We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kan anbefales” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“kan anbefales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

if you are in Oslo, stay at the Clarion Collection Bastion. The staff is the friendliest we ever experienced, the rooms ar big for a city hotel, very clean, and every evening there is a small buffett waiting for you for free!! You can also help yourself to delicious waffels in the afternoon.
Hotellet er bare topp! Jeg reiser en del med grupper, og de ansatte på Clarion Bastion er helt enestående. De er tålmodig, vennlige, serviceminded og veldig imøtekommende. Takk for en kjempehyggelig opphold!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    435
    144
    47
    26
See reviews for
197
428
115
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Hotel Clarion Bastion is located in a very bad Area of Oslo. Around the hotel there is a lot of construction going on and the bars around the hotel are frequented by a lot drunk people. The hotel itself is very dirty and the rooms are not clean. The furniture in our rooms were either broken or not functioning. What a bloody experience! The guests are either backpakers or cheap american tourists looking for an afordable accomodation in Oslo. I would definitely not recommend this hotel. There are much nicer and cleaner hotels in Oslo and in a better area!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel is about a 20 min walk from the Central station. The sidewalk in front is populated by seedy characters and littered with cigarette buts. Extensive construction going on in front which was loud in the morning. The lobby is dim, with faded rugs, scratched furniture. On seeing our room and requesting a better one, we were told we had already been upgraded to a "traditional room". The room contained worn and liberally scarred furniture, a faded and torn rug, and worn and stained chair upholstery.
The beds were reasonably comfortable and the bathroom clean although towels a bit thin. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant, and the breakfasts good.

Room Tip: We were told that more modern rooms were available but were very small, so since the bathroom and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard_baringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banyuls Dels Aspres, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

All that you could wish for. Comfortable rooms. Charming personnel, all day coffee and tea. Buffet breakfast, pancakes in the afternoon and an adequate evening supper. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Before staying at this hotel my only concern was that it might not be in the best neighborhood, based on other reviews. What we quickly found out was that there are many ways to walk to the hotel that are perfectly safe and all you need to do is avoid one street where some seedy characters congregate. The first thing to like about this hotel is the front desk staff who are very personable and helpful, especially Malin who volunteered to call the airline that lost my luggage--she discovered that it had been found and was on the way to the hotel! Another really nice benefit of staying here is the evening meal which is included in your room rate. In a country where everything is very expensive it is unusual and very welcome to get dinner for free. Some reviewers would lead you to believe that the evening meal is sparse--it is not. There is a good variety of appetizers and a couple of choices for a main course but there is also cheese, bread,soup,deserts and a hard working kitchen staff that frequently replenishes the selections. We were delighted with the choices and quality. If that wasn't enough you can also make yourself some pancakes in the afternoon.
Our room looked into a courtyard and therefore had no view but it was what we asked for--quiet. The room was very attractive with an old world feel that was very comfortable and with much character. The only negative was that there were a few items in the room that needed some maintenance such as a painting and light that were off the wall and sitting on the floor, also a light bulb was missing from a lamp and a couple of other small issues.
The hotel is also within walking distance to the train station--about a 5 to 7 minute walk. It is also very close to the hop on hop off bus. I highly recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay in Oslo.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just returned from Oslo where we stayed several nights in the Clarion Hotel Bastion in Oslo (we were there pre-cruise) Oslo is an amazing city - very tourist friendly. The locals were the most helpful we've ever seen anywhere! And their English is incredible. The Clarion Bastion is a great hotel. It's just a couple blocks from the Oslo Central Train Station. The hotel staff were very warm and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food the hotel provides is amazing! An incredible breakfast! (many great selections typical of European breakfast) Mid-afternoon waffles, and then an evening dinner buffet which they called a light dinner, but which we called all we needed - it was a great selection just like the breakfast. A lot of fresh fruits and vegetables, meats and cheeses, organic items, and hot items - dinner we had meat spaghetti one night, potatoes and meat gravy. This was not only a great Norway food experience, it also saved a lot of money as Oslo can be expensive, though if you read Rick Steves recommendations for Oslo on a budget you can do it fairly inexpensively. We loved how warm and friendly the hotel staff were, and very helpful to help us get oriented to the city. In fact we were sad we couldn't stay here for a night after our cruise as the hotel was booked, so we had to stay at another hotel which was okay, just not quite the same personal attention, nor food. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if visiting Oslo. Other reviewers noted the construction they are doing nearby with some buildings and a major underground freeway, but it did not disturb us in the least. Once at the hotel, we were in easy walking distance to most main attractions in the city. Great hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on its high rating on Trip Advisor - No.2 rated hotel in Oslo at the time of booking and its reasonable price.
When I arrived I was a little disappointed by the location (construction works opposite but still very central) and reception area however the staff were helpful and the bedroom was lovely, with no noise from the construction site but this was at the weekend.

Breakfast, an afternoon snack of waffles and an evening buffet are included in the price and this is where I think it gets it high rating from. Oslo is seriously expensive for eating out and to effectively be able to have all your meals in the hotel for just your basic room rate is excellent.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beamaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing