We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but a bit too pricy”

Dinner Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 1,445 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$88
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dinner Restaurant has served food from our Szechuan and Cantonese kitchen in the heart of Oslo since 1989 and are proud to continue offering our guests an exciting journey through Chinese food culture. Traditionally, the Chinese meal consists of many different dishes that are shared between guests at the table in order to create a more social dynamic around the meal time. Our menu is structured in such a way that this style of eating is possible with us. Please ask your waiter if you would like to know more about the dishes and produce used. We would also like to share that all of Dim Sum is made here in the restaurant and the Mango Pudding is still made by the same cook that made it back in 1989.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place but a bit too pricy”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a nice and cozy place to eat. The food and the service were very good. The waiters were really attentive to your needs.

Nevertheless, I would say that they have tried to fit too many tables in a small place though. And it is a pricy restaurant, but this is expected when you go to a Michelin starred restaurant.

The general experience was very satisfying and I would recommend this place to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ada K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    427
    121
    38
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We were 9 friends.
The service went from good to ok during the stay.
One of us, didn't get the chance to order something to drink, before the waiter went away.
When we order something to drink during the meal, it took almost 15 minutes before it came.
And the place is a little to pricey.
The food however, was very good, except for burnt dessert (chocolate cake)
However: The service need to get a lot better.

Helpful?
Thank 72taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a real WOW experience!
Very expeditious operation that also was professional and pleasant.
A small minus that I could peek into the kitchen where I was sitting and observing a cook who ate nut and licked the fingers ... but hand hygiene is probably just as well as general impressions and probably no danger to the guests. but it did not look so good.
Will certainly return to this wonderful food and restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeirPaaEg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great value”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

For the price you pay Dinner is, even by norwegian standards, an expensive restaurant. There are way better asian food in Oslo for less money, there are generally way better food of any cuisine available for this price. However, the food and service are always great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gressli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurmala, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice asiatic”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we tryed this asiatic restaurant, it was a very nice choice, the food , service and atmosphere was great. ill raccomand this restaurant to everybody. best asiatic i have eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dinner Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Dinner Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing