We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Scandinavia.”
Review of The Thief

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Thief
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Scandinavia.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My mother in law who is swedish says that Scandinavians do not do luxury. I think after our experience at the Thief Hotel she was proven wrong: The rooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed. There were yummy coffees and teas available in the room. The showers and bathrooms are modern and well designed. We had a cocktail at the bar and the bartender insisted I try a gin drink, and I hate gin, but it was amazing. The staff are all young and enthusiastic. I wish we had more time there. It was very expensive. But I totally disagree with Efficient traveller, there is nothing cheap about this hotel. I think he just had a bad experience. The only draw back was there is no gym yet, they are building a spa and should complete the whole project beautifully.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to receive your positive feedback as we rely on our guest to share the experience with us to help us improve our service . It was particularly pleasing to hear your comments concerning the staff and i will forward your thoughts to all the personnel. As you mentioned we open Thief Spa on the 14th March and we look forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    283
    92
    30
    11
See reviews for
154
778
91
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean, although the interior is dark and cheap.

However, service is non-existent:

In-room phones do not work for contacting the reception, or any guest service center, room service or housekeeping function for that sake.

If you call the hotel from out outside using your mobile, all you get is an automated voice menu and an unspecified wait for a reservation agent.

So you end up stranded in your room.

True horror - I will never come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Greetings and many thanks for sharing your views on The Thief
Unfortunately we did have a problem with the phones that we have now rectified . We did inform all our guests of the situation and we do understand the inconvenience this caused you . If you would like to contact me on your next visit to Oslo I´m sure i can show you the very enjoyable side of The Thief that the vast majority of our guests have experienced


Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very favourably impressed with this hotel - it makes a real change from the staid and boring normal fare. I can't wait to try the new Spa when it opens.

UPSIDES
Particularly appealing if you like modern art
Very comfortable rooms
Very well appointed rooms
Spacious bathroom
Very clean

DOWNSIDES
A doorman would be very helpful for luggage
The in-room dining menu is pitifully small!
In general there need to be a wider dining selections

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Greetings and many thank for your review of our property . Were very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back after the 14th March when we open our new Spa . Your very useful comments concerning the food & menu have been noted

Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here in October for three nights for business/pleasure. It is a very good hotel, excellent facilities - it is a great improvement on the city's previous best offerings in my experience. Decor is comfortable, clever and fashionable - but we were a little disappointed that it feels like they have tried to simply copy similar design hotel concepts in other capital cities, without adding an especially Norwegian flavour to it.

We stayed in a deluxe room, it was comfortable with a good bathroom and fine view, some friends had a superior room which was almost the same as ours except considerably cheaper! If we return we wouldn't go for the deluxe but opt for the superior.

The restaurant has a small but very good menu - and actually good value for Oslo! Which was a pleasant surprise because the hotel itself is perhaps a little overpriced at the moment.

I will certainly return.

Room Tip: In our experience the deluxe room didn't offer a huge amount more than our friends' superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear so many positive comments concerning our new property . As a hotel we are supportive of the Norwegian art milieu and we have plenty of examples from major works of art to vases and blankets in almost all of the rooms . It would be a pleasure to show you around the hotel on your return .

We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Good quality hotel, with high level of service. Understated reception with attentive staff. The rooms are very comfortable, though is trained to see the Harbour from mine. Very high tech, with smart lighting that follows you around. The tech was my only negative, as I could not manage to turn the iPod alarm off. Heated floor bathroom nice for the winter, and an excellent comfortable bed. We had a business dinner in the restaurant which was very good indeed. Fantastic breakfast with good choice of English, continental or Scandinavian. Pricey, but memorable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to hear that you had such a good stay . Smart lighting has been a focus of ours as we have a policy to try and save energy where possible . As you mentioned the comfort of the bed is a recurring theme in many of the reviews and another focus point of ours .

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Thief for 5 nights from Jan 19-24. Its my foruth stay and I will definatley come back. The hotel is without a doubt the best hotel in Oslo. It's modern, has a great interior, the service is impeccable and staff is always willing to help. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is served in an elegant restaurant and is neetly prepared with a typical Scandinavian flare. Take a look at the modern art pieces hanging on the walls and behind the glass in the elevator.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngvar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief
To be called the best hotel in town is a real honor and i will forward you thoughts to my colleagues

I would also like to thank you fr taking your time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

If your going to Oslo stay here!
The design is stunning the rooms are modern and sumptuous. The food is seasonal, considered and delicious... The service when it's good is excellent, but be hit and miss. Overall the experience is first class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your great review and you high recommendation . Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and i´ll forward your thoughts to my colleagues . I should mention that our head chef Johan has a particular panache for locally sourced and seasonal ingredients and glad you enjoyed Fru K

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Grand Hotel
#15 of 100 in Oslo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
775 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thief

Property: The Thief
Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing