We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Thief is a modern boutique hotel in an incredible location near the water surrounded by restaurants. The area is touristy but attractive, artsy and relaxing. The hotel offers tickets to the Modern Museum next door. The architecture is wonderful as well as the installations.
Our room was quiet with good lighting, and well appointed with a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, there was no place for luggage except the floor and the room was rather dark. Also, our balcony looked down on a preschool playground. Fortunately, it was the weekend! The staff was very friendly but not reliable or very knowledgeable. The breakfast was delicious. We would stay again but were not overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lagunatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the vibrant location of Tjuvholmen . As you mentioned were located on the Oslo Fjord surrounded by art galleries , restaurants and the beautiful Fjord . I´d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us . I look forward to discussing some of your points with my colleagues

Wishing you a very relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

- one of the coolest luxury hotels I have stayed at! you really get what you pay for;)
- excellent breakfast choices!
- perfect location
- The room was very big, cozy, and clean
- nice view from the balcony
- free museum passes :)
- helpful and friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanaplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your precise and detailed review of The Thief . Great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us . To be called a " cool / luxury " hotel is a real pleasure and i will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Wishing you a very relaxing and warm Summer and looking forward to welcoming you back

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Perfect Boutique hotel..with a fabulous Art twist. Tons of contemporary art adorns the hotel. Room was large and comfortable...everything was chic and funky. Bathroom needs some more places to put your "stuff". Breakfast was abundant and yummy. Staff was a bit overwhelmed at times. Great location by the water. Can't wait to come back!! Loved this place

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor or above...large deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great that you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a fine collection of contemporary art and the hotel is full of surprises . To be described a "Chic / Funky " and the breakfast as " Yummy" puts a smile on my face and I´m looking forward to sharing your thoughts with my colleagues .

Wishing you a very relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What´s the difference between a 4 star and a 5 star hotel? The staff and their service level first and foremost. The Thief is a nice hotel located very centrally at Tjuvholmen in Oslo. We booked a deluxe room. It was nice and clean, ok size but not a "de luxe" room compared to other hotels in 5 star class.
Why this hotel is not a 5 star hotel is because of the lack of top notch service level. Only two check in counters where one of the receptionists was more busy talking to her manager than welcoming guests in a growing que is not an nice first impression. Finally at the counter there was no smiles or welcome to our hotel, enjoy your stay etc. And where is the concierge service?
We where also advised to go to breakfast early because the hotel was fully booked. Nice enough to be given a heads up but shouldn´t a hotel like this have capacity for sold out weekends?
The breakfast was not at all impressive and the service level was not particularly good. When people came in they where "brutally" asked "Are you staying at the hotel??" How about a little nicer welcome like "Hi, Welcome - what is your room number and where would you like to sit?"
The food was ok, but not spectacular - pretty regular norwegian breakfast, no continental options and I never got my omelette I ordered. To me it looked like there was no plan behind what the different staff on the floor was suppose to be doing. While waiting for my omelette one of the staff past by with an omelet in her hand looking for the guest who had ordered it. When I asked if it was my omelette I was told off "I am looking for a guy in a blue shirt, if you be wearing a blue shirt I would have asked you" and off she went. No nothing like: "I am sorry" or "No Sir, but I will check if your´s ready soon". My omelette never showed up.

Back at our room after breakfast I turned on the "Do Not Disturb" button. Nevertheless ten minutes later it knocked on the door and one of the house staffs standing outside wondering if the room was ready for cleaning..... What am I missing here with the "DnD" option?

Checko-out at noon, only two check out counters, long ques, still one of the staff managing the counter decided to leave his desk and did not come back for 10-15 minutes while the que was growing even longer. Finally our turn, again being met by an non smiling staff, no small talk like "how was your stay", "Did you enjoy it" "Welcome back" etc.. I also noticed there was no cloak room for storing luggage so the staff had to store an ever growing pile of luggage behind them up against the wall in the reception, not very classy and no bell boys to assist you with your luggage either.

In summary, Not worth the price.

All in all, this is not a 5 star hotel but a ok 4 star - nothing more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . We take your feedback very seriously and I´m looking forward to discussing some of your points with my colleagues . I´d also like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal thoughts as it´s invaluable to us us to help improve our service and guest relations

Wishing you a very relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, very modern and on the water front where there are loads of restaurants and places to watch the world go by.

We had a delux room, which was quite spacious, and the bed was fabulous, felt cocooned it was so soft. Plenty of tea and coffee making facilities and two comfy chairs for the odd hour you may want to relax out of the hustle and bustle.
Bathroom very well equipped and soft robes and slippers are provided. Rooms are well insulated and therefore quiet.

The public areas are unique - fantastic lounge/ library full of quirky art - very relaxing . Breakfast is always included in the rate and this was excellent everything from smoked salmon to streaky bacon, and the service is good.

I had a spa - a massage, which was pretty pricey and I was a bit annoyed that the use of the spa facilities weren't included in this very high price.but couldn't fault the facilities they were clean, contemporary and the staff knew what they were doing

Great stay, if I have an opportunity to visit again I would definitely stay here

Room Tip: Get at least a delux as the others are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very interesting review of The Thief . Great that you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a fine collection of contemporary " quirky" art and the hotel is full of surprises . A pleasure to hear the breakfast described as excellent and once again The Bed gets a mention .............we almost have a famous bed . I´d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Wishing you a warm , relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

There is definitely no other place to stay in Oslo like The Thief. Absolutely stylish and the most luxurious member of the Designhotels I have seen so far.
Well, the front desk staff is very cool, there is no tour through the hotel nor an envelope for your bill at checkout, but hey, it's a designhotel! So don't expect a pretty Grand Hotel, this is Europe's coolest luxury hotel.
Amazing and large rooms with wonderful vistas, huge entrees and even more stylish bathrooms. When you enter the bathroom, the light turns on automatically and every room has its own balcony, so are there any other reasons not to stay here? No, in fact there is also a Nespresso coffee machine, a choice of excellent bathroom toiletries (either British Ila bathroom products or neutral Carita Paris amenities), as well as an iPod-Docking Station (or should I call it iPhone Dock?) as well as free tea for turn down service.

When you might think that the location is not good, you're completely wrong. The Thief Island is the best place to hang around and to have dinner. There are plenty of dining options and walking along the Oslo Fjord is better than nowhere else! It's worth the walk along the promenade to get into the center. However, you can reach everything in Oslo on feet, and never forget Taxis are extremely expensive! They count 1 Crowns per second!

Was there anything I expected to be better?
Yes, breakfast was only good. The idea of an open kitchen is nice, but if a cook would be interested in taking an order, it would be even better. I once ordered scrambled eggs and they last nearly 20 minutes. The selection is very small and the bread was not good (maybe it was because it has been a bank holiday).
I would have loved if the access to the SPA would have been free. In fact it is too Expensive if you just want to dip for half an hour. This should be changed immediately for hotel guests!

All in all this is the best place to stay in whole Norway and absolutely worth the high price.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor, you will love the views. Some rooms are larger due to their locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Great to hear so many positive comments and very glad that you enjoyed your stay . As you mentioned were located in a new , dynamic district called Tjuvholmen on the Oslo Fjord . Very pleasing to read your comments concerning the staff and service . I will forward your thoughts to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relation Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel lives up it's good reputation. Norway isn't wel known for good food but the Thief stole my heart. The rooms are clean, the bed is comforteble end the rooms all sound proof. Everything is as it should be! My compliments to the staff, especially the Blond girl who works at the restaurant! Bravo!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passion4wines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Glad you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to read that once again "The Bed" and the "sound proof room " gets a mention . Splendid that we lived up to all expectations and will forward your thoughts to my colleagues . Especially the girl in the restaurant

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relation Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oslo
397 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
868 reviews
Sentrum
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £262 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing