We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel that acts like a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saga Poshtel Oslo Central
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A hostel that acts like a hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Private room en-suite was what it said on the tin, small but everything we needed. Pretty easy to find, young but helpful enough staff. Breakfast was a bit basic and in a common-room type setting but all in all, a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    194
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
44
101
163
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel was nicer than some hotels I've stayed in. Spottlessly clean, breakfast included, unlimited free wifi, safe, and an excellent location. Really can't fault this place on anything so would highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Pretty good value (for Oslo). Booked online and got 50% off but think we would have been quite disappointed if wed paid in full. Staff we're lovely and very helpful and it was at a good location near to the train station and opera house. Breakfast was included and was really good, nice and fresh with lots of choice. Place was very clean.

On the negatives, bedroom was very small and there was little space to put anything. The kitchen facilities were also very small which is frustrating as many people chose to cook themselves given the prices in Oslo so this was a bit tricky at tea time. Place also lacked atmosphere.

However all in all, not a bad hostel. Would have no problem going back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great location, close to Central station, Cathedral, shopping area and City Hall. Very modern interior, security locks for main entrance and entrance to each floor. Very clean rooms and common areas. Furniture and everything else in rooms is an excellent condition. Heated floor in bathroom really made the difference - it was raining when we were in Oslo, so we dried our clothes in the bathroom.
Very good breakfast, kitchen with all things necessary for cooking.Helpful staff.
Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbanstyle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

centrally located, very modern with all the security locks, incredibly cheap for norway, gigantic breakfast included (and stuff quickly 'refilled' if need be), free wifi and computers (wifi even in your rooms, in other places it usually doesn't get that far), superclean, helpful staff, quite a decent common area for a hostel in a bigger city

even had the 4people dorm on my own but that was probably due to midweek stay off season ;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank daftwullie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Expensive, yes, but so is everything in Oslo so this is to be expected. It was very clean, comfortable, and well heated. Staff were helpful and friendly. The hostel is also well located just a 10 minute walk from the train station, and the main city streets are also within walking distance, as are tram stops.
The kitchen was a little bit small for a rather large hostel - this was a bit of a pain sometimes. But the thing I was most impressed by was the fantastic breakfast! The breakfast was as good as you would get in a cheap hotel, maybe even better than what I've experienced at some budget hotels - good nutritious food and great variety! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbitten03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked a double with private bathroom at the advance non refundable rate - 50% discount. The room we got was small but very clean, underfloor heating in the bathroom. The location was excellent. At the full rate of NOK895 per night, there may be equally good deals nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fooe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#23 of 101 in Oslo
1,528 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
795 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Poshtel Oslo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Poshtel Oslo Central

Property: Saga Poshtel Oslo Central
Address: Kongens gate 7, Oslo 0153, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Poshtel Oslo Central 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saga Poshtel Oslo is happy to welcome you. As the first of its kind, you will have the unique experience of staying in our stylish, modern and affordable rooms. A poshtel is a more exclusive and "posh" version of a hostel, a place where guests expect that little extra. We hope you will enjoy our brand new poshtel. The poshtel is the newest member of the Saga family. We are built upon the chain's core values: the feeling of home, smart and trendy design and top-notch service. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring you an enjoyable and sociable stay while visiting the city of Oslo. If you are backpacking, or on adventure travel, on a shopping trip, traveling on a budget or just on business, you have several options. Saga Hotel Oslo Central is the place to relax being close to the action. Our concept is based in an innovative design combined with the best location and outstanding service. Staying in the middle of the city center gives you access to the best restaurants, shops and attractions by foot. If you are planning excursions outside the city center tram, subway, bus and ferries are all in walking distance from the poshtel. Oslo Central Station is also only a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saga Poshtel Oslo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing