We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Nearby Hotels
US$292
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
645
493
168
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
493
168
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetafternoon pancakesmake your ownfree pancakesopera housetrain stationcook your ownafternoon snackincluded in the pricefree dinnerclarion collectionan expensive citylight dinnerdeluxe roomtea and coffeehot drinkssandwich
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
667 - 672 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Loved the hotel and the staff was just wonderful! It was easy to find, walked from the train station with lots of luggage. The breakfast was good, the afternoon pancakes were great and the evening reception saved us a lot of $$ on dinner one night. All in all it was a beautiful hotel and a great stay!

That being said, I was uncomfortable every time we left the hotel. I was traveling with my husband and adult children so I didn't switch hotels or anything, but if I had been by myself I probably would have. So unfortunate that the drug addicts seem to have control of the area. We saw people shooting up, saw needles on the street, etc. So very sad. We came and went at all hours, even very late at night, and no one gave us any problems, but it was disturbing to me. In all fairness, the whole area directly around the train station was just as disturbing, so if you go to Oslo you are going to see this, be prepared.

But overall we had a wonderful visit and the staff at this hotel was part of it. They can't do anything about the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT overlook the street.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JClarkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Dear guests from Reno, Nevada!

Thank you som much for your very nice review! We are so thrilled you found our hotel so great, and good value in Oslo.

As you point out,- unfortunatly Oslo has some problems (as do most big cities), and you can see this all around the Central station. Apart from that,- I will state that this area is regarded as quite safe,- I have worked many late evenings in this district for 8 years, walked to the tram or parkinghouse every day,- and never had any bad experiences.

But Oslo also has so many other values as you pointed out,-and we are so happy you and your family had a wonderful stay!

A warm welcome back!

Best regards
Hilde Hammervold General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in late June 2011. It is a short walk to the main train station, and an even shorter one to stops for tram 12 and bus 30, which are useful for getting to tourist sites. The bedroom and bathroom were on the small side, but they were very serviceable. The exceptional thing about this hotel was the food offered. We had the nicest two breakfasts of our trip, and enjoyed the evening buffets as well. The meals were nicely presented and the food was very tasty. This saved us considerable time and money. The staff people were friendly and efficient. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. There was no construction underway in the area and the street is not busy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived in Oslo after spending 3 noisy nights in Copenhagen. Asked the clerk, Gese, for a quiet room and she made sure we got one. She was also very helpful with directions and letting me know about the available washing machine (free) and dryer (25 kroner for a token). The breakfast was great. Pancakes (make your own) in the afternoon and light supper buffet in the evening were a great touch. As with all European hotels room on the smaler side and bathroom small, but it was the only hotel in the 5 cities where we stayed that had a convenient outlet for curling iron. Be aware that outlets in the bathrooms are for shavers only (low voltage). About a 10-15min walk from the train station and within 30min walk to major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, don't know if there are any noisy ones
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlysGamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night before our cruise and one night after there was 13 of us all family grandparents, mums and dads and of course the children we had a wonderful time the staff we amazing we will stay again if we are back in Oslo .
We would also like to say our thoughts and prayers are with all the hotel staff and the people of Oslo at this sad time.
The Lyness and the Devine family from Ireland 23rd July 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisburnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

At first we were concerned when we walked from the train station...we got wrong directions and passed through some bad areas (homeless people) but when we DID find it we were very pleasantly surprised...the staff was very accomodating and friendly & the room was very clean and the bed wonderful...our dinner buffet was very nice and adequate. We had "pasta" which was more Norwegian pasta I guess :) but fine. Breakfast was tasty and we were very pleased...we would highly recommend this place. There is construction across the street but it didn't bother us although we were there over a weekend so don't know if that would have been a problem during the week?

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel - on the street side. We were overlooking a construction site but it was on a weekend so no noise.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLtraveler32746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews