We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anker Hostel
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
coruña
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cheap and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

very well located. Good price compared to other hostels in Oslo. The rooms are quite simple, but enough to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricrisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    216
    328
    113
    75
See reviews for
56
171
214
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Simple and clean! Room with bank-beds, one table, four chairs, small kitchen, clean bathroom with floor heating :)
The breakfast is at the restaurant next door(you have to pay before at the hostel reception).

Pros: Quiet, clean, close to center, public transports at the door, no curfew.
Cons: WI-FI ONLY on living room :(

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This Hostel is placed near to the most important city attractions and to the train station / bus terminal. I had a nice stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

It is is a good location. Clean, efficient.

Social, not really but not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austinmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed here one night and I can say it's good: position near the center, free wifi in the lobby and tv In order to follow european cup. Very big with many guests. We requested a Twin room with private bathroom and wc and no problem. We Used our Bed linen.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevechevola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hostel offers cheap and basic accommodation. The rooms are rather spacious, clean with access to a bathroom and a kitchenette (you can lend the kitchen utensils at the reception desk).The hostel is located close to the city centre, however, the area is a little sketchy and dirty. I guess it might get a bit dangerous in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our party was a group of 6 of us and we decided to have a cheap random weekend to Oslo. Found this hostel on the top list on hostel world. We arrive around 3pm and checked in with no problem, paid for our bed linen which was 50NOK (£5) very clean, neatly iron and folded. My friend even hired a towel and had no complaints about it. We were up on the 4th floor. Room was basic but had a kitchen (which you could hire utensils but we didnt) a table and a few chairs. We were in an 8 bed dorm which left 2 beds for us to dump our stuff on which was pretty handy.

The room was fine, bathroom had a heated floor which was lovely. There is a foosball table down in reception and is quite a nice atmosphere as this is where you can pick up the best reception for the free wifi. We didnt eat at the hostel, as you can buy yogurts at the 7/11 by the station for breakfast and pick up cheap baugettes and calzones there too. We had paper cups from reception to drink our alcohol in our room. We heard no other noises from any other rooms, sometimes the corridoors got a bit smelly with people cooking but I guess that's to be expected.

The reception staff were very helpful if we ever had any queries with travel or places to visit (like the miniture bottle museum!)

For what you pay for it's very basic but if you are only using it for a bed then I have nothing to complain about. It's a hostel, not a hotel so don't go out expecting 5* treatment. There is a tram and bus stop almost right outside, a mini supermarker next door and a 7/11 type shop at the end of the road (about a minute walk) where you can buy travel passes.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hostel and if we went back I would stay there again. I would reccommend this to anyone staying there on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Anker Hotel
#40 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Property: Anker Hostel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia and HostelWorld so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing