We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, convenient, inexpensive”
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citybox Oslo
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great tip for staying in Oslo for a weekend if you are looking for comfort, convenience and simplicity. Much less expensive than other hotels in the area and convenient location close to the station. Lots of young adults as guests, but quiet at night. Free Wifi, free use of water kettle in the common kitchen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SorayaBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi SorayaBE!

Wow! Thanks for a terrific review of our hotel!

"Clean, modern, convenient, inexpensive" are words that we love when used to describe us! We really appreciate all your kind words, and we will strive to continue to offer simple and modern solutions at an affordable rate!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good location : close to Railway station.
Very clean and new; comfortable beds; airconditioned rooms and windows that block noise from the street. Perhaps a closet or wardrobe to put some clothes in, would be a good idea. Now you have to leave everything in your suitcase or hang it on a chair.
Checking in by automat, very easy and if you should have problems : there is always someone available for service in case of need of help to check in or to store luggage (for free).
Reasonable price in expensive city.
Breakfast is possible (except on sundays) in Stockfleths (coffee house) 2 steps further.
Computer and printer available in hotel lobby.
Stayed here 2 times and every time for 3 nights.
Good experience and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 4U22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stopped here for a night on our way to Bergen.
We had earlier contacted the hotel about a free upgrade advertised on their website but we didn't qualify for it as the offer was eligible only for bookings made through their website.They are were friendly and responded to our emails quite promptly.
The room is tiny but clean, there are no fans or airconditioning, you can open the window and sleep. As all windows open into a courtyard, if there is a particularly loud person then rest assured your sleep will be disturbed. (The room generally has instructions to be courteous towards other guests). I do not remember the room I stayed in but they had run out of showergel in the bathroom and the ceiling right behind the entrance had some kind of leakage(see pic) (there are no telephones so you can't call the reception --hmm there is no reception) As we were there only for a night, we really didn't want to go to the reception after a long flight and arriving late in the night.
The location is great, just 5 mins from the train station.
I think this hotel targets a specific kind of tourist, it made us miss all those small little things which we take for granted in other hotel rooms. I really missed the human touch.
If you want a clean place for an inexpensive rate then this is the place as OSLO is expensive !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi SushNam!

Thank you so much for a thorough and great review of our hotel!

Price is indeed one of our driving factors. Price & location are after all the driving factors for most hotels all over the world? We will never try to be a "destination hotel" for your travel, we believe in travelling to see the place you are visiting, not the hotel.:)

One of our objectives behind offering free upgrades if you book directly with us, is to try to move the traffic from third-party sites that claim commission. We prefer to give back to our guests instead of paying a third party.

It does indeed seem to have been a water leakage in your room, we are really sorry about this! We have located which room you stayed in, and will sort it out as soon as possible!
Also sorry about the lack of shower gel in your room! Should you ever stay with us again there is always a Citybox Host availble in our office, and we would have done our best to sort out all your problems! :)

Thanks for making us better!
Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Norway is an expensive country to visit, so that was why we choose City Box. Other reviewers advised that the rooms are small, but we booked anyhow. City Box is a non-serviced hotel and you will need to have booked and pay before you arrive. You book your self in via a kiosk in the foyer using your pin number. An access card spits out of the machine and your in. Very easy. Its no frills and if you can cope with that, with the offset that it is affordable then this can be an option. The hotel is newly furbished so clean and modern. Nothing in the room to put clothes away or suitcases on, just a comfortable bed, good linen, towels and toilet paper. It is well located near the railway station and Opera House. The room we has was not small, plenty of room to open your case out onto the floor. Would stay there again and recommend it. It was fun and different.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank 455Naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Highs:
Value-for-money, no-frills budget hotel... remember, Norway is one of the most expensive places in the world, so it's nice to find some affordable options.
Really close to the Oslo central train station.
Smacking new hotel & rooms, nice lobby to lounge around, clean sheets & decent sized toilet.
You can check-in at one of those trendy check-in machines at the lobby.
Wi-fi satisfactorily strong.
If you like walking, many city sights are close by to explore on foot.
Many restaurants & cafes are close by.
They offer to hold your bags in a storage room at no cost, in case you arrive before your check-in time and don't feel like lugging your stuff around the city.
Overall, highly recommended for travelers who want to spend more time/energy/money in seeing sights/walking around but not at all for those who want to relax at the hotel or be pampered.

Lows:
No food/ drinks available inside the hotel apart from a vending machine in the lobby.
No tea/coffee in the room.
No TV.
No room service if you don't ask for it, but that is OK if you are only staying a couple nights.

Room Tip: There is no 'view' from the room so it does not make a difference which side you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BipashaSarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi BipashaSarkar!

Thanks for a thorough and great review of our hotel!

We believed you quite well summarized most of our pros and cons. We try our best to let our guests know that we offer only the basics, yet with simple and modern solutions, and at a fair rate. By removing elements that make your hotel room more expensive, we are able to offer a lower rate.

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room is clean and quite. The location is also good, very close to the Oslo central station.
The room is tiny, there is nothing except the single bed and shower with toilet. The hotel is running automatically, with no human touch or service. It's quite unusual and might be problematic if you have any kind of non-standard situation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi zarkor!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We are indeed a spartan hotel! Glad to hear that you liked our location and that found us to be quiet and clean! :) Should you encounter any challenges during your stay, there is always a Citybox Host available in the office in our lobby!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel, while well furnished in contemporary fixtures was unenjoyable and very annoying.
I paid a very high price...more than two hhjundrit daallers per night. For a single. They were the final nights of my Norway trip and I was exhausted from hiking and kayaking in the Lofoten Islands. I just wanted some comfort and to rest and possibly watch an hour of TV. Oh no. Citybox has decided for you that you are not to get too comfortable in their hotel. Get out and enjoy the city! Well, thats fine if you're interested in seeing Oslo for the 4th time.
American credit cards without a microchip will not work on the robotic check in kiosk. So you have to interact with a human! God forbid. It was actually one of the highlights of the stay. Curiously, the area is kind of a red light district with prostitutes all around at night. Also do not use the cafes that they recommend. Overpriced food. In retrospect, renting an apartment for a couple of days is a much better option and appears to be a lower cost.
The location is very convenient to the center and the Sentralstasjon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi x1achilles!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We are really sad to hear that you did not find us to be worth the price you paid! We compare our rates to all our competitors every day, and we always try to offer a rate that is fair considering what rates other hotels offer. If you paid more than two hundred dollars per night you must have booked a family room (for 4 people), and even though we understand that you feel this is expensive, we urge you to check the prices for a hotel room for 4 people with a private bathroom in the city center of Oslo.

Also sad to hear that you were missing your TV. As you pointed out we have removed our TVs in order to be able to offer a cheaper rate. In stead we have upgraded our wifi, so you should be able to stream whatever you prefer to your laptop or smartphone.

Unfortunately our check in/check out terminals do not accept cards without a chip, we are hoping to add to this in the future. But we are glad to hear that you were happy with the service provided by our Citybox Host!

As in all major city centers, there are sometimes less fortunate events occuring, and we can only apologize for that, but as far as we can see you were still happy with our location, so we hope you were not to bothered by it! :)

Too bad if you did not like the food and coffee offered in "Stockfleth's" that we are recommending! We have no incentive to recommend them other than that we actully like the coffee and baguettes they are offering, but we can understand that not everyone feels the same way as us! :)

Hope your next stay in Oslo will be more to your liking!
Thanks for making us better!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: £65 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citybox Oslo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? We recently teamed up with a cafe that offers breakfast, lunch and dinner for all our guests, and also provides a 10% discount for our guests. In addition they also cater to our meeting rooms. The cafe has a direct entrance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing