We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, great food. Pricy”

Ekebergrestauranten
Ranked #34 of 1,466 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$59
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: During the summer months we welcome you with a beautiful outdoor service with a fantastic view of the Oslofjord, the islands and boats. Ekebergrestauranten is located in the hills just above Oslo, with a stunning view of the inner Oslo fjord, the city and the Operahouse. If you arrive by car or taxi, you will find us by following the signs to Nordstrand.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, great food. Pricy”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location and physical space were great, with a good atmosphere. I found it interesting how many were drinking beer with dinner instead of wine, but that is obviously a local preference. Best food is definitely the local fish, which you could choose from and have cooked as you prefer. Located in amazing sculpture park, and as the sun does down the views are spectacular. Overall, highly recommended. However, not cheap (of course, nowhere in Oslo is....)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    266
    75
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relax - with a view”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

During our visit in Oslo, we had lunch at the Ekebergrestauranten. As we got lucky with the weather, we could sit outside and enjoy a fantastic view over Oslo.

The service was fast, efficient and friendly. As far as food is concerned, the selection outside is limited, but the things we ordered were of good quality and taste. The size of the portions were also OK, enough, but not excessive.

I cannot comment on the wine selection as I was invited and never got the chance ro see the wine list, suffice it to say that we had a very decent dry Riesling from Germany, if I am not mistaken.

All in all a positive experience, and I would strongly suggest you visit this place when you stay in Oslo - if not for the culinary, then for panoramic experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alain_Provist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best situated resturant in Oslo”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great situated resturant with pleasant service, hospitality and good food - excellent wiev of city and fjord. After a walk in the forest around with great sculptures - just enjoy a good meal at the end!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trygve Hermod B... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice wrapping / nice view / nothing more”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As all other restaurants in the Furset-portfolio, Ekeberg restaurant is also characterised by nice presentation with very little content. Their recipe for success is low cost staff and food, with a pro forma gourmet presentation. An untrained restaurant guest might be misled to believe the food is as good as the presentation and location. It is not. Stay away if you are looking for genuine quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Espen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner and excellent service from Robert”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We, 6 persons, had the great pleasure of visiting the restaurant again at April 12 2014. Nice 5 courses dinner, great taste and also well prepared and delicious Vegetarian for one of us. Great choices of wine pucker by us direct from the wine cellar ! The service waiter Robert gave us this evening was superb and fantastic. We also observed this very Professional taking care of 4 kids at the next table making Them feeling important and well respected guests! Thank you ! We will be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ekebergrestauranten also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Ekebergrestauranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing