We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THE THIEF
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,903)
Filter reviews
1,903 results
Traveller rating
1,410
335
107
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,410
335
107
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastrup fearnley museumfood barturn down servicemodern artsmall balconyaker bryggedeluxe roomgreat designluxury hotelcool hotelamazing hoteloslo fjordnespresso machinewater frontrestaurants and barsbreakfast was deliciouscity hall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 1,903 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in February and overall, had a wonderful time - but then you do expect that from a top-notch 5 star hotel! It was hard to fault, but a few thoughts below:

Pros:
- great location in the newly renovated harbourside area of Tyuvsholmen with good restaurants nearby
- the hotel is stylish from top to bottom, with interesting artwork all over and great architecture
- luxurious, stylish room with plenty of space and a big bath
- Nespresso coffee in the room - always a delight!
- absolutely incredible food at the restaurant, with perfectly cooked fish, a good wine list, friendly attentive service and luxurious but un-stuffy surroundings

Cons:
- not quite the 5-star experience, with no porter to help with bags, our room not cleaned by 5pm when we returned from a day out (although the helpful staff sent someone straight up when we called to ask them to clean), and the breakfast buffet really chaotic during the busy period with insufficient staff to help direct you to your table, bring coffee, and so on.

Room Tip: The "sea view" room we paid extra for only afforded a view of the sea if you stood at one end of the window and craned your neck to see past the edge of the office building opposite... not worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thank for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Great to hear your comments concerning the location , rooms , style , art & food . We have paid particular attention to the informal but professional service and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues . We rely on your feedback to improve our service and your comments concerning breakfast , luggage and housekeeping have been noted .
Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Overall a very good hotel - very modern, hi-tech if a tad 'quirky'! Staff we encountered were all excellent, efficient and friendly - indeed the staff are the best part of the hotel. Absence of a porter to assist with luggage is a drawback, and bar area is rather small. However, rooms very comfortable and breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank East_Lothian_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Great to be described as " quirky" and your comments concerning the staff were particularly pleasing . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues .

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What to say ?

Amazing design
Welcoming: more than perfect
Service / information: over performing international standards which is VERY rare in Norway
Kids: more than welcome, the Chief did a plate as requested for our little girl.

No hesitation, best place in Oslo

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoinee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your great " exclamation " concerning The Thief . Glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My mother in law who is swedish says that Scandinavians do not do luxury. I think after our experience at the Thief Hotel she was proven wrong: The rooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed. There were yummy coffees and teas available in the room. The showers and bathrooms are modern and well designed. We had a cocktail at the bar and the bartender insisted I try a gin drink, and I hate gin, but it was amazing. The staff are all young and enthusiastic. I wish we had more time there. It was very expensive. But I totally disagree with Efficient traveller, there is nothing cheap about this hotel. I think he just had a bad experience. The only draw back was there is no gym yet, they are building a spa and should complete the whole project beautifully.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to receive your positive feedback as we rely on our guest to share the experience with us to help us improve our service . It was particularly pleasing to hear your comments concerning the staff and i will forward your thoughts to all the personnel. As you mentioned we open Thief Spa on the 14th March and we look forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean, although the interior is dark and cheap.

However, service is non-existent:

In-room phones do not work for contacting the reception, or any guest service center, room service or housekeeping function for that sake.

If you call the hotel from out outside using your mobile, all you get is an automated voice menu and an unspecified wait for a reservation agent.

So you end up stranded in your room.

True horror - I will never come back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Greetings and many thanks for sharing your views on The Thief
Unfortunately we did have a problem with the phones that we have now rectified . We did inform all our guests of the situation and we do understand the inconvenience this caused you . If you would like to contact me on your next visit to Oslo I´m sure i can show you the very enjoyable side of The Thief that the vast majority of our guests have experienced


Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews