We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance,service, value, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegance,service, value, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

After touring around Norway, the hotel Bastion was a nice surprise. The location, near museums, harbor, and numerous shops and restaurants is a tourists dream. The room was large, nicely furnished, and a bathroom with a bathtub for tired feet. In addition to the generous breakfast buffet, guests are offed pancakes in the afternoon and a very nice dinner buffet, all complimentary. so one has the choice of splurging on an expensive restaurant or saving and eating at the hotel. Perhaps what distinguishes this hotel is the friendly, attentive staff who are on a par with service at the most expensive hotels. great experience, great value,

Room Tip: Consult with staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal60933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    435
    144
    47
    26
See reviews for
197
428
115
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Hotel Bastion was within walking distance of the railway station and we had a spacious recently renovated room. The outstanding feature of the hotel was the complimentary evening buffet from 6pm to 9 pm. This included a hot dish such as spaghetti bolgnese or baked salmon as well as a wide range of cold dishes. We found that eating out was very expensive in Norway so having the evening meal included was a great benefit. We also thought the breakfast buffet had a more comprehensive choice than the breakfast buffet we had on the Hurtigruten cruise. There are also pancakes in the afternoon from 3pm to 6pm but we were out seeing the sites so missed this. At the present time there are major roadworks being carried out near the hotel and the complimentary evening meal may be to encourage business however the roadworks did not disturb us at night. We had a good size room on the street frontage but some other guests did comment that their room was on the small size.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

As other reviewers have noted, the Clarion Hotel Bastion is an excellent value in an extremely expensive city (I almost choked when I ordered a beer at a cafe in town, and it came to about $15 USD!).

But back to the hotel, breakfast had an excellent selection, and I was personally happy with the "light dinner" because a) it was free, and b) it had what I consider to be "normal" food (i.e. salad, pasta, potatoes, etc). My husband and I found parking to be quite simple, some on one side of the hotel and more just down the street by the fortress. The location is within walking distance of most of the main sites in the city and right next to the Opera House and the Akershus Fortress (both of which I recommend visiting).

I have to commend the staff for helping us get an acceptable room. Without their help, our stay, and this review, would have been a lot worse. Our first room was quite small, but clean with a comfortable bed. However, upon turning on the TV, we found that it didn't work. This wasn't a big problem, but we mentioned it to the gentleman working at the desk. He personally came up, tried to fix it, and found that he couldn't. He moved us to another room down the hall. This room was so narrow that we couldn't fit our luggage and still get into the room. The phone was on the floor, since there was no room for it elsewhere, and the closet didn't even have a door. Talk about a downgrade. Luckily, upon complaining (again), we were moved to a MUCH bigger room and had no more problems.

So, to sum things up, stay here for the free food, close location to sites, and helpful service, but don't let them put you in room 409.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Oslo is very expensive, this hotel was quite reasonably priced and well located. May not be the most attractive building in town, but once inside is nice and quiet.
Would go again fo sure, maybe would take the small room again, but something bigger.
Staff was corteus, and professional, food was good.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hatet0fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location was awful. The streets were all torn up when we arrived, there was no where to park, we had to drive about 5 blocks to the parkade. The young woman at the front dest was very nice, however, and was able to calm me down. The room was small and they called it the "family room'. The walls were thin so you could hear conversations in other rooms. I am not sure what was lacking in this hotel but there definitely was something. The room decor was really beautiful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesJif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond,VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. Our room was quite small but the price was very reasonable. I would stay again, but get a larger room. The staff were very friendly and the location was very good. With the breakfast and dinner buffets, this is a very good deal. Although small, our room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejl804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This little hotel is looks out on a huge construction project (part of the city improvement plan) but it is easy to overlook that aesthetic defect once you walk inside. The staff is warm, the common areas cozy and comfortable but most importantly in a city of incredibly high priced food, there is a modest but more than adequate buffet supper every evening, waffles in the afternoon and non-stop coffee and tea in addition to the usual breakfast. The food alone makes this a real price-performer. The location is also excellent --near public transportation and within walking distance of the Central Station, the gorgeous opera house, and Karl Johans gate shopping. A longer walk takes you to the wharf and Nobel Peace Center. Rooms were small but comfortable. Bring your own shampoo!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing