We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #18 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a great hotel located close by the opera house. The staff is great, the rooms are nice and the food is good. We would choose this hotel again and recommend it to our friends any day! Great success

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karoline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Karoline,

Thank you so much for the complimentce for this great hotel!
I am realy glad you had a good stay and enjoyed what we ave to offer our guest.

Hope you come back and visit us soon!

Best wishes and have a happy summer,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very nice hotel. Very good and charming rooms. Located close to the opera and Akershus fortress. Very good service at front desk and good cleaning. Bad service at berakfast. Be early or you won't get bacon and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Jørn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014
Google Translation

Hi Jørn,

Tusen takk for din anmeldelse av oss her på Tripadvisor.
Setter pris på at du skryter litt av hjelpsom personal og at rommene er rene og pene. Det setter vi veldig stor pris på!
Kan bare beklage for at det ikke var mer bacon til frokost når du skulle spise. Dette skal ikke skje!
Kan ikke gjøre annet enn beklage.
Likevel er det veldi hyggelig at du ellers likte hotellet godt.

Du er hjertelig velkommen tilbake- da lover vi det er bacon og eggerøre til deg også!

Vennlig hilsen,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I always live here when Iḿ working in akershus, and thats because of the good feeling , the personal , the evening supper, the rooms, .
of cause there could have been better possibilities for parking and the breakfast room is to narrow, but I am feeling home here , my second home .

Room Tip: talk to arild
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bas1112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,
Im so glad you feel at home at Bastion. We love to have you!
Thank you for letting others know that as well- the great evening meal, which is complimentary, as well as the pancaces. And at last but not least the great sevice provided by the staff. I will make sure Arild knows how you feel. That makes me proud.

Hope to se you again soon!

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a nice basic hotel at a reasonable price and good located and it can be the right choice depending on expectations. Oslo is very expensive city and this hotel is reasonably priced. The location is convenient and short walking distance from the main attractions, between the opera house and the fortress; the center of Oslo is not very big and therefore most places are easily accessible; if you want to be in the most perfect location, though, there are better hotels . The hotel is clean, the service is good and the staff is very helpful. the included breakfast is slightly above average and typical for most hotels, with added touch that you can make your own pancakes, waffles and omelets. The rooms are average size for European city hotel and have basic amenities, and nice décor, without excess luxury. At one moment I could hear the people above, but I am not sure if it was an issue if them being too loud, since most of the time it was fairly quiet. While the bathroom is not very spacious, the space is used efficiently and comfortably enough; the bathroom amenities are basic. There is a sauna in the hotel, but I did not try it, so I cannot comment.
In summary it is a good hotel, convenient and comfortable and if one just wants a reasonable hotel to sleep in while exploring the city, without needing luxury, then this hotel works great. My rating doesn't reflect any major criticisms, but rather the fact that it is not exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for commenting on how you likes the hotel here on Tripsadvisor.
Im so happy you over all had a good stay.Great that you got too explore all that Oslo has to offer.
And we are very fortunate that we are located close to many of the atractions.

We are greatful that you commented on the helpful staff- they love to help you as best as they can.

Hope to see you in Oslo again and staying at Bastion.

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

my kind of hotel and feel like home. personnel is just friendly and no stress with helpfull advice if needed. exremely nice hotel but ofcourse a bit old interior but home feeling is nice especially sofa room with tv.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Anssi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,
Im so glad you enjoyed the hotel and what we have to offer our guest.
Thank you so much for letting others here onTripadvisor know too,

Im glad that you loves the style of the hotel- old english boutique style as it is. It gives a homy feeling and a warm atmosphere.

We really hope you come back and visit us again!

best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: Clean, quite, free breakfast and dinner( great value for Oslo), and great location (city center and close to train station), staff was helpful.

Cons: prostitutes a block away( the hotel is not in a shady part of town), very small rooms and bathrooms(really small!!), fridge did not work. They could not give much ice because they use most of it for the breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Halfjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for giving us a review on tripadvisor.
If you think the rooms have a small bath, i will recomend yuo to upgrade to a superior room for only 200,- NOK more a night. Im sorry that the reception did not letting you know that you had an option.
Hope you still come back and stay with us soon.

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Reception and restaurant staff, room size and view, cleanliness, breakfast and dinner buffet, free coffee, a reliable WIFI and pancakes in the afternoon, plus the location... A perfect choice for a weekend of city sightseeing: close to the old town, a couple of minutes from the opera and some 10 or so minutes from the ferry harbour. good connections with public transports (trams, buses). And after a tiring day, you´ll find good quality beds and a quiet environment in which to rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Claude_B15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hello, and thank you for your review!
Im happy you liked what Oslo and what the hotel has to offer our guests,
We do our best so you can have a pleasant stay!

We hope that you can come back and visit us again soon!

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
877 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Family Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: £104 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing