We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep & cheerful (and close to the main station)”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel is a quick walk from the station (less than 5 minutes), making this easy to find as first time visitors to Oslo. Also a quick walk into the main part of Oslo and to the bus tours.
They do have a facility to store luggage - which was hugely helpful to us (as we arrived early in the morning).
Staff were friendly and helpful (our room wasn't ready when we came back from touring Oslo, but they were quick to get one for us). We also needed to get a gift delivered to the person who arranged our holiday and the person on duty was happy to help us out.
Rooms are basic (no tv, phone or kettle), but perfect for what we needed and very clean.
Check in and out is quick and easy and although booking was made via booking.com the hotel did respond quickly to emails that we sent them with queries.
We didn't make use of the facilities in the lobby, but it all looked very clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi Brenda_R_Jhb!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

Glad we could help with storage of your luggage! And the small gift you gave for the person coordinating your trip to Scandinavia really appreciated your gift! :-)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
There are newer reviews for Citybox Oslo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great hotel, does everything you need it to. Good location, nice, clean rooms, comfortable bed, the automated check in/out service works great, very efficient. We were able to check in about 2 hours early which was really handy as we only had one afternoon and night in Oslo. Great value for Norway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Maria N!

Thank you for a great review of our hotel!

We really appreciate to hear from our satisfied guests, and your kind words inspire us to do even better! Also glad that we could help you guys with an early check-in! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Citybox runs an entirely automated system - automated check in and out with entry to the hotel by key card. It's a pretty safe system so you feel secure at night. Plus there's always one member of staff there to help out.

We got a room on the top floor (we had 3 so we booked a room for 4). The room is very clean but there were a few minor issues:
The ceiling is quite low so on the upper bunk bed, one cannot sit up straight without hitting the ceiling. The part of ceiling above the bed looked a little dislodged so clearly others had suffered the same fate before us.

Being the attic, there was a diagonal bar running across the side of the bed and this was quite a hindrance and also dangerous as it blends into the wall - my dad walked into it a few times. Perhaps it would be good to paste some hazard tape on it?

The neighborhood is a little sketchy with a sex shop right next door and strip clubs 1-2 minutes away. However, with such prices, one can't be demanding with location. The location was already very ideal being within walking distance to Oslo S, Karl Johan's Gate and Jernbanetorget. Many of the city's attractions are also within walking distance.

If you are hungry, there is a communal microwave downstairs and a vending machine as well. The lobby area is pretty big and has TVs for you to watch.

All in all, good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mstrbmbztk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Mstrbmbztk!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

Our system is designed to make the hotel as safe as possible, and we actually believe we have better control than most other hotels as you have to use your key three times before you are inside your room! Some might find using your keycard three times to get in is a bit too much, but we are happy to hear that you understand that this is for your own safety!

We are aware that in some of our family rooms there are quite a tight space between the top bed and the roof. Hopefully you didn't spend too much time sitting in your bed, and rather spent the time sleeping there - or exploring the city! :-)

As we couldn't locate which room you stayed in, we are a bit unsure as to what diagonal bar that blends into the wall that you are referring to? We would love it if you could contact us, and just let us know your room number, so we are able to check it out!

We are trying our best to be true value for money, and we are thrilled to hear that you found us to be just that!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We needed a bed in Oslo for 1 night. And as all places in downtown you will have to pay for parking if you come by car..... This hotel is close to most things in DT. Comming by train you will only have few blocks to walk. The rooms are small but clean, what you need is there; bed, a desk, a bathroom with shower etc. + free wifi.
There are no luxery here like minibar or tv, but for the most you don't need it.
The place doesn't offer any breakfast, but have a deal with a place around the corner. Don't know if you will get a discount here though......
But being in the midle of the DT you have bars, nightclubs, restaurants etc close by.
To get the best price book directly at their site and not thru a hotel search site, you save 15%.
At the hotel you do the check-in, during day time there are someone to help out. There is a back-office person availible....

Room Tip: get a room high up, less street noice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Fredi B!

Thank you so much for a terrific review of our hotel!!

We are working on finding a different kind of breakfast deal with a third party, but as for now the place on the corner offer great baguettes and coffee for a reasonable amount. We also appreciate you referring to our web site for our best prices!

Your kind words inspire us to do even better!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed two nights and did not see a single staff member. Checkin and checkout is done with a machine and there is no daily cleaning service. That said, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern with a good hot, high-pressure shower and the room clean and quiet. Combined with excellent prices and a convenient location, this place is hard to beat. I would definitely stay again and make sure I book using the Citybox website, which saves an extra few pounds over booking sites like Booking.com

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Emily A!

Thanks you so much for your kind words on our hotel!

If you managed to stay here two nights without seeing a single staff member you are proof that our concept actually works!! :-)

We believe that the old fashioned "reception" is not really needed for everyone, and if that "receptionist" can do something else in stead of posing as a butler, we can manage with 1 person in stead of 2. And if we can manage with 1 person less than other hotels, we can offer you guys an even better rate on your room!

Thanks for recommending our website! As everyone else we also do need to earn money from somewhere, and if you book directly with us we save the money we have to pay to a third party, so you actually help us keep our prices low by booking directly with us!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We´ve stayed in Citibox Hotel for 3 nights in February 2014.
The hotel is very close to the Central Station, so if you take the train from the airport, you just have to walk 5 minutes and you find it.
The reception... Hummm, there we go, no reception... But then again, what would you need it? Its pretty simple to make your check in/check out, with your reservation number. And i mean SIMPLE! Anyway, if you have any problem, there will be someone coming to help you in seconds.
We´ve stayed on the 4th floor, and the room was actually small. Ok, period, it was small. We we´re a couple of travellers, with our bags, for a 2 week travel in Scandinavia, so with a lot of clothes, and there was not that much space for us to put ou stuff without interfering with the access to the bathroom or to the room. Anyway, we wouldnt stay that much inside, so it would be ok...
It was clean, and well maintained, aldo the bed was not the best i have stayed... No tv inside the room, and i understand the cost issue, but it would be a plus... On the other hand you have free wifi inside the room, so its a fair deal.
There is no breakfast inside, just a vending machine, but actually it was broken in one of the days we´ve stayed there. And outside, i guess that there was a coffee, but it was under construction activities, so it was closed. On the other direction of the road, you have another cofee, so it didnt made a lot of trouble to us.
Bottom line is : Oslo its really expensive. So this one here, as long as you´re not travelling some luxury needs, it will be perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Power_guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Power_guido!

Thank you so much for generous review of our hotel!

Glad you liked our prices, location, check-in machines, and also seemed to understand our concept! Too bad that you didn't like our bed? We normally get so much praise for them! Our room that are categorized as "small" are indeed just that; small. But that is also one of the reasons we can offer it at such a low rate. And there is only a small fee to upgrade to a larger room.

TV's are in fact extremly expensive! It's not the cost of buying the TV's, but the extreme amount we have to pay monthly on channels for each TV! Our thought is that most people now bring a smartphone or laptop, so we decided to upgrade our wifi instead. But we are hoping to sort out a solution with a screen where you can stream whatever you prefer.

Sorry to hear that we were having difficulties with our vending machine when you were here! Hopefully you managed to find something even better outside in the city of Oslo! :-)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Out of both curiosity and the desire to save a bit of money, I did try out the City Box hotel in Oslo.
Unfortunately, I have to stay that my total experience will make me choose a different hotel for my next overnight stay in this city.

- The good:
Obviously the cost. NOK 600 per night for a single room is a good deal in Oslo.
The room. Small, but efficient.
Friendly host at the hotel, found easily inside the main office (by entrance).
Spacious common area down-stairs with comfy chairs.

- The bad:
Checking in and out through a machine proved a bit impersonal for me.
Cold water in the shower, a major let-down in the morning.
Breakfast from a vending-machine? Again, not for me. Recommended café next door opens at 10AM on the week-ends. My search for early breakfast landed me at 7-11...

- The ugly:
The location is in a dodgier area of town. Female travellers should take care, especially at night, in the area around the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed on top-floor. Not noise from street-level at all. Would recommend staying on the upper floors...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDTStavanger_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi KDTStavanger_Norway!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

Glad you found us to be a good deal and that our Citybox Host was friendly! :)

For us to be able to offer such a good rate, we have made some choices that includes small and efficient rooms and check-in machines, we can understand that not everybody likes this and hope your overall experience were not shattered by it! :)

The rooms that are categorized as "small", are in fact just that, and therefore also cheaper. But for a small fee (Normally NOK 50 per night) you can upgrade to a larger room.

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have hot water? Do you mind contacting us and letting us know what room you stayed in? We tried locating your reservation, but did not mange to find it!

There are many other options for breakfast nearby that opens much earlier, sorry to hear that our Citybox Host recommende somewhere that was closed. We will remind our Citybox Hosts what other places are nearby! :)

As for our location most people find it ideal, but there can sometimes be less fortunate events ocurring nightime as there are in all city centers. We recommend being careful walking the streets at night in any city center!

Thanks again for making us better!
Hope you will reconsider and stay with us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#40 of 102 in Oslo
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#17 of 102 in Oslo
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing