Hotels
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$236
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,921)
Filter reviews
1,921 results
Traveller rating
1,423
341
106
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,423
341
106
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastrup fearnley museumfood barturn down servicemodern artsmall balconyaker bryggedeluxe roomgreat designluxury hotelcool hotelamazing hoteloslo fjordnespresso machinewater frontrestaurants and barsbreakfast was deliciouscity hall
Filter
Updating list...
1,097 - 1,102 of 1,921 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A hotel for those who appreciate modern Scandinavian design. But very comfortable with impeccable service. Location not ideal for walking unless on a rare warm day and not close to the city centre, being on a newly developed waterfront area some distance from the action. Great as a business hotel and quite an experience in its own right.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a waterfront view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As you mentioned were located on a brand new peninsular in the Oslo Fjord . Very glad you enjoyed the experience and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Thief is a lovely designed Hotel. The team is very attentive and very helpful. Good locationAlthough the hotel is not in town, Downtown is not to far away. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bathroom is very spacious. Great bathtub. Great breakfast with something for everyone.A bit on the expensive side but that seems to be the case in Norway

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . As you mentioned were not located in the center of town but on a new peninsular in the Oslo Fjord and a short walk from town . Good to hear that you enjoyed the room bath & breakfast . I will also forward you very positive comments concerning the staff to my colleagues

Great that you took the time to send your thoughts as guest feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Super stylish, cosy and luxurious. Everything you could want for a special get away. Nice trendy locale (although not without some ongoing construction). Handy for the tram or a walk into town. Topped off by amazing, friendly and knowledgable staff such as Katerina and Martha :)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank DirtyWeeHallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Greetings and many thanks or your review of The Thief . Great to get so much positive feedback and i will forward you thoughts to my colleagues Martha & Katherina

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Thief is somewhat pricey even for Oslo, but it delivers what it promises. The room was quite perfect. Lobby, bar and restaurant were exceptionally nice. The service was good and left nothing to be desired. If you don't want to stay right in the city center, then the location is excellent (and the center is not far away either).

A/C-unit did make some noise, but that was not really disturbing. There was some construction noise in daytime, since the whole area has been recently built and there was still one building site nearby behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view, then choose a room with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Great to get your positive comments concerning the hotel , staff , service & room . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Thief promises a lot on it's website. And the media has praised this new design hotel. But to me it didn't deliver. The hotel is stunning both inside and outside, and Tjuvholmen, where it is located, is very beautiful. But unless you get a room with a view of the water side, the view from your room (or glass balcony) isn't much to brag about; you will be watching construction work or another cool building. The art inside and outside the hotel is very surprising and edgy, and so is the interior. Turning on the TV feels cutting edge, and if you want the staff to make up your room, you have to know what you're doing. Our room was not made up because I didn't understand how to work the button (and I realize this sounds a little ignorant, but the red/green light over the door was impossible to see unless you knew what to look for). Me and my travel companion had planned for a movie night in (as we're movie enthusiasts), but the selection of TV channels and movies on demand was very disappointing. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great, although the choice of bread spread wasn't grand. And the burger from room service was OK. So was the bed. The mattress was fine, but if you're sharing the bed with someone you're not planning to sleep really close to, the duvet is too small/short to cover you both completely. With the risk of sounding sulky, I must say The Thief isn't worth the money. From the hotel it will take you about 15-20 minutes to walk to the city center- where there are lots of equally great and more affordable hotels - if you can spare the art.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kameleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief .
Glad you enjoyed the location and hotel interior
As you mentioned the peninsular is in the final stage of completion and soon to be finished . We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts and i will forward your comments to my colleagues

Dominic Gorham
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews