We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolutely splendid spot to call home”
other travellers have booked this property
This is Tjuvholmen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is Tjuvholmen!
The apartment is on the 6. floor, with balcony straight up from the main door. Our nearest beach, 200 meters away from the apartment!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This is Tjuvholmen!
The apartment is on the 6. floor, with balcony straight up from the main door.
Our nearest beach, 200 meters away from the apartment!
layout/floor plan
Living room.
Living room with a view.
'Jensen' high quality King Size bed (180 cm) for a perfect nights sleep.
Entrance/hall
Kitchen. Just add fresh ingrediants and a nice bottle of wine...
Nice bathroom.
My balcony at 6. floor, center of picture, hanging over the canal.
The safest neighborhood in all of Oslo!
Just across the apartment.
World renown Modern Art museum Astrup Fearnly, 150 meters from main door.
Top restaurants on every corner!
Seafood capital...
Hundreds of boats docking at Tjuvholmen.
Astrup Fearnly at sunset.
Summer at Tjuvholmen!
Bars, restaurants, cafes everywhere.
Wildlife...danger close.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Oslo, Eastern Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carebear7...
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Pros:
Once you work out transport, the flat is not so far away from central, a bus or tram can take you from the central train station to a stop within a few minutes walk from the flat [not close from airport]
Near a minimart [the joker] & a bakery & a couple of restaurants
Nice clean flat, has washer/dryer in the compact bathroom [which we didn’t try using as it was first stop on the holiday]
Several tv stations although none with English entertainment, more like news etc
Comfortable bed, really soft & I slept so well on it
Oven & good sized fridge & basic home amenities
Pretty quiet & peaceful around this area probably as it is not central

Cons:
Might have been our experience as we had troubles communicating with host through site leading up to arrival, but difficult to find initially as mention was made of it being between the bakery where we picked up the keys & between the thief hotel, wandered around for ages & no locals knew where to guide us & the bakery person handing over keys did not have any idea [building is actually a couple of doors from the right from the thief hotel]
Not actually waterfront or with any more than a sliver of water views [you can see some water underneath a neighbouring apartment building & between a dock]
Heating seems to kick in centrally at a certain time but if you’re there in winter daytime it may be a bit cool for a while. A fan & radiator on the wall did not warm anything up so we at least assume, that it’s centrally controlled
Shower doesn’t drain that well so after a short while you’re standing in a big puddle/small lake
Overall, is economical for Norway & I would consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Liked least: Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your troubles, of the 28 reviews on Tripadvisor, Holiday Lettings and Airbnb, you are the first one not to have a "5 out of 5" experience.

Too bad you did not let me know of the clogged drainage in the shower, it was a 20 second job to remove an obstruction from the system, and you would have had a perfect drainage for the rest of your stay.

As for restaurants, there is at least 18 of Oslos best restaurants within 300 meters from the apartment, so I am very sorry to hear that you could only locate a couple of them.

Also, I am so sorry to hear that you struggled to find the right door. An email with a detailed photo, with a red ring around the right door, together with a written description on how to find and enter the building, was sent to the email address that was provided from Holiday Lettings, so I can only assume it did not reach you.
Again, that is most unfortunate. Welcome back next time you are in Oslo, the first night will of course be on me, to compensate you for your troubles.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applerazz
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolutely splendid spot to call home”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of calling Nils' apartment home for a two week stay -- part business, part holiday. It was awesome! Nils is very quick to respond to any queries; his enthusiasm for Oslo and life in general is completely infectious. The apartment is spotless, modern yet homely, smartly furnished with colourful artwork on the walls. The high speed wi-fi makes keeping up-to-date with emails and planning excursions a breeze. We had breakfast at "home" each day and cooked several evening meals -- the apartment is perfectly equipped for this approach and there is an ICA supermarket nearby (plus a Joker mini-mart even closer). The bed is vast and supremely comfortable. The bathroom is a pleasure to use, with excellent water pressure. You will enjoy being part of a vertical community; as the sun sets, neighbours across the water light their lanterns and you too can light the one on Nils' balcony, adding a little sparkle to the night sky. The neighbourhood is fabulous and you can start each day with a walk into the centre of town via the waterfront, where there is always something new to spot, including dashing little boats plus huge cruise and naval ships. If you're a fan of contemporary art, do visit the Astrup Fearnley Museet which is skipping distance from Nils' door -- you will be confronted, challenged and leave with plenty to think about! I had several days exploring in solo mode while my husband was attending a conference -- solo female travellers will feel very safe in this neighbourhood, even when coming/going at night. Do jump on the various trams and see where you end up -- the 7-day travel pass is excellent value, particularly as you can use it for bus, train, tram and ferry. Hop on the #12 and enjoy pizza at Pizza De Mimmo. Or head to Mr India in town for an amazingly tasty meal (try the blue cheese naan). My husband and I thoroughly recommend booking in with Nils for your time in Oslo. We were tempted to miss our plane home... happy travels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Starting each day with a stroll along the waterfront.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel S
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the location and being by the water”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is located in an area where you want to be. Lots of restaurants, places to stop for a drink and a great vibe with all the people on the Quay. Large grocery store very close. Easy to walk to the Opera House and City Hall (actually anywhere). The apartment is new - very clean, well appointed and comfortable. Highly recommened..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close too everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amangold
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
“Excellent apartment, excellent service”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Everything was just excellent! The apartment is very new and very beautiful, provides plenty of space for two, is very well equipped, and is located in the most modern and central part of Oslo, at the waterfront. As the houses at Tjuvholmen are very new, there still is some construction going in, so there is a little noise on weekdays, but it is not much more than you would expect in the city centre anyway.
The communication with Nils was always very good and he responded very quickly and engaging. Nils had prepared everything for us at best. We will surely consider to rent this apartment again when we come back to Oslo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yiskander
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Apartment, you will not regret staying here”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Perfect Apartment, you will not regret staying here. Nothing was missing, location was perfect, apartment super modern, access was easy, price reasonable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloddz
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Nils' appartment in Oslo for 4 nights in August 2013, and I can only agree with Nils' other reviewers.
The apartement is immaculate. Very clean, brand new and in a great location surrounded by bars and restaurants and right next to the Astrup Fearnley museum. Bedroom is pretty small but still has enough room to store your stuff; the bed is very comfortable. All perks are as advertised; Wi-Fi works perfectly.
Communication with Nils was flawless from the beginning. He was very uncomplicated in catering to all our needs and making us feel welcome.
This was our first airbnb experience, and an ideal start to hopefully many more!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip-san1...
Rome
1 review
“Modern apartment in an architecturally interesting area”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a nice and very modern apartment. It is very clean and the furnishings and the appliances are brand new. The pictures and the descriptions of the apartment and the amenities listed in the Tripadvisor/HolidayLettings are accurate. The kitchen is integrated with the living room. It is a small apt, but sufficient for two persons. The balcony is right over a large canal. You can see the Holmenkollen (ski jump) hills on the left and a small view of the Oslo Fjord on the right. The apt is located in a very modern and architecturally interesting district of Oslo called Aker Brygge near the Nobel Peace Center. This district covers a small peninsula criss-crossed by canals and seaside promenades with many upscale restaurants. There are also many shops, one supermarket (called ICA) and the Astrup Fearnley Museum within walking distance. The area is well served by public transportation. There is a pier where boats depart for sightseeing and for the Bygdoy peninsula, where many interesting museums are located. Nils is kind and helpful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: new and clean
Liked least: would prefer it to be a bit larger
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing