We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Hotel in Oslo - a true gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #20 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Value Hotel in Oslo - a true gem!”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Went for a girlie weekend 29-31 October 2010 (Fri-Sun). We knew Oslo would be expensive so I looked for ages on TA for a good value hotel and found it! The Hotel is not in the best of areas but if it were, it would be much more expensive than it is. We never once felt threatened or had any hassle going in and out at any time.

There were three of us and we had Room 304 overlooking the front of the hotel which was rather noisy on the Friday night due to a nightclub that went on till 4am ish and there is also building works being carried out opposite the hotel so, with hindsight, we should have asked for a room at the back but we kept the windows shut which muffled it a bit. But you have to remember, you are in a city and noise is all part of the city experience.

We had 2 single beds and a camp bed - the single beds were extremely comfy and were electric! The pillows were not good at all - way too soft. My friend said the camp bed was very comfy too. The room wasnt huge but perfectly adequate for a short stay and immaculately clean with very modern but tasteful decor and a nice laminate/wooden floor - I HATE carpets in hotels so this was great. The bathroom had no bath, just a shower and was rather compact but again, perfectly adequate and super clean. The shower was really powerful and we had plenty of hot water for 3 showers in a row. No freebie toiletries just soap and shower gel from a dispenser on the wall but I had forgotten my toothbrush and the receptionist kindly gave me a travel one with a tiny tube of toothpaste which was nice.

As others have said, and this is the main reason I chose this hotel, the food and service was way above the rating of the hotel. They use all organic food and the breakfast was a delight! Everything was fresh and beautifully laid out. The eggs were delicious and you could cook your own on a hotplate if you wanted but there was scrambled egg in a dish ready along with bacon, sausages and beans. There was lovely fresh bread and you could make your own toast with good quality fresh butter (hate little packs of marg stuff) . There was a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine that was very good and a machine dispensing orange or apple juice. Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, salad - everything you could want! Also, they provide complimentary tea/coffee and water as well as a fruit basket in the hotel reception area all day. Oh, and you MUST make your own pancakes (3-6pm) - between breakfast, pancakes in the afternoon and the very acceptable complimentary evening buffet, we hardly spent a penny on food outside the hotel the whole time we were there! Two of us are veggies and we found plenty of choice.

I have to say that from the moment we walked in (we arrived around midnight) we just felt so welcome - we were offered a sandwich which was very nice after a long journey and ALL the staff, even the cleaners, were friendly, smiling and couldn't do enough for you - nothing was a bother. We sat in the lounge one evening and watched tv and felt right at home. There is also a lovely wood-burning fire next to the dining area which made it feel cosy. The decor of the hotel is really lovely too. The whole place exceeded our expectations and I really believe a lot of that is down to the high level of service from all the staff - the place runs like clock-work.

So, thanks to all the staff at Clarion Bastion for a fabulous stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, cosy hotel with good food, character and exceptional service.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiddymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    456
    155
    50
    30
See reviews for
212
454
116
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Nice hotel, beautifully decorated with a cosy atmosphere.
Supper and breakfast included, a nice touch.
Very helpful and humourous staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelgaSigurdsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillesand, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Nice, small hotell with a nice atmosphere. Nicly decorated rooms with a lot of details. This hotell is the second home for many frequent travelling guests. I am normally not happy with large conference-hotels, and Bastion is the absolute opposite of that. You will feel at home from your first stay.

The free evening buffet is not large and complicated, but just what you want before going to bed. Or you can make yourself some snack or coffee and sjust it by the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dompap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear guest from Lillesand,

Thank you for your nice resonse! We are so happy that we manage to give you the feeling that so many of our frequent staying guests describe and come back for,- the feeling of beeing at home. I suspect you are one of these frequent guests,- so I say,- Welcome back to your second home in Oslo! Hopefully we will see you at our next Guest night? "Game night" Tuesday Tuesday Nov 16,- all staying guests are invited, and free of charge!

Best regards,
Hilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for one night at the beginning of October for a business trip. Was greeted by a friendly member of staff at check-in and advised of the hotels buffets - afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast - all in the rate! For anyone that travels to Oslo they will know that this is an expensive city, so to have these extras is a bonus. I managed to find time to to grab a couple of pancakes for afternoon tea.

The room itself is comfortable, if a little on the small side, but plenty of room for a solo traveller. Internet was included and reasonably quick.

A coupl eof reviews state about "undesirables" hanging around nearby, which there maybe but just walk by and they won't generally disturb, and let's face it, it's not the hotel's fault, is it!?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertcha_Cowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

General

I don't usually write reviews, but had to say something in this case as the standard of service received merited it. The hotel itself is ok, nothing flash, basic clean accomodation with a comfy bed. I was a bit disappointed that there was no safe in the room, but then I'm sure if I asked reception would have stored any valuables for me.

Location

It's located on fairly run down street. It seems to be slap bang in the middle of the red light district with a lady of the night on every street corner. There were quite a few shady looking characters in the viscinity but they're all pretty harmless, and I felt comfortable walking alone at night, and the Police are never too far away which is reassuring.

Value

Top marks here. Oslo is an expensive city, and for the rate we paid (via Hotels.com) I felt we got an excellent deal for a central Oslo hotel. Included in the price is breakfast and dinner, neither of which were anything special, but enough to keep you going for the day. We saved a lot of money by making sure we filled up on plenty of bread, cheese, and cerial in the morning thus reducing the amount we spent on dining out.

Customer Service

I've saved the best till last. This is where this place excelled. All reception staff were nice and friendly, but special mention must go to Sarah who works the night shift. She went out of her way to help us with directions, and checking times for bus departures and place to go. Nothing was too much trouble and she seemed genuinely happy to help. It's the staff who make this place special, and I hope staff like Sarah who go the extra mile are rewarded according!

Will definately stay here again next time I'm in Oslo.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizan_A_Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2010

friendly staff, lots of extras e.g. afternoon waffles, good valuue for money, comfortable dining and seating areas, excellent food - only tip - avoid rooms near the lift, it's very noisy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sociodramatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear guest from Leeds,

We appreciate your nice review. Especially that you enjoyed our waffles and our "Teaser" evening buffet! Welcome back!

Best regards, Hilde, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayern
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent two nights at the Bastion and - in general - were glad about our choice: We were assigned a newly renovated, exceptionally designed room (small but sufficient, as we only had booked standard category) to the backyard. That was fine, because in front runs one of Oslo's most busy roads and a really annoying construction site produced ennerving noise (due to harbour works, I think. If you think about booking this hotel you better call them and ask whether this site has disappeared). But inside we were fine and liked the hotel a lot: Nice atmosphere, very friendly and concerned staff, rich breakfast buffet, in the afternoon you can bake pancakes and in the evening there is a buffet as well (soup, different salds and breads, small meals, dessert) didn't change a lot between the two days, but, hey, it's free of charge!), throughout the whole day you can have free tea, coffee, water. The hotel is situated 10min from the main station and Karl-Johans-gate - and as in most towns this is associated with less than exquisite surroundings. All in all: Great place to stay for a Oslo-visit, you get more than you hoped to get!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderwunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear guests from Bayern,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel!
We are truly looking forward to the construction work will be finished, according to our information in November. The you may walk directly over to the Opera! In the meanwhile, we recommend rooms facing the back if you will be at the room daytime, even though the rooms are a bit smaller. Welcome back!

Best regards, Hilde Hammervold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 101 in Oslo
2,109 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 101 in Oslo
798 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#22 of 101 in Oslo
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing