We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the staff that make it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anker Hostel
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's the staff that make it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms were fairly clean and the shower area was clean, although weirdly right on top of the toilet.
The prices were cheap as far as Norway goes, and was filled with very friendly people. Nobody waw more friendly than Frijda(spelling), the great receptionist that checked us in early so we could go to the festival, and sat talking to us and making us feel welcome the entire time. She made us love the place and would definitely return for such great service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    216
    328
    113
    75
See reviews for
56
171
214
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Well... not really cheap, but cheap in Norway thinking. As Oslo claims to be the most expensive town in the world (at least it feels like it), it's good value here. You have to pay extra for sheets, rooms are okay. Nothing special, normal hostel conditions. Be aware to park your car about half past 3 in front of the hostel or around the corner. It's free.
Because of the price you get 4 out of 5 ;)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterOrkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is located close to the train station,restaurants, pubs and bars and was great value for money!
The staff were very helpful and gave us tips on where to go for cheap but delicious dinners, suggested sites to visit, even pointing them out on the map for us.
The room and common areas very clean which was great.
It was a good place to meet people, they had a great club crawl, which I believe they run every friday and saturday night, that takes you to hidden local gems.
I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Licia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The best aspect of this hostel is it's proximity to the city centre - less than 10minutes walk from main square and main street of oslo. The rooms in the hostel are fine but you have to pay extra for bed sheets, so if you can I would advise to bring your own (bed sheets are 50 nok). There is a cooking area in each room but no crockery is supplied. One positive is that the rooms are v secure so you can rest assured that your belongings are safe.

We felt however that the staff in the hostel weren't that friendly or forthcoming with information - we were unsure where to go or what to do in oslo but the hostel staff didn't offer any advice, just pointed us in the direction of the information leaflets! Still, would probably recommend the hostel as it is one of the more reasonably priced places to stay in oslo and for it's central location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jor_lsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

It's clean, close enough to city centre, quite expensive though but still one of the cheapest option in Oslo... Don't be too fussy. The room was clean and spacious. Special mention to one of the staff member (don't remember his name...) who was very helpful with me as I was sick with a cold during my stay. Thank you to him. If you ever get sick by the way you have a 24 hours pharmacy across the road. Still good to know.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clement V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

you pay qite a lot and get very little.
no breakfast, not even bedding or towels are included in the price. it is quite far from the station.
common area is in fact just a lobby-main hall always overcrowded and loud.
staff is ok.
rooms can be noisy if the windows face the street (there are trams going on the street).
it is worth to look for something alse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Anker Hostel is basically a decent, no-frills hostel. You get everything you need, although the (in my experience) fairly standard hostel rule of either bring your own bedding/towel (or rent ours) applies.

Positives:
- The price. Given that Oslo (and, seemingly, Norway in general) is extortionately expensive, this hostel is incredibly well-priced.

- Tiny kitchen in the room! Wasn't planning on using it, so I have no idea if they provide pans, but if they do, it'd be really handy. If they don't, no harm done.

- No major problems. Beds are fine (unless you're particularly fussy, in which case - why are you hostelling?!?), shower's warm and works, and the key system works. You're not guaranteed a friendly receptionist (luck of the draw), but it's hardly a big deal. Everything's basically clean, which, for a hostel, is clean enough.

- Location (more on this later). It's very close to both the centre of town and the train station.

Negatives:
- Location. I had no idea Oslo could be so rough. Walking from the train station to the hostel is a hell of a downer, so be prepared (main bit of the city's lovely, don't fret). Imagine walking through a couple of streets populated almost exclusively by extras playing meth addicts/dealers in Breaking Bad, and you'll get a flavour. I've since been told (perhaps wrongly) that Oslo is the heroin capital of the world, which is a hell of a surprise.

At night, there are more drug dealers approaching you than you can shake a stick at. We decided not to walk up Storgata (the street the hostel's on) at night because of the vibe we'd had from it earlier in the day, and took an alternative route, and still had about ten guys approaching us to sell us drugs. Although this sounds kinda bad, it's basically fine. You just say no, and walk on - you don't get bothered.

- The vibe. The communal area's a bit rubbish compared to other hostels I've been in. This is a natural result of the hostel clearly being a basics-based money-spinner for what I'd assume is a larger company. Don't come here and expect a personality. Also, instead of bannisters (or whatever) on the staircases, they've got metal fencing, which is an unnecessarily prison-themed touch, if you ask me.

- HEAT. Presumably not an issue any time other than summer, and we were unfortunate enough to stay during what I'm told was a heatwave, but it was painfully hot in the room. Opening windows really didn't do much to help.

- Noise. The street on at least one side of the hostel is incredibly noisy, with lots of trams and traffic going past seemingly constantly. If you're sleeping with the windows open, good luck.

Verdict:
Anker Hostel is unashamedly basic, and that's reflected in the price. If you can stomach the five minutes of terrifying walking through the local area, you'll be fine. Certainly not a hostel to spend any non-sleeping time in, as far as I can tell. However, it's perfectly serviceable provided you're not too precious about what a hostel entails, and the price is a real bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjimmy151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Anker Hotel
#40 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#37 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Property: Anker Hostel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing