We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We were given a very pleasant welcome here. The hotel is within walking distance of the main railway station, but at the time we stayed, was near a construction site. The outlook will improve, I’m sure, when the construction is finished. In addition to a buffet breakfast, the hotel provides a simple buffet evening meal, which was very welcome. Our room was pleasant and cozy but we made the mistake of leaving a pair of spectacles in the room when we left. No worries! When we contacted the management to tell them our mistake, they posted them to our home.

(The Viking Boat museum is a ‘must see’ in Oslo)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    441
    148
    48
    28
See reviews for
201
435
116
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Rooms are very small and the hotel is located on the edge of a rather seedy area. On the upside the staff are really friendly and there is a cosy feel to the whole place. Also you can reach the centre, train station and the opera house with a 5-10 mins walk.The main draw has to be value for money since you get breakfast, afternoon pancakes with jam until 6pm AND basic evening meal consisting of buffet type things and a hot dish. Great for saving money in an incredibly expensive city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasonholiday68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
463 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed at Clarion Bastion for one night in August 2012.

The hotel is located near the central station and the opera house, making it convenient for for short stays in Oslo.

My room (508) was rather small, but quiet facing the small courtyard. Stylish interior, both modern and old charm.

The bed was soft and extremely comfortable.

Bathroom was too small with barely enough space to fit a sink, shower and toilet. Even my toilet kit had to stay in the room by lack of space in the bathroom.

Luggage space was inadequate for a stay longer than one night.

Service is excellent with a surpris at check in: the hotel serves a buffet for diner every night between 18.00 and 21.00.
The selection was good, with soup, cold and hot dishes, cheese and dessert.

The buffet alone makes this hotel a good deal, as one can save the expense of a restaurant trip.

Breakfast was good, both warm and cold, even some salmon.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for short stays in Oslo if you are not planning to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have just arrived. So we'll see how well i sleep. But... This hotel is inspired by boutique hotels of London. It really shows. I have stayed at London's Hotel 41 and Bastion certainly has echoes of that with style, decor, character, service, afternoon waffles and evening buffet. And for such a reasonable price. Is it too good to be true?

I must mention the superb service during check-in also: first class. Thank you.

I have new favourite hotel in Oslo :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Nice small hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Very near where our ship arrived. All the front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating, they couldn't have been nicer. The extra amenities of coffee, tea, fruit and dinner were just fine. After just leaving our ship it was a nice transition back to the real world. We had a room at the front of the hotel, but heard some rooms were dark.

Room Tip: If you want quieter room, get a room at the back. Our standard room had no air conditioning. Delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartzmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is well situated and reasonably priced by Norway standards. Breakfast is excellent and their offer of a mid day snack and a small dinner buffet as all inclusive makes this hotel a great choice. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy but this should not be a big detriment to the many pluses of staying here. Rooms are well sized and appointed well.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July for a few days before going on a walking tour in the mountains. Initially we chose it because of the proximity to the station (meeting point for the tour) and because of the excellent value with evening buffet included. Construction work is taking place around the hotel, but it didn't disturb us, and we were expecting it because we stayed here last year - and there is construction work going on in many places in Oslo. We also came back for 2 days after the walking tour, with the benefit that we were able to leave some of our luggage in the baggage room.
Our first room was very small, but clean and comfortable, on our second visit we were upgraded to a suite, which was very nice because it not only had a shower, but also a whirlpool bath, much appreciated for sore leg muscles.
The breakfast was a good selection of different types of food, - although there was a hot breakfast put out every day, which sat around in hot trays for quite a while, there was also the option of frying an egg for yourself or the cold buffet.
On our first visit the hotel was very quiet, but when we returned from the tour the hotel was full and the restaurant area was very crowded
We found all the staff pleasant and especially the reception desk staff who went out of their way to be helpful.
We would certainly stay here again if we go back to Oslo.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing