We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most spartan hotel I've ever visited”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most spartan hotel I've ever visited”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room is clean and quite. The location is also good, very close to the Oslo central station.
The room is tiny, there is nothing except the single bed and shower with toilet. The hotel is running automatically, with no human touch or service. It's quite unusual and might be problematic if you have any kind of non-standard situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zarkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi zarkor!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We are indeed a spartan hotel! Glad to hear that you liked our location and that found us to be quiet and clean! :) Should you encounter any challenges during your stay, there is always a Citybox Host available in the office in our lobby!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    773
    203
    42
    17
See reviews for
183
594
225
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel, while well furnished in contemporary fixtures was unenjoyable and very annoying.
I paid a very high price...more than two hhjundrit daallers per night. For a single. They were the final nights of my Norway trip and I was exhausted from hiking and kayaking in the Lofoten Islands. I just wanted some comfort and to rest and possibly watch an hour of TV. Oh no. Citybox has decided for you that you are not to get too comfortable in their hotel. Get out and enjoy the city! Well, thats fine if you're interested in seeing Oslo for the 4th time.
American credit cards without a microchip will not work on the robotic check in kiosk. So you have to interact with a human! God forbid. It was actually one of the highlights of the stay. Curiously, the area is kind of a red light district with prostitutes all around at night. Also do not use the cafes that they recommend. Overpriced food. In retrospect, renting an apartment for a couple of days is a much better option and appears to be a lower cost.
The location is very convenient to the center and the Sentralstasjon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi x1achilles!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We are really sad to hear that you did not find us to be worth the price you paid! We compare our rates to all our competitors every day, and we always try to offer a rate that is fair considering what rates other hotels offer. If you paid more than two hundred dollars per night you must have booked a family room (for 4 people), and even though we understand that you feel this is expensive, we urge you to check the prices for a hotel room for 4 people with a private bathroom in the city center of Oslo.

Also sad to hear that you were missing your TV. As you pointed out we have removed our TVs in order to be able to offer a cheaper rate. In stead we have upgraded our wifi, so you should be able to stream whatever you prefer to your laptop or smartphone.

Unfortunately our check in/check out terminals do not accept cards without a chip, we are hoping to add to this in the future. But we are glad to hear that you were happy with the service provided by our Citybox Host!

As in all major city centers, there are sometimes less fortunate events occuring, and we can only apologize for that, but as far as we can see you were still happy with our location, so we hope you were not to bothered by it! :)

Too bad if you did not like the food and coffee offered in "Stockfleth's" that we are recommending! We have no incentive to recommend them other than that we actully like the coffee and baguettes they are offering, but we can understand that not everyone feels the same way as us! :)

Hope your next stay in Oslo will be more to your liking!
Thanks for making us better!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and it was the cheapest price we found in an expensive city.

If you want someone to hand you a key card or say hello when you walk in then go to a hotel at double or triple the cost.

But this "hostel" is a perfect stay for anyone who wants to get up and go without any hassle and has a hotel vibe throughout.

After the computer check in which is very easy to use, there is a sliding door opened by your room card. At the rear of the ground floor is a small kitchen with kettle, microwave, fridge and vending machine. There are tables, sofas, TVs and a computer with printer. All the basic necessities for a pleasant stay.

The room is key card access with a basic layout and a large bathroom and walk-in shower. But this was seen late at night and early in the morning with our time being spent out in the city.

This is how it should be and I would recommend Citybox to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi iceanimal!

Wow! Thanks for a fantastic review of our hotel!

We think your review speaks volumes in itself, and has nothing else to add except that we really appreciate all your kind words! :)

Thanks again, and hope you will visit us some other time! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Check in by computer. I don't think this is cool or quirky, it's cheap, was my impression, the "hotel" is central, so location is good, well handy. The entrance and downstairs areas aren't very clean and tidy, so there is a distinct hostel feeling to the place. Rooms aren't cleaned daily and towels not replaced either, again this is cheap! That said, the hotel is lower than some others but there are others that are cheaper.
The room was clean. Very small, bathroom was nice but again very small. As there is no one around I felt like we were the only people here. No TV or phone or anything in the room other than the bed.

Room Tip: If happy with hostels, book. If you prefer customer service, towels changed and rooms serviced daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi Jim H!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We can understand your point on our check-in machines not being cool or quirky. What they do is freeing our Citybox Hosts to do other jobs, and in return saves us money - and makes your room cheaper. :)

We're sorry to hear that you felt that the entrance and downstairs area aren't very clean and tidy? We clean the area daily, and try our best to keep it up to standard during the day, but the lobby also serves as a meeting place for people from all over the world - and in that way it can kind of remind of a hostel. We ourselves believe that we are somewhere just between a hostel and a hotel! :)

Thanks for making us better!
Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Citybox Oslo

Convenient

If you are looking for a well priced hotel close to the railway station and you don’t need the services of a front desk – this is for you.

Check in is via a machine that issues you with keys and wifi details. Very cool.
The room was basic but great. Excellent bathroom and Hooray!! A soft bed after two weeks of travelling. Wifi was good, Bathroom was great. The room was not air conditioned but I suppose this was Norway and the weather was unseasonably warm. 10 minute walk to the central station.
Checkout was also via a machine. There is a human there if you need something – like dropping bags in the luggage room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieVisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi AussieVisi2r!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us! Too bad you were having difficulties with the AC? Did you notice the small switch on the wall where you can adjust the temperature?
That being said, with the wonderful summer we have been having, the temperatures might be a challenge for any AC! :)

Hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great value for money, never expect such good quality with this budget price in Norway.

The hotel is located in town centre where you can reach the shopping area and train station in few minute walk. You can check-in and out by yourself at the kiosk at entrance, or you can seek help from very friendly and helpful staff by pressing the blue button next to the kiosk. You need the door card to enter the building and use the lift, feel secured. The common area on the ground floor is comfortable and modish with a small kitchen.

The room is spacious, clean and stylish. The soundproof windows work very well, no worry about the noise even it is situated in town centre. When we stayed there, there was thunderstorm but we heard nothing inside the room.

Highly recommend it to all travelers who visit Oslo and consider it is the best choice in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Carrie L!

Wow! Another review with a full score, thank you so much!!

Thanks also for repeating our mantra of "great value for money"! We try our best to offer a simple and modern solution with true value for money, and we are glad to see that you agree!

Also nice to hear that our Citybox Host could assist when you needed our service! They are always available at our office! We have thought long and hard about how to make our self check-in/check-out as safe as possible, so just great to hear that you also felt safe and that you liked and understood our solution! :)

Too bad that you stayed one of the few days that we weren't blessed with amazing weather, but hope you still managed to enjoy the city!

Your kind words when referring to us as "The best choice in town" just made our day!
Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very near to central station (Olso-S), conveniently located. We had a one night stay there on the way to Voss. They have automatic check-in and check-out system, which is pretty cool. The food options are few blocks away, 10 min walk you will find a plenty of options. Good for budget travelers, as prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, 10 June 2016
Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 100 in Oslo
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Property: Citybox Oslo
Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing