We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Nearby Hotels
US$201
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$423
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$510
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$403
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$190
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
US$178
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
645
493
168
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
493
168
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetafternoon pancakesmake your ownfree pancakesopera housetrain stationcook your ownafternoon snackincluded in the pricefree dinnerclarion collectionan expensive citylight dinnerdeluxe roomtea and coffeehot drinkssandwich
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Recently renovated hotel. Rooms generous sized. Amazingly poor lighting in spite of many lights was the only downside. Good breakfast. Location is a short walk from the Opera house, the main walking street and restaurants. The room was air conditioned. Need transportation to get to Viking and Kon Tiki Museums. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel was very centrally located especially as I arrived by ship. I was able to walk to everything else. My single room was small and sweet but close to what I expected. Nicely decorated and very clean, and despite having no air conditioning during a heat wave, the room stayed pretty cool. The staff were very helpful with all my questions. I had breakfast and dinner included and would definitely do that again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This year's trip included many Clarion Collection hotels in Norway - We had not been back to Norway in nearly 20 years and because the reviews for these hotels seemed so good, we decided to try them out. There's also a convenience to being able to contact one central location about the hotels (although for some things you still had to contact the individual hotels. The location of this hotel is very good. It's close to downtown but also close to the train station and the ferry to Bygdoy.

•Rooms - They thought we would need a larger room but there were no front facing rooms that were available. So they put us in a mini suite in the back. It was very dark. (If they just added a few more lights in the room, it might help tremendously.) On the other hand, it was also very quaint. The water heater pot with tea was hidden in the dresser that I didn’t find until the next day. There was no Kleenex. No paper or stationary and no pen.
•Beds – The bed was standard; the sofa converted to a sofa bed. This was quite comfortable. What was cute was that only one side had to convert and the other side could be left as a sofa.
•Bathroom – The bathroom was actually large; however, the shower was small. The water in the shower would switch back and forth between warm and cold but did this slowly enough that you could move out of the way when it went cold for a bit. There was a huge whirlpool tub. The sink stopper did not work at all and there was no counter to speak of. They had soap on the walls and other amenities outside (conditioner, moisturizer, shower gel) but no shower cap and no face cloths.
•Breakfast – This was quite good with warm meat/potatoes, soft & hard cooked eggs plus a place to fry eggs. Cheese, cold cuts, and bread (along with cucumbers) is available at both meals. They also have cereal and toppings and fresh fruit (though the selection of fruit is small). They served chocolate cake, too.
•Waffles – All of the Clarion Collection hotels offer waffles in the afternoon. We were able to catch this twice and enjoyed it both times. It’s a “make your own” with jam on the side and the waffles are the very thin type that are served all over here.
•Dinner – This was the surprise. The first night they served BBQ pork chops and the second night they served falafel. I asked one of the people setting up whether they were really serving falafel as a vegetarian main and she said that they were. She kindly then pointed out various very good items later at dinner to me. (While you could find things to eat if you’re vegetarian, I’d guess it would be difficult to find good vegetarian mains all the time. Some places we visited in other parts of Norway had no veggie mains on their menus. Basically, you can find meat, potatoes and fish at every meal. I love meat if it’s prepared well and so sometimes skip it; however, I love salmon and so finding something to eat wasn’t a problem for me.) The spread both nights included a large salad and toppings, potatoes, pasta salad, and dessert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Bastion twice with a day in Bergen between the two visits.

On the first visit, we stayed on the 8th floor. Our room was comfortable and large enough for an overnight. The bathroom was adequate and had a heated floor (very useful as we were not really prepared for rain!) We were leaving early the next morning and so were happy that a buffet breakfast was available very early.

On the second visit we arrive too late (00.30) for the evening buffet, but unexpected by us, sandwiches had been kept for us. We were upgraded to a very comfortable room.

The evening buffet is very good and a real bonus in an expensive country. Tea and coffee are always available.

The staff were stars - everyone was very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

The location is good and one is able to walk to most of the sights.

Recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for several days in early June, 2013. First time visitors to Norway,
we were a bit shocked at the costs involved. Gas is $12/gallon. A big Mac is $17, with no
fries or pop. Coffee and cookies for four can run $60. (Part of the price of providing a living
wage to people in the service industry, when the restaurant's dishwasher makes $30K/yr.)

So it really helps to have a great big breakfast buffet as part of your hotel stay, including making
a sandwich to take with you for lunch. Push-button coffee machine in the lobby that makes your beverage any one of twelve ways, free. Sauna and workout space in the basement. Friendly lobby. Very clean, comfortable, and wonderful staff. The night clerks are great, and will help you cope with jet lag and catching up on your circadian cycle.

Going out for a walk at 3:30 a.m.? No problem. You'll feel like s/he would very much like to trot alongside with you, enjoying the midsummer night's sunlight. Front desk staff were uniformly helpful, courteous, and really there to make sure you enjoy your visit.

Location is dynamite. Just a couple blocks from the central light rail & bus "terminal" that revolves around an open square. Take the 120 mph train in from the airport and walk to
the hotel any time, night or day. The magnificent concert hall / opera house is equidistant,
and well worth the stroll. Other venues readily accessible via superb public transportation system.

Room Tip: The view on the street side isn't that great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePorter090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews