We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK food but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jambo Restaurant

Jambo Restaurant
Ranked #945 of 1,405 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“OK food but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch on a Tuesday. Not an easy place to find because the entrance is around the corner from the sign on the pedestrian walkway and the place is on the second floor. The food was tasty and plentiful but with the first bite I knew it was loaded with MSG. If that's an issue in your diet, best to avoid the place. I didn't give it a second thought because my last MSG episode was more than 20 years ago. Food was good service decent and we left. Three hours later my ankles were swollen and splotched with discolored skin, a telltale sign of an allergic reaction. My guess is they use a healthy dose of MSG. If that's an issue try elsewhere but if not the food here is adequate but nothing to write home about

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    25
    23
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice food and a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I came here and was looking for a set menu. Well when you are only 1 person your options are limited. but i got a set with springrolls as entra, then i had Deep fried prawns and chinese chilli steak as a one dish course. This was all very tasty and and the quality of the meat was quite nice. For dessert i had apple pie with ice cream, this was however a tad disappointing , the cake was quite soggy and soft, but then Again its not a chinese dish so i wint hold it against them :)
Overall the service was great and the chinese food top notch :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NielsChristianMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
761 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food, central location and very decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just a 3 minute walk from Oslo central station. Service was prompt and efficient. Food was delicious and the price very reasonable.
On the whole will recommend this if you fancy some Chinese food and near Oslo central station.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Usually I wouldn't have chinese food when I am travelling in western countries. However, that night, one of the persons that I was travelling with was desparate for chinese food, so... Well, the food was very ordinary. We ordered fish and vegetables, and it came out that the fish was battered and it was soggy when cooked with vegetables. I had better meals elsewhere in Oslo paying similar price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bad Chinese food, bad...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We ordered hot and spicy food but received sweet and bland mixture of components with no flavour at all. Then we asked for Chinese noodles instead of rice, but we received ordinary thick pasta. The only good thing in this restaurant was apple juice. In the end we also noticed they were preparing a table for a large number of guests and they covered it with foil, how ridiculous is that?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambo Restaurant also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Jambo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing