We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mamma Rosa - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mamma Rosa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Mamma Rosa was one of Oslo's first Italian restaurants. Many Norwegians have learned about Italian food preparation and culture here. Mamma Rosa's crisp pizzas are famous, popularly enjoyed at the corner table facing Egertorget, one of the prime viewing posts of the capital city's street life.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stay away from this place!! When I was a kid, this was one of the best Italian restaurants in Oslo. Well, that's 20 years ago. Say no more..

Helpful?
Thank Hanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
401 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Back to the 80's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

This restaurant has been there forever. I'm not sure they have changed the menue OR the interior since the 80's. It is like some others mention, a real tourist trap. However, I like the Italian pizza here. But, all in all, a kind of boring and dated place.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vestfoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rather tasteless food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

After having found a black curly hair in my spaghetti last lime, I was not too keen on visiting this restaurant again. But the others wanted to try it out, so I joined thinking last time was probably just unfortunate. I ordered a chicken dish, the others had red meat. None of us were thrilled. The food didn’t taste very much – except from the potatoes in white sauce that had an unpleasant sour taste (had the cream they used gone sour?). Anyway – no hair in my food this time!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Horrible place to visit! Regret we, a big group of Norwegian people used time and money there on friday this week. We stayed just because it was cold outside and we had good energi among us...We had problems to understand how they can survive! I think, just because of the name and "populaer surrondings" in Oslo. Embarressing for the norwegian people and tourists. There are SO MANY other top quality places with good service&food to visit. You even get more value for money, even in a good 3 and 4* place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kvinne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, particularily if you...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Whatever you do, particularily if you actually happen to like Italian food, don't eat here! The food is dreadful, pre-cooked and just re-heated at the "chef's" convenience. This has nothing in the slightest to do with Italian cuisine. Neither have the waiters, none of whom are Italian or show even the slightest knowledge of neither Italy, Italian, Italian food - nor, for that matter, of food in general. Or of wine. Or of service, politeness or friendliness. Avoid at all costs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Rosa also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing