We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of THE THIEF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I went to Oslo last year and to this day it was the best place I've ever been. Words can't describe it, so don't just read this to find out about it. JUST GO and EXPERIENCE it. A must do!!! If you've never went to Scandinavia, or any northern or Baltic region, it's a fantastic experience. Plus the locals are so friendly too.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Greetings
What an amazing review .......many thanks . Great to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable .

Very much looking forward to your return to Oslo

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 967 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Oslo has lacked a hotel of this caliber for a very long time. I was very happy to have had the chance to stay their with my group. Dominic was awesome from the very start. We felt welcome and taken care of by any staff member you ran into. The hotel is modern and the beds are well.....amazing!! We only had one evening here but very much looking forward to the next time.
Great spot to walk around the hotel and yet no to much noise at night. Right on the docks.
A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mindisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Greetings and many thank for your review . Great to hear that your stay was so enjoyable . Such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I´ll forward your thoughts to my colleagues
Once again the bed is the star of the show a quite rightly so .

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your words are truly motivational

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Thief

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff is just wonderful, breakfast was really good and the rooms are some of the biggest you can get in central Oslo. The hotel was sophisticated, and the interior was stunning. It was even served afternoon tea in my room every evening, that's a huge pplus on service side. This has to be the best hotel in Oslo, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steffen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . A real pleasure to read so many positive comments and particularly concerning the staff & the service experience you received . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good food, super service.
Great location, but every hotel in Oslo has that. The city is rather small.
Did not use the swimmingpool or fitness, did not knew they had it, and it`s not for me anyhow.
The minibar is always moore importante.
Otherwise: nice stay.
Recomennded.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steinar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very short but precise review of The Thief . Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your return

Wishing you a relaxing Summer

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

After 9 different hotels in 12 days and mercifully I came to spend a night at the Thief. Very friendly and helpful staff and luxuriously appointed rooms. The bed was wonderful I could have slept for days in it. The espresso machine the little extra items available in the mini bar, the toiletries in the bathroom just magnificent.

What's the point of writing any more when it would just be saying more good things. Great location, good cafe around the hotel, nice bar in the hotel. Beautiful bits of art in the hotel and the room....

Happily stay here again when next in Oslo.!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pugwash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thanks or your review of The Thief
Great to hear that you managed to land at The Thief and your comments regarding the bed have been a very pleasing recurring theme since the opening . Glad that you enjoyed all the little "extras " in the room

Very much looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a luxury hotel that is aesthetically pleasing surroundings as well as the comfort that all hotels in this category should have. Each person on the staff we interacted with was cordial and very helpful. Though the room was small, it was well thought out and well appointed. It was a pleasure to return to the relaxing atmosphere of the room. The breakfast buffet was a real treat, with great consideration for guests' dietary needs, such as gluten free and lactose free items.
The one area that was disappointing was the bar. It was not a comfortable place to sip a drink. And the bar menu was so limited, we could not find a small dish to our taste.
The location is near the water, in an area that is quite new, with striking architecture. It is close to the harbor, so there are many restaurants and shops a short walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yakherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our new property . Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your comments concerning the service and our staff were particularly pleasing . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues
We have paid special attention to the different dietary needs of our guests including the lactose & gluten free products that are greatly appreciated throughout the hotel

Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Location is very good,style of the hotel is very modern yet cozy,restaurant is VERY good,try cauliflower cream soup,it was wonderful. Breakfasts are tasty and though buffet is small,only selected homemade style food there. Try norwegian brown cheese, it's something special! We also liked bathroom,with shower and bathtub separately, it allowed us to get ready quicker :))) all in all the Thief is wonderful and we hope to get back again :) Takk:)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank euromaydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . As you mention we are located on a brand new peninsular in the Oslo Fjord and it is truly a great location for a new property . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast and traditional brown cheese that is a Norwegian speciality .

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
369 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £283 - £1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Nordic Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing