We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of THE THIEF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The room itself was rather small and the view is bit limited, however, when we checked out early in the morning, they gave us breakfast lunch boxes. It was a sweet service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MihoOshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks or your review of The Thief
Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly pleased to read your comments regarding the service
I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent hotel, beautiful design, high comfort and friendly service....I enjoyed all the small details in the room. Furtermore a nice gym, beautiful Spa, great restaurant and roof terrace with stunning view on the Oslo fjord and city centre. Central location in the most modern and architectonial district of city centre Oslo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pascal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property
Great to receive so much positive feedback and to be called the best hotel in the city is a real pleasure . As you mentioned we are located on the Fjord but within a short walking distance of the city center . Our newly opened Spa / Gym is also a great addition to the hotel .
Great that you took the time to share you thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Funky hotel and cool location. Comfy beds, great breakfast, friendly staff (especially waiters) and great little bar. We did not use the spa but I would recommend the hotel. Had dinner one evening in the hotel and the food was really good and traditional, which I loved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adreskitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief
A real pleasure to be described as " Funky " . Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and service . We have a locally sourced and seasonal profile to our restaurant with a traditional Norwegian twist .
I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The service is impeccable. Breakfast was great. Room (junior-suite 827)was beautiful - linens were yummy...Spa looked beautiful, although is didn't use it. Absolutely excellent bar - attracts people from outside the hotel. Mix masters are geniuses. The Swedish receptionist was exceptionally friendly. I will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

WOW .......what a fantastic review ......many thanks
Great pleasure to hear such positive feedback concerning The Thief
Next time you could treat yourself to a trip to the Spa and i can guarantee you a very enjoyable moment . It seems like the only thin you did not experience during your stay
I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts that i will happily share with my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is absolutely the most delicious hotel in Oslo!

I am totally confident on that point, especially after I had the chance to explore it myself.
This has really been one of the best hotel experiences that had.

I was amazed of the cool and fresh interior of the hotel. The staff was very competent and service minded. Everything went smooth and professional. Check in, room service, the breakfast and of course – the Spa section. The lovely room with its stylish furniture’s.
The little balcony, the fantastic bed, which contained 9 pillows, and the in-room shopping facility.
The soft bathrobe and the bathroom amenities fulfilled all my needs to absolute satisfaction!

If you can’t choose between all the delicious food on the menu, I recommend the “Thief burger” incredibly tasty! I tried to copy this recipe at home but with no luck unfortunately.
You have to try all the facilities in the Spa; this gave me inspiration to almost build a Spa at home ;)

The most important thing – If you had to stay at one hotel, in Scandinavia, in Norway and of course in Oslo – this is the place! The location and the facilities are great.
Try it just for one night. Because after this night, you are hooked – it’s difficult not to be!

I am simply and totally in love with The Thief! If I had the opportunity, I would gladly move in on permanent basis. Thank you so much, The Thief and all your staff, for making my stay splendid and unforgettable. You truly are a “superbalm for the heart and soul” and I highly recommend you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sibelissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . We have received some outstanding reviews in our very short history but this has to rank amongst the best . I think you covered every aspect of the property and more . One of the most pleasing factors were your thoughts concerning the staff . I will gladly forward your comments to my colleagues

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for three nights in a deluxe room with the view of the harbor, and it was absolutely lovely. The room was decorated very well, the chamomile tea delivered in the evenings was a nice touch, and the area is great, full of restaurants, a museum, and a lovely boardwalk for evening strolls. Appreciated the note on the extra pillow as well, very funny. Breakfasts were magnificent. A little startled by the pornographic window hanging in the restaurant (although didn't mind it), and didn't eat dinner there, but it was a great place for breakfast. Also used the spa for a massage, which was all very professional. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your great review . Glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area . As you mentioned were located in a very vibrant area with plenty of restaurants , galleries , museums & the beautiful Oslo Fjord . Glad that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed / pillows and the joke on the " extra pillow " . Your also the very first person to mention the "saucy " text and it´s going to be interesting to see if anyone else picks up on that now as it´s in no way hidden .

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to your return and lets hope you can stay a little longer as there are a few secrets you have yet to discover and i would be very happy to show you

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Check in was swift with live music playing - nice :-) We stayed in a superior room, but to be honest it wasn't worth the extra money as the view wasn't great, so unless you go for a deluxe room with the good full on water view I'd just opt for the standard room. Our balcony was a narrow strip for standing on, no balcony furniture as none would fit so don't think balcony as in somewhere to sit and you won't be disappointed. The previous guests had left cigarette butts in the ash tray on the balcony and for our 3 day stay - there they stayed.... These are my only gripes. The room and bathroom were really nice, nice powerful shower and easy to use lights. Breakfast was good, the usual cereal, yoghurts, few pasties and little bit of fruit as well as hot food. We didn't eat or go to the bar so can't comment. It's about a 15 minute walk to the National theatre station which the airport train comes into so hie and easy. The concierge was really helpful. We got a taxi from there to the hotel as we were tired and had 2 cases with us - wow taxi prices (like everything else are crazy expensive = £20, the meter starts at £7.50) Oslo is a lovely city, clean safe and friendly but bring a very fat wallet, glass of wine £10 not a large glass, a beer - £12. Public transport is excellent, we used, buses, trams, boats and the Metro and all were on time. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe give the lovely views - don't waste your money on the superior room - the view is of adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaychicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Great to hear that your overall experience was an enjoyable one . As you mentioned Oslo in an expensive city but with a little guidance and local knowledge we can always help . As you mentioned public transport is great and you have a very comprehensive network of buses , trains , trams , boats to get you around the city . I´ve also taken into account your comments concerning the room and i will be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Your comments and feedback are invaluable to us and i would like to thank you for taking the time to share them with us

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
385 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £261 - £1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing