We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers - ”
Review of THE THIEF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE THIEF
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

For a Scandinavian hotel this is a refreshing break from the norm of small soulless rooms kitted out with ikea furniture- booked a deluxe room with "view"- was given a room that looked out onto an office building the obscured the fjord view; I rang down immediately to reception and expressed my disappointment and asked for another room; within minutes I was moved to a room that was billed as having one of the best rooms; it was good but only a person utterly lacking in perception would believe this - regardless the room was spacious, well laid out and floor to ceiling sliding glass doors overlooking the water partly obscured by the museum. Balcony was a nice feature as well.
Bathroom contained only a shower and the lay out of sliding door to shower and glass door to the toilet was a bit awkward - also the ten ton sliding bathroom door was awkward - all minor issues
The decor was plush without being cloying -
I didn't partake in many services such as the spa etc but the buffet breakfast was the best, most professionally run I have encountered in scandi hotels with plus 100 rooms- honestly this is where so many go so wrong; the service was prompt and impeccable; spotless dining area (it is new however so uncertain what it will look like in a years plus time) and the offerings were ample, varied and good.
The only short coming is also a blessing: it's a good 15-20 walk from the center of town and transport on the "island" is limited at present due to construction - walking is fine unless it's cold and rainy. That said - it's quiet at night and there are many good restaurants (some bad as well) and bars - the area is in development so in a few years it may be a bit over run - hard to tell.
Lastly - given the costs of hotel rooms on Scandinavia the Thief gives you a lot for your money by comparison - well worth getting one if the rooms with view on a higher floor
Go and enjoy - hopefully they won't succumb to the fade to gray syndrome and maintain their stellar standards - I would definitely return to thief.
One final word: transport from the airport was obscenely expensive - almost $300. Cabs are a bit cheaper but not much - the train isn't viable if you have luggage - spring for the car/driver pick up if you can as it set the stage for a seamless arrival to the hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank JAHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and I´m looking forward to discussing some of your points with my colleagues . As you mentioned it can be expensive if you choose the "wrong" taxi from the airport . We work exclusively with Oslo Taxi as they are a reputable company with the most competitive prices and professional drivers . On arrival at the airport or train station you can choose your taxi so feel no obligation to take the first car in the queue . You other option as you mentioned is to book the car through us

Wishing you a relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights to complete a 3 1/2 week trip to Norway. What a great way to finish. This new hotel is well positioned in the cosmopolitan harbour. Plenty to do and heaps of restaurant choices. An easy walk to the city and other attractions such as the Royal Palace and the Cathedral. Being on the harbour, there is NO road noise and this is a very quiet loaction.
The hotel itself is simply and tastefully decorated. Staff and vey pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. The roof top bar has great views and is well stocked.
The room (we had a deluxe room) was very comfortable. King bed, 2 chairs, coffee machine and tea making facilities, incredible mini bar and 'in room shopping'. The bathrom is large with a deep bath, and partitioned off shower and toilet. Great towel warmers with large, fluffy towels.
The turn down service was appreciated with shortbread biscuits and fresh tea left to finish the day.
Really enjoyed The Thief experience. Based on Australian conversion (and the fact that Norway is expensive anyway) this wasn't cheap, but would always stay here again. Loved it.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned were located in a new, vibrant area called Tjuvholmen ( Thief Island) that´s within walking distance of the city center and many local landmarks . Once again The Bed gets a mention along with the fluffy towels the bath and the coffee machine .

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts from the other side of the world and looking forward to your return

Wishing you a long ( down under ) Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful, modern and tasteful, the Thief is a sublime hotel. The staff were very helpful and always smiling! Our room was quite luxurious and every comfort was provided for, from fluffy robes and slippers to tea and butter cookies at night. The breakfast was perfection, from the freshly pressed juices to the warm, homemade breads. The Tjuvholmen is a lovely area and we really enjoyed walking to dinners from the hotel. A great base for exploring Oslo.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbor and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Greetings and m,any thanks for your review of our property . As you mentioned were located in Tjuvholmen on the Oslo Fjord . This is a vibrant new area with restaurants , bars and galleries dotted along the waterfront . Glad that you enjoyed the turn-down service and the breakfast . I´m looking forward to sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Wishing you a relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very short trip, but one of the most stylish hotels I have ever been too. The food in the restaurant was excellent particularly the bread (contains black treacle). It's not that cheap but very much worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your very short and precise review of The Thief . Great that you had such an enjoyable stay with us . As you mentioned we serve a delicious , dark bread in the restaurant Fru K called Kavring and one of the ingredients is dark syrup along with fennel and a couple of other secrets .........glad you enjoyed .

Wishing you a long relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, comfortable bed, space bathroom, balcony. You can find nearly everything in the room and even more. great view from the balcony. Delicious breakfast: salmon smoothies lots of different squeezed juices. Bar with cocktails and panoramic view. Lots of nice restaurants around.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pollystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks fo your review of The Thief . Great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay . I´m looking forward to sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Wishing you a relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Thief is in a wonderful stylish location and is a beautiful and cool hotel. It is very close to restaurants, museums, shops, the harbor, sightseeing and really everything. It is a fun and beautiful area, and the hotel is ideally situated. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast buffet is excellent, with many interesting choices. The roof bar is very popular with people not staying at the hotel, and it is fairly small, so do not assume that you will be able to find a seat there.

My one disappointment concerns the room that I was given. I booked a more expensive category of room, which is described on the hotel's website as having their "best view". Clearly my room (720), which basically looked onto a brick wall across the street, did not have the hotel's "best view". (See the photos I included.) To their credit, the hotel agreed to move me or adjust the room rate after I complained, but this never should have happened in the first place.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those ending -08, -10, -12, 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks or your review of our property . It was a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned were located in a new , vibrant district called Tjuvholmen on the Oslo Fjord where you can find a fine selection of restaurants , bars and art galleries along the waterfront . I´m very please that the staff managed to relocate you to a room that had the view you expected and I´ll take up some of comments with my colleagues

I´d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Wishing you a relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying at the Thief for the start of our holiday. The Thief is a very stylish hotel in a great location: close to bars, restaurants, the ferries and other key attractions. We had a very warm welcome although as another reviewer pointed out, someone should take you up to the room and show you the various features and how to use the technology. It would also be good if there was more clothes storage space: there was just one drawer and no shelves. You must try the roof top terrace: great cocktails and a lovely place to relax. Breakfast was one of the best we had in terms of choice, quality, service and atmosphere. Tip: if you are getting a taxi to the station be prepared to pay 250NOK: the main station is only up the road but the taxi takes you all around the houses!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a great rooftop bar that has been very popular throughout the Spring & Summer . Very pleasing to read your comments concerning the breakfast and I´ll share your thoughts with my colleagues . Just a short note concerning taxis as we only recommend Oslo Taxi as they are a reputable company and have the most competitive prices . You also have a choice at all taxi stations so don´t feel obliged to take the first one in the queue .

Wishing you a relaxing Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
370 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE THIEF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE THIEF

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £277 - £1,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE THIEF 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your THE THIEF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing