We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk on by”
Review of Mamma Rosa - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mamma Rosa
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Mamma Rosa was one of Oslo's first Italian restaurants. Many Norwegians have learned about Italian food preparation and culture here. Mamma Rosa's crisp pizzas are famous, popularly enjoyed at the corner table facing Egertorget, one of the prime viewing posts of the capital city's street life.
Restaurant details
Description: Mamma Rosa was one of Oslo's first Italian restaurants. Many Norwegians have learned about Italian food preparation and culture here. Mamma Rosa's crisp pizzas are famous, popularly enjoyed at the corner table facing Egertorget, one of the prime viewing posts of the capital city's street life.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walk on by”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This restaurant used to be good 20 years ago. Not any more. Food poorly prepared, health concerns, kitchen looked untidy and dirty. Some of the pasta loks like microwave meals from the supermarket. I wont go back.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank labbestuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    5
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spilled souce all over my dress”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

No more to add. And the food was pretty disapointing. Over-cooked pasta is not my thing.

Helpful?
Thank Aurora_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stay away from this place!! When I was a kid, this was one of the best Italian restaurants in Oslo. Well, that's 20 years ago. Say no more..

Helpful?
Thank Hanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Back to the 80's”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This restaurant has been there forever. I'm not sure they have changed the menue OR the interior since the 80's. It is like some others mention, a real tourist trap. However, I like the Italian pizza here. But, all in all, a kind of boring and dated place.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vestfoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rather tasteless food”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

After having found a black curly hair in my spaghetti last lime, I was not too keen on visiting this restaurant again. But the others wanted to try it out, so I joined thinking last time was probably just unfortunate. I ordered a chicken dish, the others had red meat. None of us were thrilled. The food didn’t taste very much – except from the potatoes in white sauce that had an unpleasant sour taste (had the cream they used gone sour?). Anyway – no hair in my food this time!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Norskgjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Rosa also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing