We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best sushi in my life”
Review of Alex Sushi

Alex Sushi
Ranked #11 of 1,440 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$66 - US$66
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alex Sushi in Solli Plass square in Oslo is one of the city's finer sushi restaurants. The interior is modern and stylish with an open kitchen area where guests sit around an oval table, watching the mastery of the sushi chefs at work. The menu includes a fascinating number of ingredients, with some exotic highlights for the more adventurous. The service is relaxed, knowledgeable and friendly. An excellent wine list complements the food, with vintage varieties mainly from France and Italy.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“The best sushi in my life”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was the best sushi experience in my life! Everything is fantastic, we tried to taste as much as we could. Sashimi, sushi, maki - everything we tried was exequite.
If you like sushi and you are going to visit Oslo you just can't pass near this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    173
    47
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
271 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Comparing to most of the sushi restaurants in the city, the meal prices at Alex Sushi is higher but the amount and quality is much better, tastier with less rice and more varied seafood.

We sat at the bar. The service was fast. The chairs are close to each other, the sound is loud from the music being played in the background and the voices of the customers.

We chose the red menu which was more than what we expected. The amount of food is generous and very delicious. Like everywhere in Norway, the cost of wines is extremely high in restaurants.

The waiter was smart and knowledgeable about the food and explained to us which piece was what.

I wouldn't advise this restaurant to people who are not willing to pay!.. If you want to get a more reasonable meal, go somewhere else but you won't get the same quality.

And if we would come back here again, the answer is… probably!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and good atmosphere!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The salmon was delicious! I ordered the white menu option, and my husband ordered the red. Plenty of food and great selection of sushi. The wine was good and beer reasonably priced (68nok). Also enjoyed the fried banana dessert! Great sushi and overall really wonderful evening!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and mediocre”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My two friends each had a sushi platter, witch was ok, but can easily be bought at under half price in other sushi places. Average food. Since I'm not too fond of raw fish, I ordered a maki platter. To my suprise these makis contained raw salmon, and I only ate one. My friends, tasted them too, and none of them liked the strange-tasting mix. I bought a glass of white vine with my food. The vine was nice, but I didn't even get half a glass (average sice glasses), and for that I paid 120,- NOK -seriously?
The desserts where just as big a disappointment with a green banana in uncooked dough (banana fritter).
Steer away and spend your money (half of it too) elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mettz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AWESOME food”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The food is really great , best food in OSlo, but teh price matches ( quite ezxpensive) That said you nmust visit and i will be back...there is nothing on the menu i woudl not recomend, (ive been there 3-4 times)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alex Sushi also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Alex Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing