We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,918)
Filter reviews
1,918 results
Traveller rating
597
976
266
57
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
976
266
57
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city box vending machine no frills train station self service checkin and checkout automatic check budget hotel the ground floor luggage storage common areas opera house extra towels rooms are basic family room checking in free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 1,918 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Keep in mind that Oslo is an unbelievable expensive city where human labor is beyond expensive. So overall:

1- The hotel is in the center of Oslo. It is very safe and you are within walking distance to everything in the city.

2- The rooms are strange. Ok, they come with a bed, and toilet...but there is no wardrobre...Where do you expect people to hang their clothes? If you come here in a business trip you are basically screwed.

3- I froze to death in the room, the heating didn't work, and the window didn't close completely. Is this normal in Oslo? I don't know!

4. The hotel doesn't give basic things to their guests...shampoo, soap, etc. And the rooms are cleaned once a week. Usually hotels give complementary hot water, tea or coffee...in this hotel however they give you nothing!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oniropolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, General Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Hi Oniropolo!

Thanks for your review of our hotel!

We totally agree that Oslo is extremly expensive, and you are absolutely correct in that the labor costs is a huge factor for all hotels in Norway!

Our thought is that you can use the clothing hanger on the wall in addition to the black "dots" in your room to place your clothes. Also bear in mind that if you booked a room categorized as "small", and you still feel that it is not large enough - perhaps one of our standard rooms are better suited? We even offer complimentary upgrades through our Tripadvisor promotion!

Too bad if you experienced difficulties with your heating and windows? Rest assured that this is not something that is normal for our hotel (or other hotels in Oslo). We do apologize for this, and we would love for you to let us know which room you stayed in, so that we could check it out?

There are actually both hand wash and shampoo in all our rooms. And we sell balsam and toothpaste from our vending machines on the 1th floor.

As your surely worked out, we are not an ordinary hotel. And if you look at our presentation we do our best to present our concept - we minimize and remove as much as possible so that we are able to offer you the best price possible!

Thanks for your input, and we hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Hotel in a good position (100mt from the Central Station). A bit impersonal (check-in & out by a Pc) and forniture by Ikea. Room not so clear and just one towel for all. They did not clear my room in my 3 days stay. Mattress and pillow unconfortable. The bakery close to the hotel to have breakfast very good.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Matteo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, General Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Hi Matteo149!

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Nice to read that you liked our location! While we can understand that everyone prefers personal service, our automated check-in/check-out is one of the key reasons that we are able to offer such low prices. Same thing applies to daily cleaning, we do however offer daily cleaning if requested at a surcharge of NOK 150 per day. And we provide extra towels free of charge if requested at our Citybox Host Office. Our experience is that if our guests can chose between a normal hotel solution with a higher price, and our solution at a lower price - they prefer our option. :)

But disappointed to read that you felt your mattress and pillow were uncomfortable as that it something we normally receive praise for. Cool that you enjoyed the breakfast at the pizzeria & bakery that we have teamed up with!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

In a nutshell: Citybox is a GREAT choice and I really love that they are trying to make Oslo affordable and more accessible for a wide range of audiences.

You heard it all from the other reviews: you can't beat the location, the prices are the best in the city, and the accommodations are comfortable. You won't be greeted with tiny bottles of shampoo, a wake-up call or a bell hop. But if you are like me, these aren't things you need. You bring your own beauty products (there is soap and towels), you prefer to set 10 alarms on your mobile phone, and you travel so light a bell hop would be a waste.

Whether you are budget-savvy, environmentally-friendly, or a no-frills no-fuss kind of person, this is a great hotel. If you are also looking for a place that has amazingly friendly staff who are happy to bring you extra towels or give you directions (or help you with check-in when you break the machine), this is the ticket and an amazing pick.

We found Citybox to be our favorite stay in our European adventure. It was clean and modern, and offered us independence -- there is even a computer concierge in the main lobby that we used to find restaurants and things to do. Although we did not use this function, the staff were also available via Facebook messenger -- which might be handy for when you are both in or out of the hotel. We also did this crazy thing called going to their main office, and asking for help face-to-face. No troubles, and the help was top-notch.

We had a room facing an alley way, which afforded us peace and quiet but ample light -- and great shades for when we wanted to sleep! There was one noisy room near us, but the sound was so muffled we barely noticed anything in our own room.

There were also conference rooms and living areas that we did not use, but I wanted to note the resources available. I noticed there were computers in the main area with a printer, and lots of people who were using the main living spaces (or conference rooms). The clientele ranged from families with young children to the childless, young and old, couples and groups. The main areas also had a microwave, small vending machine, and communal fridge. It was always quiet and clean, with room for multiple groups to hang out and decompress. You could easily pick up dinner at the train station grocery store (near Track 1) and eat for cheap. The most affordable/delicious food we had right in the attached restaurant, Rent Mel -- with 10% discount.

Really could not recommend this enough for your visit to Oslo!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Daglig leder at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hi Eli N!

Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel!

We are just flattered and inspired by all your kind words! We just love to hear from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept!

Thanks again for a fantastic recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic. We stayed here for three days. Check in was automated but idiot proof. The decor through out is simple modern and clean. The rooms were fantastic, basic but couldn't want for more. Very very comfortable. There is a kitchen area down stairs open to all. The location of citybox is excellent. From the sights to shopping to travel amenities. We would definitely recommend this place, the staff were all friendly, and there is a luggage room for those checking out at lunchtime but not leaving till later like us.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank w741th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Daglig leder at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Hi w741th!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We are thrilled to read that you found us to be "fantastic, simple, modern, clean, basic, very comfortable, excellent location, friendly staff". Thank you so much for all your kind words and great recommendation!

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location near train station bus station. Not far from all shops city mall opera house and main square with tiger sculpture.hotel was very modern and contemporary. Comfortable beds great shower. No tea making facility. Place next door breakfast ok . Remember this is oslo so 2 croissants and coffee £18. Oslo as a city is very easy to walk round and lots of public transport that is cheap. Munch museum £10 adult free for kids. Walk up opera house free. Sculpture park with angry baby free. Shopping great. Food and drink you will need to take out a mortgage. Pint of beer £10. Margetta pizza £30.bottle of small coke £3. Basically everything is x3 the price of UK. Hotel staff friendly n helpful albeit this hotel is a self checkin.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Leder  at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Hi ericcheat!

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel!

We totally agree that Norway and Oslo in particular is really expensive. That is also one of the reasons that we try our best to offer what believe is real value for money! Glad to read that you found our location to be "fantastic", and our hotel to be "modern" with "great beds and shower".

Thanks again for your recommendation, and we do hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews