We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
THE THIEF
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$162
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$214
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveller rating
1,408
334
107
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
334
107
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastrup fearnley museumfood barturn down servicemodern artsmall balconyaker bryggedeluxe roomgreat designluxury hotelcool hotelamazing hoteloslo fjordnespresso machinewater frontrestaurants and barsbreakfast was deliciouscity hall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,030 - 1,035 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for three nights in a deluxe room with the view of the harbor, and it was absolutely lovely. The room was decorated very well, the chamomile tea delivered in the evenings was a nice touch, and the area is great, full of restaurants, a museum, and a lovely boardwalk for evening strolls. Appreciated the note on the extra pillow as well, very funny. Breakfasts were magnificent. A little startled by the pornographic window hanging in the restaurant (although didn't mind it), and didn't eat dinner there, but it was a great place for breakfast. Also used the spa for a massage, which was all very professional. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbor was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your great review . Glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area . As you mentioned were located in a very vibrant area with plenty of restaurants , galleries , museums & the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Glad that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed / pillows and the joke on the " extra pillow " . Your also the very first person to mention the "saucy " text and it´s going to be interesting to see if anyone else picks up on that now as it´s in no way hidden .

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to your return and lets hope you can stay a little longer as there are a few secrets you have yet to discover and i would be very happy to show you

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Check in was swift with live music playing - nice :-) We stayed in a superior room, but to be honest it wasn't worth the extra money as the view wasn't great, so unless you go for a deluxe room with the good full on water view I'd just opt for the standard room. Our balcony was a narrow strip for standing on, no balcony furniture as none would fit so don't think balcony as in somewhere to sit and you won't be disappointed. The previous guests had left cigarette butts in the ash tray on the balcony and for our 3 day stay - there they stayed.... These are my only gripes. The room and bathroom were really nice, nice powerful shower and easy to use lights. Breakfast was good, the usual cereal, yoghurts, few pasties and little bit of fruit as well as hot food. We didn't eat or go to the bar so can't comment. It's about a 15 minute walk to the National theatre station which the airport train comes into so hie and easy. The concierge was really helpful. We got a taxi from there to the hotel as we were tired and had 2 cases with us - wow taxi prices (like everything else are crazy expensive = £20, the meter starts at £7.50) Oslo is a lovely city, clean safe and friendly but bring a very fat wallet, glass of wine £10 not a large glass, a beer - £12. Public transport is excellent, we used, buses, trams, boats and the Metro and all were on time. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe give the lovely views - don't waste your money on the superior room - the view is of adjacent buildings with a tiny glimpse of the water and a bit of building work going on below.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Great to hear that your overall experience was an enjoyable one . As you mentioned Oslo in an expensive city but with a little guidance and local knowledge we can always help . As you mentioned public transport is great and you have a very comprehensive network of buses , trains , trams , boats to get you around the city . I´ve also taken into account your comments concerning the room and i will be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Your comments and feedback are invaluable to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to share them with us

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Modern design, outstanding location, an impressive art collection (especially liked the Opie art pieces in the elevators) as well as cosy rooms, where you feel at home, makes this place worth a stay. Uncomplicated, friendly service, good breakfast and I guess especially in summer it must be really cool to be on Tjuvholmen with all the bars and terrraces around. Would definitely go again ! thanks The Thief team!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay . As you mentioned we have a very interesting art collection in the hotel we also sponsor the Astrup Fearnley giving all our hotel guests free entrance to the museum . Glad that you enjoyed the Julian Opie in the lift as both pictures have triggered some interesting reactions from our guests .
Once again many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relation Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed for business at the Thief for 2 nights, the room was fantastic, large with all the amenities you wish for. The Carita bath amenities are a big plus.
Everything in the room is where it should be and the bed is amazing with 8 cushions and pillows.
The gym is also of a high standard with high tech equipment, and it's easy to access.
The receptionist at the spa was friendly and informed me about the treatments .
My only comments will be the following. On the Sunday night I stayed in for dinner, the restaurant had only one other guest .The menu is quite short and I was expecting more options for the quality of the hotel but my main disappointment was the service. I had to wait 20 minutes before my order was taken, no bread/ olives were served while waiting. After I finished my main , the waiter didn't come to ask if I wanted to dessert or coffee. I waited for about 30 minutes and ask for the bill. During that time he didn't acknowledge me (with only 2 guests. ).
Second point at check in the girl didn't explain how the wifi system works, where was the bar, restaurant and spa. I had to ask all the details to find out. Also the pool should be included in the price to be able to access and not being a supplement.

Overall the room, building and location were fab, but the service could be better especially for the standard of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieinBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to get so much positive feedback and once again the star of the show is "The Bed" . We have had so many comments concerning the quality of the bed and hence a good nights sleep .
All your comments have been taken into consideration and we much appreciate your feedback concerning the service & restaurant

Once again many thanks and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relation Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I booked this hotel because it was #1 hotel in Oslo per Tripadvisor. It exceeded expectations. This is a very fun, artistic and vibrant hotel. The rooms are packed with amenities and very modern with bold decor. There is interesting artwork throughout the hotel, and the architectural design makes the building interesting to look at.

It is located in a very nice redeveloped area of Oslo. I had never been to the city before, but was glad I stayed in this area as there are lots of good restaurants to choose from nearby. The modern art museum is right next door (and free for hotel guests) and the sea is one block away.

Breakfast was also excellent.

Downsides - it wasn't cheap, but I think that's just Norway. I was only there for one night, but it had no complaints at all. If I was being picky, I would say for a high end hotel they could do with an extra receptionist or a doorman in the lobby.

Room Tip: Our room looked over an inner courtyard, which was fine, but it is probably nicer to have a room on the other side of the corridor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Glad that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area of Tjuvholmen . As you quite rightly mentioned Tjuvholmen is a new , vibrant & dynamic area incorporating art , dinning & leisure on the Oslo Fjord

Thanks for taking the time to share your views as your feedback is invaluable to us
I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews