We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”

The Holocaust Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.80*
and up
Visit Oslo Pass
Ranked #68 of 388 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Center for Studies of the Holocaust and Religious Minorities presents a modern exhibition on the Holocaust, focusing especially on the fate of the Norwegian Jews during the Second World War. The exhibition presents images, sounds, film, items and text documents about the genocide of the European Jews, as well as the Nazi State's mass murder and persecution of other groups and minorities. The Center is located in a villa with a garden and has a cafe. Opening hours 10am - 4pm every day.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,243 reviews
1,779 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,883 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Before going here, I didn't even know Norway was involved in the Holocaust. Definitely worth a trip because I just learned so much, and the exhibits really were fascinating. I definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in that time period's history, and particularly if you don't know much about the Scandinavian countries' various roles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    17
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
630 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Holocaust Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to see this centre. Most of the exhibits are noy in English so you have to have the audio tour, just does not have the same affect as reading yourself. I enjoyed the bits where i could read, surely it would be cheaper to have printed translations or am i odd?

Helpful?
Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A well designed unmissable museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We got to the museum for opening time and we were instantly greeted by friendly staff explaining the lack of English text but this didn't take away from the impact of the museum thanks to the audio guides it was a really informative well layed out thought provoking museum well worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ristyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The exhibition gives unique insight into the fate of the Norwegian Jews during the Second World War. To me, this was the most interesting part. I think the museum managed to show individuals, not just a group of people.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helga Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This place is not that easy to find even for a local the first time unless you do your research. It's a very interesting place in several ways, it's a research institution with a small library connected to the University of Oslo, it's an excellent museum about the history of the Jews in Norway (in a broader European setting as well), and it was the home of the deluded Norwegian Nazi and traitor Vidkun Quisling and his wife during the second world war. I personally enjoyed the exhibition a lot, it gave a lot of background information, personal information and information about the aftermath of the Holocaust and the fate of surviving Norwegian Jews. It was no problem for me reading all the info since I'm Norwegian, but I would assume it could be annoying having to solely use an audio guide since there's no English translation - I've heard people complain about this.

But, if you're Norwegian you better get your buttocks out here and learn about an important and dark part of history which never must be forgotten or repeated.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaskifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Holocaust Center also viewed

 

Been to The Holocaust Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing