We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Thief

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thief
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

If your going to Oslo stay here!
The design is stunning the rooms are modern and sumptuous. The food is seasonal, considered and delicious... The service when it's good is excellent, but be hit and miss. Overall the experience is first class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your great review and you high recommendation . Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and i´ll forward your thoughts to my colleagues . I should mention that our head chef Johan has a particular panache for locally sourced and seasonal ingredients and glad you enjoyed Fru K

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    292
    94
    30
    12
See reviews for
162
796
92
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Yes, I came back. The third stay, and whilst I've talked about the quality of the overall hotel experience before, this time I want to highlight the staff of the property.

There are many hotels and there are many more hoteliers. Not all of them are capable of delivering true hospitality and offering a genuine warmth and interest in their guests.

This is not a concern that the management need have at this property. All of the staff I encountered on this stay were, accommodating, interested, genuine, thoughtful, curators and communicative.

That's what the art of hospitality is all about.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thank for sharing your thoughts concerning The Thief
Tremendous feedback concerning the staff as i`ve mentioned in previous replies we pay particular attention to the staff and the way we interact with out guests . It´s been a pleasure to receive so much positive feedback

Once again many thanks for sharing your thoughts and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a BRAND NEW modern hotel but with automations and other high tech features such as interesting animation inside the elevator. It is a very elegant modern hotel.

But what makes it very special for us was that

THE SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING!!!

There was no " can't do".
For instance,
We needed to wash dirty clothes on January 1 and there was no dry cleaner /laundry service opened on the 1st day of the year but the hotel front desk staff ; after searching for all the solutions he could possibly find got someone
in-house to wash several pieces of our clothes for us instead of saying no.
All other staff were extremely helpful.

The location is great.

The new modern art museum is right opposite the hotel over the water.

The location is removed from the main shopping street next to a small marina but it is a walkable and pleasant waterfront walking distance to the centre of the city or you can take a short taxi ride.

The room was very comfortable and large with good well planned space.

Everything is of first class quality.

But wait, did you forget your hair spray or that red nail polish?
How about belt, necktie or crisp white shirt and cufflinks?

They have it all in the drawer above your "frigo-bar" for a cost...yes, not a small cost...but by the time you need it, it would be saving your day!

The shower has no bath tub to climb into which is great!
The sink area maybe a little short of space but you have other perks.

The room has a small balcony so you can look out to the waterfront and the distance old
castle.

We spent the New Years Eve at the hotel and had a great view of the city fireworks!

Dining experience was outstanding.

Amazing that the restaurant is not yet a Michelin star.
It was creative, delicious, and explosions of flavours in your mouth!
I had to change 2 of the 6 courses sampling menu and
in no time the chef team created something special custom made
to my need on the spot that tasted like they had tested and tried for
weeks in advance!

Perhaps it could have more choices of desserts!!

Definitely, we'll go back! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Ask for room with the view to the Castle. High Floor Check out roof top
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and what an amazing review . Many thanks as it´gives us great pleasure to get such tremendous feedback . Our biggest kick must be that you rate the service as "outstanding " . However beautiful The Thief is we have always focused on the guests and were always looking to improve on our guests experience .
Looks like we accomplished our goal
I´ll forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very artistic hotel in Oslo. There is artwork everywhere, and the rooms are spacious and beautiful.
The bed with all its pillows, is gorgeous. Breakfast is probably the best in town, and the breakfast restaurant is very fasionable.
The hotel is situated at Tjuvholmen, near to The Astrup Fearnley art museum.
You can easily access the city centre by walking 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankiBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Splendid review and very glad you enjoyed your stay . We enjoy breakfast at the Thief and especially on the weekends when we have " lazy breakfast "

Great that you took the time to share your thoughts with us as your feedback is invaluable

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebelluna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Simply the best place to stay in Oslo! It is strategically located in newly developed area of the town (next to a modern art museum designed by famous architect Renzo Piano), it is brand new and it is tastefully furnished (do not forget to take a look at the Andy Wharhol painting hanging discretely on a wall in the restaurant). The restaurant is first class, also for vegetarians/vegans. Service is top quality as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Very glad that you discovered the Warhol as it´s a splendid piece . Great that we could accommodate for your vegan & vegetarian menu . We have great chef and he prides himself on his fresh , locally sourced & natural ingredients

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

New and modern in a quiet and scenic location. Very nice rooms with good beds, nice bathroom and a good nespresso machine. The breakfast is very delicious. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice art everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your very precise review of The Thief
Great to hear so many positives and I´ll forward your comments to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I'm always a bit leery of hip hotels staffed by attractive 20-somethings. In my experience, it doesn't bode well for the service (we call it the Sanderson Syndrome). And when we had to go back to reception to get keys that actually opened the door to our room, I was worried. But in this case, it was a fluke. The rest of the service there was fine. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel is in a newer part of Olso; it's on the harbor side and it's being developed for high-class tourism, I think. It was an interesting place to stay (although we were there in October; not sure how crowded it would be in the high season), with an amazing choice of restaurants and shops. The old part of Olso was well within walking distance. The lobby and bar area were luxurious and quiet; all in all, a top choice (and one I chose based on reviews here).
My one complaint was the hotel restaurant. It did have one of the best breakfast buffets I've seen, and again, staff were very attentive. But we came back for dinner, and I couldn't find a thing I wanted to eat on the menu. We actually had to leave and find another place. Now I understand that they had a top chef, and I understand that pasta and chicken aren't necessarily the best dishes for showing off culinary skills, but a hotel restaurant needs to have a wide range of dishes. It's like a balanced wardrobe: one where you always have an appropriate outfit to wear. This restaurant is the culinary equivalent of a closet full of Vivienne Westwood and Jimmy Choos...over the top.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side. I like to sleep with the windows open, but it was way too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Not sure if the Sanderson Syndrome is a compliment as it´s a fine hotel but very glad we managed to get over the original hiccup and provide you with a service worthy of The Thief . Comparisons with Jimmy Choo and Vivien Westwood are colourfull and imaginative and i can only thanks you
We have now introduced the Thief Burger and a range of international dishes to compliment the menu so hope we have listed to our guests and provided accordingly

Looking forward to your return and another interesting review

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel
#12 of 101 in Oslo
271 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
798 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thief

Property: The Thief
Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing