We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A home away from home...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I love the Clarion Collection Hotels, with a friendly atmosphere, and often decorated like a home away from home. This hotel has a lovely bar and breakfast room at first floor, nicely decorated rooms, though my room was rather small. The bathroom was really narrow, one of the smallest bathrooms I have seen. Soft beds, good sleeping quality. Nice breakfast, but not as good as you can find at the other Clarion Collection Hotels in Oslo (Savoy & Folketeateret).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us at Tripadvisor.
We do our very best to make your stay as pleasant as possible, and we love when people feel at home.
If you are planning to stay with us again, let us know in advance that you stayed here before, so we can try to give you a room with a bigger bath.
Hope you are coming back to stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,
Tonje
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    435
    144
    47
    26
See reviews for
197
428
115
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
461 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel is in good location, not far from the opera house. The best thing about this hotel was probably the fact that all food was included, so no need to spend money in expensive Oslo outside. Breakfast, afternoon buffet and evening buffet was all included. Nothing special, quite basic, but still, very reasonable food that save you a bit of money. The rooms are normal standard. Overall, good value hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us at tripadvisor.
We do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible and you letting us know how you feel is the best way to make it happen.

Hope you come back and stay with us soon!

Kind regards,
Tonje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here and I booked through booking.com with room rate and morning/evening buffet meals. In an expensive city, it is very reasonable, especially you can cook your own pancakes in the dinning room from 3-5pm with free flow of water, coffee and tea at the reception area.

Hotel room was a bit small (standard double room), I think I was given a room in the old wing since the décor seemed a bit old and didn't look like the photos they have advertised. However, it was still bigger than those you can find in Hong Kong. I love the heated bathroom floor which made my feet really toasty and it also served to heat the whole bathroom up so you don't have to step out from the shower in the cold. There is sufficient heating in the room itself, and if it gets stuffy, just open the window from the top.

I really liked the buffet breakfast, they have a very good selection, not to mention Norwegian Salmon and other Norwegian food, all kinds of veggie for salad, condiments and dressings, cheeses, bread (at least 6-7 types), warm croissants, fruits (I love the Spanish melon, at least I think that was what they were). you can get to fry your own eggs as well if you prefer some other style they didn't have. For evening meals, they had soup, main course, and salad ingredients, dessert, cheeseboard etc. We enjoyed the curry rice they made on the second night.

Reception was very helpful and friendly. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, location is not far from Oslo S train station, about 7-10min walk including dragging your luggages on cobbled ground. We can also walk to other attractions near the area eg. opera house, coasts, Bastion.

The only problem for me was getting hot water, as they didn't have any kettle facilities in the room, and because the weather was really dry and we needed more water, I had to take a lift, sometimes at 2-3am (due to jetlag) to get hot water from the reception area. It would be more convenient if there are kettles in the room. Also, I think it is normal for Norway hotels not to have room cleaning service during duration of your stay so don't be alarmed if nobody comes in to clean the place.

PS: I love the fireplace near the reception area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We do have to very different buildings with different decoration and different facilities.In all our de luxe and suites we have kettles - and I if you hade ask the reception I am surtain that they would have lent you a kettle. We clean our rooms every day and I am very sorry if we have missed to clean your room while you stayed here - that is not normal! I hope to see you back at our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was a great find in Oslo. I'm all about walking cities and even though Oslo is not really walkable in a day, there was a lot to see just around the hotel from the Opera house, to an old fort and tons of museums. The rooms were nice, but perhaps small for American Standards, but really, how much time do you spend in the room anyway? The bathroom was really interesting because the shower folded out. I thought it was kinda creepy at first, but after a while it grew on me. The most impressive thing about this hotel was the service. My friend and I arrived late at night and Christian checked us in. He offered us a sandwich, which took us both by surprise so we said yes to see what it was all about and about 5 minutes later here he comes with 2 fresh sandwiches. It was so nice after traveling to get there to have a quick bite to eat. He was able to give us a ton of recommendations and was super friendly each time we saw him afterwards. The rest of the staff was equally as friendly, even including the cleaning staff who said hello and good morning to me each day. The fact that they provided breakfast, lunch and dinner made the room rate even more appealing. We didn't have to spend a dime on food outside the hotel and as you may know, food in Oslo is not cheap! Just keep in mind though, when they say waffles for lunch, they mean make your own crepes, not American style waffles.I had no complaints about this hotel and would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USSVoyager8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate review us at tripadvisor.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Oslo, and our hotel.
I will let our staff know how pleased you where, especially Christian.


Hope you come back and visite us again soon!

Kind regards,
Tonje
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Good good good good very gooooooooooooood. I really recommend this place really goooooooooooood. Very friendly staff and hotel has a vintage look. ',.,.,.,.,.,.l.."....,.,.,.,....l.....my first time to Norway and I'm glad I lived here.





  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ajesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Ajesh,

Thank you for your recomendation of Bastion.
Hope you come back and visite us soon!

Have a great weekend!

Kind regards,
Tonje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent three nights here on a long weekend trip. Our experience staying at this hotel was one the best we've had in visting more than 25 countries in the past 2+years. From checking in late to our early morning checkout we felt at home and it really made our trip to Oslo special. As a family of four, we are budget minded travelers so I can't speak to high end hotels but this was easily the best experience we've had in a long time.

The good

- The staff were all fantastic and were always ready to help. This includes everyone we met from the front desk folks to the staff working the breakfast buffett to the guy who helped when we had a minor issue with the bathtub leaking. The young lady working when we arrived around 10 pm was extremely kind and even put us in a bigger room when she saw that we had teenage children rather than keep us in the single 'family' room we originally had reserved. This itself made our stay better as we had what amounted to ajoining rooms with a shared bathroom between them. Another of the front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting an alternate tour company when our planned tour fell through.

- The food. Included in the cost of the hotel was the buffet breakfast, afternoon pancakes, and an evening light dinner plus coffee/tea all day long. The breakfast buffett was very, veryy good with a wide variety of things to choose from including pastries, make your own eggs, crepes, fruit, bacon, sausages, etc. A hearty breakfast went a long way in a city that has some expensive food costs. Our kids really liked the make your own pancakes in the afternoon after walking around the city for hours. There was also the 'light dinner' offered each evening although we didn't try it while staying there. We did see others eating and it looked good with an entree type item and a soup.

-The location. We felt like the location only added to the value of this hotel. It is a five minute walk from the train station and about 15 minutes from the bus station and the city hall. Plus it is only about 5 minutes from the Opera house. Oslo is one of the few cities we have been in that the area around the stations felt as safe as anywhere else we were in town so it was no problem at all to walk to/from the hotel to the train station to catch our ride.

-The room. We had a room(s) on the 6th floor and it was very nice with a view out of front of the building. It was quiet with no road noise and although we a occasional person in the hallway going to/from the elevator it was not an issue. We did have one minor issue with the bathtub leaking when a tub of water was drained it only happened once and it was quickly cleaned up. The bathroom floor was also heated which was a nice addition.

The not so good

- I can't think of anything... As I said before, it really made our trip enjoyable.

Bottom line: We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone thinking about going to Oslo.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel had a good view. Rooms near the elevator may be noiser. Higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Google Translation
Hei!

Tusen takk for din faktastiske omtale av hotel Bastion!
Det gleder oss å høre at dere hadde et så fint opphold hos oss.
Vi gjør vårt ytterste for at dere skal ha det fint og føle dere som hjemme, og jeg blir veldig stolt når jeg hører dere hadde et fint opphold, og ikke minst at dere satt så pris på personalets innsats-dette skal jeg fortelle dem.

Håper virkelig dere komemr tilbake snart! Dere er hjertelig velkommen:)

Mvh
Tonje
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had a very cramped room with a small en-suite shower. I was traveling solo, and had my wife been with me, it would have been a real squeeze. The lighting was poor, with no additional lighting over the work desk, and so the room layout was poor, and not practical. There were very few electrical sockets for charging smart phones or computers. There was no courtesy tray. The wash basin was lacking a plug, and hence this was also a nuisance, and lots of water was wasted. On the positive side, reception staff were helpful, but there could be longish waits, a free evening meal (or sandwich if you arrive late) is provided, and breakfast is included in the room rate. The self selection at breakfast was reasonable, but the tables when you finished were cleared very slowly, and hence it was unsatisfactory, and incoming guests often had to clear their own tables before they could start their breakfast. More staff were desperately needed. The other positive was that the charge for a Central Oslo Hotel were more reasonable than many others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing