We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Nearby Hotels
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$13,105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,408)
Filter reviews
1,408 results
Traveller rating
649
495
170
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
495
170
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening buffetafternoon pancakesmake your ownfree pancakesopera housetrain stationcook your ownafternoon snackincluded in the pricefree dinnerclarion collectionan expensive citylight dinnerdeluxe roomtea and coffeehot drinkssandwich
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 1,408 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

When you travel, if you like to explore the city walking and using public transportation; if you are a person that suddenly decides to visit someplace 30 or 40 km away just because your curiosity was aroused by anything; if you do this and like to return to a confortable and clean place to sleep, this hotel is more than adequate. I have seen some reviews talking about the location inadequacy because of the "Red Light District", or "working ladies" - do not bother with this. Myself and my wife are nearly 60, and we walked around the neighbourhood at all times, even a deserted time in Oslo such as 01:00 am, with no trouble.

The location, as a matter of fact, is great for the urban explorer. A short walk to Oslo Railway Station, and from there you can go everywhere in Oslo and Norway. If you are traveling by plane, instead of paying about US$ 200 for an airport taxi, try the Flytoget airport train express - 22 min from Oslo S, 170 NOK.

In the radius of no more than 2 km, traveling on foot, you have shops, malls, city center, ferries and cruises (national and international), excellent options for eating and parks, attractions, and The Opera!

I´ve had no problem with service - as a matter of fact, the guy working in the reception on Aug 29 afternoon and 30 morning was extremely corteous and helpful - couldn´t get his name, sorry.

Generous breakfast, waflle / pancakes in the afternoon, simple dinner at night, all included. And free wifi also,

The only con is the size of the shower box - tiny - if you have a big belly like me you may have to make some extra effort to fit into it, but you manage it in the end...

Room Tip: I followed another traveler´s advice and asked for a high floor room, facing the internal side. Good for silence if you have to open the window in hot weather.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arquimedes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Hello,

Thank you for letting us know how you felt about your stay at Bastion, we appreciate that you are sharing it with others as well! As you did, travelers use it to choose a hotel.
Like you say, we are a good choice because of all the extras we have to offer our guest.
The breakfast is included and the wifi, pancaces and evening meal is complimentary.

And we are close to many of the attractions you like to visit when you are in Oslo.

We hope you come back and visit us again,

Best wishes
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked this following other trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. It was a very well, centrally located hotel and we saw no problems with the area and found it very convenient - just a few minutes walk fro the central station , trams, ferries to the Islands for a day trip and near the high street. Also the City Hall, fortress, Nobel Peace Centre and ferries to the museums were within walking distance - even with 2 children in tow. The family room was spacious and very cosy. The whole hotel atmosphere was very welcoming and the customer service was outstanding and we cannot praise the staff enough - they were very helpful, for example, providing large extra pillows when we requested some to protect the kids from rolling onto the springs of the sofa bed, finding ferry departure times and even offering to post our postcards when we asked where the nearest post box was. The food, as mentioned on most reviews was also undoubtedly a bonus and the pancakes the highlight. Perhaps in the evening it might have been nice to see more children friendly choices but with a buffet and breads the children were able to chose something even if it were not a hot meal. Perhaps the only thing we would have ideally liked would have been a kettle in the room and toilet paper on arrival ( but that was very quickly sorted at reception when we mentioned it). For a 5 day stay these would be the only criticisms we could find. I absolutely would recommend this for a family planning to stay in Oslo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

ood evening Carol,

Thank you so much for your exelent recomendation of Bastionon Tripadvisor.
Im so glad that you found the hotel a friendly, warm and comfortable place to stay for you and your familiy.
Im so happy that praise the staff, that makes me so proud of being aprart of the Bastion family.
We want all our guest to have the best stay as possible!

We hope you come back and stay with us again!

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Pros:
Great location close to the central station and next to the new opera house
modern, clean rooms with adequate amenities
free wifi
breakfast, all day coffee/tea, dinner included in the price
friendly and helpful staff
Cons:
Air Conditioning was not functioning and the room was hot
No safety deposit box in the room
very limited closet space and shelving

Would return to this hotel (in winter), should my travels bring me back to Oslo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CCS294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for recomending Bastion to other travelers.
Im very happy that you enjoyed most of the thing the hotel has to offer our uests, as well as a freindly and helpfull staff!

As you know Norway is not know for being a hot country, so we usually dont have need for an air condition. And this was a ecpesially and unexpectedly hot summer.

Im glad you would like to return to Bastion, and we wish you a warm welcome!

Best wishes,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First approaching the hotel, you go through a part of Oslo I don't like very much. It has the feeling of a backyard. The hotel is located quiet central in Oslo, only 10 minutes walk from the central station and 10 minutes wal from the city hall and Karl Johan gate. The first impression of the fassade was om*g but at entering the hotel it made an ok impression. They tried to make it look old fashioned.

The staff in general was friendly, but they might have a shortage of personell because 3 times I had to wait for someone at the reception desk to come back from the kitchen/the storage etc.

The room (a standard double room) was tiny but made a clean impression. The bed was ok, you had a bath with a shower that was difficult to get in because the doors were not made for a room that small and the toilet was so close to the wall that you were touching the cold tiles (which is great to wake up in the morning). The view was out into the backyard, so no view at all, but the hotel is in the middle of a city so the hotel is not alone with that.

A common norwegian problen is, that they don't complain about anything, not even bad work by craftsmen. A big screw in the wall (why not remove it), bad painting job around the smoke detector, a hole above the network port in the bathroom (where s.o. had removed to much of the tiles and nobody covered it...).

I might be very picky now, but details are important! Especially in a country where every hotel takes a lot of money and you get extremly different standards at the same rate. Why use Clas Ohlson plugg sockets and light switches, when you get some more modern for just a little money extra?

The hotel has some enviromental certification that is prominent in the lift. But in the bathrooms they used plastic cup wrapped in plastic - details! The room could have had a waste sorting bin (as I have seen in other hotels) to sort paper, platic and other waste.

The breakfeast was average. Nothing special. You might get the same in a good nowegian youth hostel or most other hotels in Norway, but for me it was enough. But please, fill the mini bar... Not funny that you have to dress up and go down to the reception to get some nuts ore a juice.

Over all, the stay was nice but small details could make the hotel stand a little bit more out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEgl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed on this hotel because of it's rather high rating on Trip Advisor. I don't quite like this part of Oslo (Skippergata, Kvadraturen and around), but it's become a lot better over the last years. The hotel is average. Small rooms (I didn't bring a suitcase (only a large computer backpack, and was quite happy for that) Think I would need the bed to get into it.
I was on a business trip, and would value a desk where I could work from. The desk provided in the room wasn't suitable for that, so I ended up working from the bed. Not optimal.
It's a good value for money though. Nice atmosphere at the breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bbeitnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pernille C, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014
Google Translation

Hi i Skien,

Tusen takk for at du tok deg tid til å fortelle oss hva du syntes om ditt opphold på Bastion,
vi beklager at du ikke syntes rommet var stort nok, eller spesielt egnet til jobbing.
For bare ett par hundre kroner ekstra kan vi tilby et superior eller deluxe rom, med skrivepult som egner seg bedre til arbeid.
Rommet er i tillegg større, har en elektrisk jensen seng og et større bad.
Vil virkelig anbefale dette til neste ang du bor hos oss.

Håper du alikevel velger Clarion Collection på din neste reise!

Ha en god kveld,
Tonje

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews