We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best asian tapas!”
Review of Plah Restaurant

Plah Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 1,483 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$75 - US$85
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Plah RESTAURANT opened its doors in January 2004 as the first modern Thai restaurant in Scandinavia. After many years Plah RESTAURANT has evolved into one of the best Asian restaurants in Norway and Scandinavia. Plah has over the years had a number of newspaper reviews and good reviews in the trade press as Vinforum, Aperitif, Wine Spectator, Michelin White Guide.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best asian tapas!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went here with my family for dinner and we had the best thai food in Oslo! We ordered from a menu with a three course option - for the main it was lots of small "tapas platters".
Great food for a reasonable price!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank perserpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    94
    35
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had the nine course dinner including the wine pairing. The nine courses were very tasteful and when a person was allergic for part of the menu they replaced it by another excellent dish. We were a bit disappointed about the wine pairing though. All four white wines were Rieslings, which is an ok when but would expect a wine pairing to have more variation than just Riesling. The service was very good and would definitely go here again; however I would just order a nice bottle of wine instead of taking the wine pairing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food but very bad service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked a table for 16 people and were split on two separate tables set far apart making it impossible to chat. This gave a very bad first impression.
The food was very good. Diverse, with a lot of exciting flavors complimenting each other. The wine we were recommended with the food fit very well. Unfortunately, they hardly refilled the glasses, and sometimes only the red wine while waiting 30 minutes to give a refill to those who had white wine. I also think it took too long between all the courses, waiting up to an hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calavoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service cosy surroundings”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The restaurant is placed in a street without traffic that also has vegetation. This gives it a warm atmosphere. At the same time the service is good along with the food. I liked it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice 9 course dinner. Excellent food. Very professional waiters, very attentive.

Physically very low temperature was not nice. Think the air condition/ventilation creates too much draft. Felt as if I'm getting a cold afterwards.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hartmann-travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plah Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Plah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing