We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveller rating
1,502
367
109
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,502
367
109
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastrup fearnley museumrooftop barjeff koonsmodern artturn down servicesmall balconyaker bryggedeluxe roomgreat designluxury hoteloslo fjordnespresso machinecool hotelamazing hotelwater frontbreakfast was deliciousrestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

I was so excited to come to Oslo and explore the city. But the hotel is just too great I don’t want to leave. The people are so friendly and helpful. The restaurants and bar are fantastic. The pool and spa are lovely.
I know there is a great museum in walking distance and lots of great cafes but it is icy and cold outside and warm and cozy here. Also great art!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank TravelbugNYC2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of the property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned Winter has reached Oslo and the snow fell covering the city in a thin white blanket ......it looks very pretty . Your museum reference was the Astrup Fearnley museum that has the finest collection of modern / contemporary art in Scandinavia and is located adjacent to the hotel . A must on a visit to The Thief as we provide free entrance to all our staying guests .

Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Our two night stay was amazing from start to finish. Every member of staff goes that extra mile to put you, the guest first and despite its 5-Star rating the hotel is as as relaxed or otherwise as each individual guest wishes it to be. If forced to be picky I would mention that the duvet appeared only just big enough for the bed but did not detract from a good night's sleep. The Thief is definitely one of my "top fives" guest experiences and I would jum at the chance to return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeripateticVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . To see the hotel described as "relaxed" is a true pleasure as I believe it´s a feeling that´s very much part of our culture . Your comments concerning the staff were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing you thoughts with my colleagues

Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

This is a stylish, efficient, Scandinavian hotel with just a slightly eccentric edge in a great location.

Some fabulous art work:- a Jeff Koons sculpture in reception for example

Our room was comfortable with great views.

Bar lacked buzz when we were there and house cocktails more presentation than substance.

Breakfast buffet was good

Expensive

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have some fabulous art work on the property including Jeff Koons , Richard Prince , Antony Gormley and Niki de Saint Phalle . As patrons of the beautiful Astrup Fearnley museum we also provide free entry to all our staying guests . To see the hotel described as "eccentric" is a true pleasure and I totally agree .

Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This hotel is one I really liked, it is chic, stylish and not fussy.

All the staff were excellent. The rooms had all modern facilities, and most had sea views.

There is a warm friendly atmosphere, which is apparent throughout the hotel.

The Breakfasts are particularity good, with chef's on hand to cater for most requests.

I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrederickCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned we have a fine breakfast and Chef Dave takes great pride in his locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . To see the words " friendly atmosphere " in your review were a pleasure to read and very much in tune with the culture at The Thief

Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed at The Thief for a few days. Nice hotel, nice area, a lot of restaurants around the block!
The breakfast is delicious and the rooms are super cosy! I hope we'll be back again one day!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AngelaV2943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . To see our hotel described as "cosy " and our breakfast as "delicious" is a true pleasure and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Wishing you a crisp , colourful Autumn and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews