We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place to stay”
Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anker Hostel
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
1 review
“Horrible place to stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

They make mistakes with the names and get you out of your bed in the middle of the night. Rats in the nearby area. Toilets are full of dirt and mistreated. Personnel working there are unpleasant and unhelpful. Rooms are really smelly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emilio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    222
    340
    113
    76
See reviews for
60
174
225
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hostel is one of the cheapest accomodation solutions in Oslo.

My friends and I booked 4 beds in the 25 people dorm (yes TWENTY FIVE!) last November.
The hostel itself is very modern and clean. The white corridors might give you a "hospital" feeling, but for the price offered, I'd rather that than a dirty place.
Kitchen is very spacious, with a lot of equipement. You make a money deposit to the desk in order to get cooking stuff (plates, bowls, cleaning product, ...) and get it back when you bring the stuff back. That way, kitchen is always clean and there are no unwashed stuff drying on the sinks, so it's quite a nice thing!
The staff was friendly and helpful, and we felt secure in the hostel. It was not that close to the city center, but the walk was ok.

I had some bad experiences, but I'm not going to blame the hostel for that: the staff is not responsible for the bad behaviour of some guests. Be aware that booking a 25 guests room, it will be quite noisy and you can have some bad suprises (WHY do people sleep naked in such a crowded dorm?????????? I saw more naked bodies in one night than in my whole life).
Oh, and be sure to pack your stuff well and not let anything around your beds (lockers would have been nice) because one drunk man pied in my friend's shoes.

But like I said, the hostel is not to be blame: book while keeping in mind the fact that you are just going to live with a bunch a people.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LineDnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Very efficient although very impersonal and not always very friendly reception staff (except for one of the guys). Through our emails I knew about extra cost for linen so decided to bring that. I also knew from Tripadvisor reviews that there were junkies in the street so expectations weren't high. The short distance from both the city and Grunlokka are definitely what makes this hostel worthwhile staying. It needs a thorough clean, particularly the bathrooms, a lick of paint and some new mattress protectors, pillows and quilts. Other hostels have rules too but here they are so in your face. We had two sheets in English, and one in Norwegian in our room plus they're plastered throughout the hostel. As are the charges for services such as luggage storage and linen.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch-Australian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I didn't like this hostel very much. They charge you through the nose for bed linen, and the walk from the station to the hostel is really not very pleasant at all. My first impression of Oslo was that of a dirty, smelly, unsafe city, and that was mainly because of this hostel. The corridor as well was very smelly, the lift was dirty and I spoke to 4 staff members only one of which was helpful and friendly. Having said that, Oslo is VERY expensive, and if you want a place to stay that is cheap, then this is your best bet. Also, the shower and toilet in the dorm room are a big bonus. So if you are travelling on a budget, this is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Oslo is very expensive, so if you are looking for a budget hostel, that is a good choice. We had a twin room with bathroom inside. The good thing is that you have a fridge, but you need to hire bed linen for 50 k each person, of course breakfast is not included and the room is not so clean. Yet the girl at the reception initially asked me more money than it was in the booking, however when she saw my voucher, did not charge more. She didn´t apologize and the staff in general is not friendly. Maybe with a bit more money, you find a better hotel, with breakfast.... Good location though and the room is not small.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertaYRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oslo hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms were fairly clean and the shower area was clean, although weirdly right on top of the toilet.
The prices were cheap as far as Norway goes, and was filled with very friendly people. Nobody waw more friendly than Frijda(spelling), the great receptionist that checked us in early so we could go to the festival, and sat talking to us and making us feel welcome the entire time. She made us love the place and would definitely return for such great service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Well... not really cheap, but cheap in Norway thinking. As Oslo claims to be the most expensive town in the world (at least it feels like it), it's good value here. You have to pay extra for sheets, rooms are okay. Nothing special, normal hostel conditions. Be aware to park your car about half past 3 in front of the hostel or around the corner. It's free.
Because of the price you get 4 out of 5 ;)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterOrkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Anker Hotel
#42 of 100 in Oslo
1,336 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
775 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Saga Poshtel Oslo Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Property: Anker Hostel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing