We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot for the money in an expensive country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A lot for the money in an expensive country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I, along with two other couples, stayed at the Clarion before venturing out on Norway in a Nutshell. Given the high cost of everything in Norway, i.e. dining out, buying a cup of coffee, etc., the Clarion Bastion FREE amenities including a full buffet breakfast, afternoon waffle (really a pancake) and a light evening meal, makes staying in Oslo at the Clarion Bastion the most reasonable and affordable hotel in any of the Scandanavian countries we've visited. On this trip we stayed at the Raddison Blu in Alesund, an overnight on the M/S NordNorge (Hurtigruten ship) and the Comfort Hotel Hoberg in Bergen before returning to the Clarion Bastion in Oslo. We think the Clarion Bastion was the best of all lodgings we had in Norway. The beds are the most comfortable, the rooms clean and nicely decorated, the staff, i.e. Patrick and others, the most friendly and accommodating and the location ideal for those planning to travel in Norway by train as the train station is but five level blocks away. Regarding Patrick, after doing Norway in a Nutshell over four days, we arrived back at the Clarion Bastion after the 9PM end of the evening light meal. Patrick graciously provided us with a tasty sandwich shortly after our arrival. That kind of service is not found everywhere and was greatly appreciated after traveling all day from Bergen.
Thumbs up for the Clarion Bastion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear Guest from Seattle,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We all love it and are happy we managed to fullfill your expectations!

Your comments regarding our staff, the nice clean rooms, the food,- thumbs up, and for Patrick especially!

We wish you a warm welcome back,
Best regards
Hilde Hammervold General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    437
    147
    48
    26
See reviews for
197
429
116
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Let me start by saying Norway is the most expensive country I have ever been to- so keep this in mind as you go through this review.
It is about a 15 min walk from the bus station I believe. I had a lot of luggage so took a taxi, a 4min drive maybe?- just to step into a taxi in Olso is a minimum fare of about $23- no joke. Weekends and off hours slightly more. Going back to the airport know that there is a bus pick up about 5min walk away in front of Thon Opera, that then connects you to the train line.
Hotel is about 5-10min walk to the Opera house, maybe 10-15min north to get to Karl Johan street, another 5-10 to main area. About 15min walk to dock area.

There is construction in front of the hotel, which in my two day weekend stay was not an issue, but is nothing great to look at. The room I had was on the second floor at the front of teh hotel with the construction view- you could hear music from a club at about 4am. Didn't really bother me, but maybe ask for a quiet room if this would bother you.

My original room was a single for about $130 (typical tiny European room), however note while the website states air conditioning, when I called to say mine wasn't working I was told my room type did not have AC and I could pay $60/night more to upgrade. Rough start, but after stating how unacceptable that was I was upgraded to a nice big room,

Apart from the problem above, the front desk person was very friendly and helpful. Free wireless. When I was researching hotels, reviews here made a big deal about the included breakfast and light dinner at the hotel- at the time I thought "Who cares?" since I would want to experience local restaurants. Well, now I know- I ended up havign almost every meal form the hotel, and they were OK. One main course (like a hamburger, fried rice, or spaghetti) at an average looking Oslo restaurant will be $40, it really took away from the Oslo expereince.

When I was researching around Jan '11 it was the #1 hotel, as of this writing in July it is now #6. I would recommend it from my experience, but there are likely other good places too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whereisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Guest from Austin Texas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Oslo and our hotel with your fellow travellers! I am so pleased we managed to meet your expectations at the hotel!

Regarding aricondition: all de Lux rooms and suites do have individual AC in all rooms,- whereas all standard rooms do have normal ventilation. This is notted in our website,- but other websites sometimes "cut and clip" information from our page to distribute our rooms, someteimes this is not done correct. I would appreciate if you find the page and could be so kind to send it to me / our reception!

All the best ,- from us at the Hotel Bastion!

HIlde Hammervold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Loved the hotel and the staff was just wonderful! It was easy to find, walked from the train station with lots of luggage. The breakfast was good, the afternoon pancakes were great and the evening reception saved us a lot of $$ on dinner one night. All in all it was a beautiful hotel and a great stay!

That being said, I was uncomfortable every time we left the hotel. I was traveling with my husband and adult children so I didn't switch hotels or anything, but if I had been by myself I probably would have. So unfortunate that the drug addicts seem to have control of the area. We saw people shooting up, saw needles on the street, etc. So very sad. We came and went at all hours, even very late at night, and no one gave us any problems, but it was disturbing to me. In all fairness, the whole area directly around the train station was just as disturbing, so if you go to Oslo you are going to see this, be prepared.

But overall we had a wonderful visit and the staff at this hotel was part of it. They can't do anything about the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JClarkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear guests from Reno, Nevada!

Thank you som much for your very nice review! We are so thrilled you found our hotel so great, and good value in Oslo.

As you point out,- unfortunatly Oslo has some problems (as do most big cities), and you can see this all around the Central station. Apart from that,- I will state that this area is regarded as quite safe,- I have worked many late evenings in this district for 8 years, walked to the tram or parkinghouse every day,- and never had any bad experiences.

But Oslo also has so many other values as you pointed out,-and we are so happy you and your family had a wonderful stay!

A warm welcome back!

Best regards
Hilde Hammervold General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in late June 2011. It is a short walk to the main train station, and an even shorter one to stops for tram 12 and bus 30, which are useful for getting to tourist sites. The bedroom and bathroom were on the small side, but they were very serviceable. The exceptional thing about this hotel was the food offered. We had the nicest two breakfasts of our trip, and enjoyed the evening buffets as well. The meals were nicely presented and the food was very tasty. This saved us considerable time and money. The staff people were friendly and efficient. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. There was no construction underway in the area and the street is not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived in Oslo after spending 3 noisy nights in Copenhagen. Asked the clerk, Gese, for a quiet room and she made sure we got one. She was also very helpful with directions and letting me know about the available washing machine (free) and dryer (25 kroner for a token). The breakfast was great. Pancakes (make your own) in the afternoon and light supper buffet in the evening were a great touch. As with all European hotels room on the smaler side and bathroom small, but it was the only hotel in the 5 cities where we stayed that had a convenient outlet for curling iron. Be aware that outlets in the bathrooms are for shavers only (low voltage). About a 10-15min walk from the train station and within 30min walk to major attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, don't know if there are any noisy ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlysGamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night before our cruise and one night after there was 13 of us all family grandparents, mums and dads and of course the children we had a wonderful time the staff we amazing we will stay again if we are back in Oslo .
We would also like to say our thoughts and prayers are with all the hotel staff and the people of Oslo at this sad time.
The Lyness and the Devine family from Ireland 23rd July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisburnGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

At first we were concerned when we walked from the train station...we got wrong directions and passed through some bad areas (homeless people) but when we DID find it we were very pleasantly surprised...the staff was very accomodating and friendly & the room was very clean and the bed wonderful...our dinner buffet was very nice and adequate. We had "pasta" which was more Norwegian pasta I guess :) but fine. Breakfast was tasty and we were very pleased...we would highly recommend this place. There is construction across the street but it didn't bother us although we were there over a weekend so don't know if that would have been a problem during the week?

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the hotel - on the street side. We were overlooking a construction site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLtraveler32746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing