We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal in the center of Oslo”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Citybox Oslo is a hotel that might sound a bit anonymous when you read about the self-service concept. But it turns out that it's a great alternative to regular hotels. The room was clean and very well designed. The bathroom was perfectly utilised. The room is not really big, but it is very clean and silent. There's always a staffmember available if you need them, but most guests seem to enjoy themselves perfectly without them around.

The location is great: near the Operahouse and central station. If you want to be closer to bars or nice restaurants, you should look for other options a bit more uptown, becaue the neighbourhood is not that fancy. (Hookers walked in the same street during the night). But I would probably stay here again next time in Oslo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi LiveLikeTom!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

We agree that we don't sound all that pretensious when browsing our pages online, but we do our outmost to offer a simple and modern solution at an affordable rate, and just love hearing that guest like our concept! We see that the airlines use more and more automated solutions, and why shouldn't we be able to do the same in hotels? :)

If you want to try a different area for pubs and restaurant, we highly recommend Grunerløkka!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Fast Check-in, Check out, clean and design rooms. Location close to the central station. There is no breakfast but there is a nice coffee shop at the corner with great food. I stayed there 4 times and no disappointments. Great value!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Florent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Florent G!

Thanks for a great review, and for spreading the word about our hotel!

So glad to hear that you seemed to enjoy our concept, design and location. Stockfleths on the corner does indeed offer a great affordable meal if you'looking for breakfast! We just love hearing our guest repeating our mantra; Value for money! :)

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We reached Oslo late at night but have no problem finding this place as it is near to the train station.

If you walk fast, it will be about 5 mins to the central station.

Very big lobby and hot water available via a dispenser. There are other basic such as microwave and hot drink dispensers in the lobby which is common-use.

Room is clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi kidman!

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel!

Glad that you liked our central location, we also think that we offer a great starting point to explore the wonderful city of Oslo!

When we are such a basic hotel as we are, it's even more important that our rooms are clean! So this is something we are really working on, and it's just great to hear people commenting the cleanliness! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

May not have lots of space and the film Logan's Run comes into play here ( sorry for those younger than me, let's go with IKEA showroom , small but perfectly formed). Extremely clean and well thought out. One or two nights great but any longer no, simply as you'll never be able to unpack. Staff very friendly and informative. Great location too, minutes from train and bus station.

Room Tip: More than hand luggage then your stuffed as no room to hang anything up or placed into a cupboard et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Gug M!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!

We haven't seen the movie Logan's Run, but we checked on Imdb that it was nominated for two Oscars, so we are thinking of watching it the next time all the Citybox Hosts are gathered! :)
Our rooms are indeed small, especially if you have booked one of the rooms that are categorized as "small". If you find them to be too small, we recommend upgrading for only a small fee, and that may be money well spent if your are staying for more than two nights. But as you pointed out, we think our rooms are both perfectly formed and cozy! And if you consider the rate we offer, we think that we offer real good value for money, and we're are glad to see that you agree! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I am French and everything sound expensive in Oslo except this hotel. Very good price for a very recent and trendy hotel. Perfect location 3 minutes walking from central station and 3 minutes walking from the shopping area. No tv in the room but it's ok. Otherwise you have everything you need (towels, shampoo...). In the common area you can use a fridge to store food, there is no dishes but it's ok. I definitely recommend this hotel. Have a good trip in Oslo!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solinosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Solinosca!

Wow! Thanks for a terrific review of our hotel!

We totally agree on that Oslo is a really expensive City, so we are really glad when guests find us to be value for money! We try our best to be a simple and modern hotel that offer the basics of what you need from a hotel!

Your fantastic review inspire us to do even better in the future!
Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hostel is very well located - 2 min from the Railway station. Room are tiny but clean, bathroom included. Staff in the hostel were very kind and helpful. All thing that was dissappointing was a lack of equiped kitchen as described, there were only microwave, fridge and kettle which mean that you need to spend some more money for the food or to buy some in the machine that is also available in the common area of the hostel. Despite that, In general we can fully reccomend this hostel. It stays a very good deal for OSLO, specialy for its central location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petulka218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Petulka218!

Thank you so much for a terrific review of our hotel!

We agree that we have a very basic kitchen, the reason why we do not have a more complete kichen has to with fire regulations, we want to keep our guests safe! :)
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you decided to recommend us on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The local area isn't benefiting from Oslo's normal quality, with young ladies standing on the street corners, however once you enter the hotel and pass the slightly sterile self-check in system, the hotel is very pleasant with clean communal areas. The room itself is quite small and without a TV. As previously noted by reviewers the bathrooms only have showers and are once again quite small. There are vending machines downstairs to but coffees and small meals which is handy. Although we just walked to a bakery on the corner (left as you exit). To sum up, not too bad. But do some research as the prices/competition for this type of hotel in Oslo is fierce and you might get better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Take the biggest they have, ie a standard double (not small double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheairways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi ontheairways!

Thank you so much for giving feedback on our hotel!

We do absolutely agree that some of our rooms are small, especially the rooms that we've named "small", but that's one of the reasons you get them at such a low rate! :)
If you find the room to be too small, we recommend upgrading to a regular double room, normally available at a rate of NOK 50-100 more per night.

We try our best to monitor our competitors, and do our outmost to always offer a price that offers value for money!

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing