We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service”
Review of Christiania

Christiania
Ranked #128 of 1,569 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Christiania skal være restauranten og baren som glir over i pulserende nattliv i helgene. Dette er stedet hvor gammelt møter nytt og hvor antikviteter er knyttet sammen med moderne design i et unikt lokale. Christiania restaurant Vi har åpent til lunsj fra kl 11.00, og kjøkkenet stenger kl 22.00 Kjøkkensjef Richie Bocarro og hans crew lager klassiske retter med en twist. Vår mat er laget med kjærlighet, og med kvalitet i alle råvarer. Alle rettene på menyen serveres hele dagen. Liker du tradisjoner? Byens beste afternoon tea får du hos Christiania. Christiania bar og ”dinner&drinks” Vi lager gode cocktails hver dag, men torsdag, fredag og lørdag glir restauranten over i et pulserende nattliv. Vår residence DJ Tommy Døske vil sørge for rytmer sammen med våre gjeste-djs. Barsjef Fernando Saez og hans crew finner du bak Oslos mest sentrale bar fra kl 16 alle dager (unntatt søndag, da hviler vi!) Taket på Christiania - åpner torsdag 5. April.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We like Cafe Christiania very much and go there often (once a month). Service is very good, and same goes with the food. It is also very well priced, especially considering that you are in the heart of Oslo.
One thing though: it is surprising that you describe the type of cuisine as Norwegian, when this is a Bistro, and there are so many French dishes on the menu.
Anyway, very recommended place to enjoy a nice meal at very reasonable prices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time write this lovely review and share your experience with others. We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments like this, so thank you! The Norwegian cuisine description is more of an indication that our menu is based on Norwegian produce but with a touch of the French cuisine.
Hope to see you again soon!

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketing manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 183 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you've had a lot of cod and fish soup in Oslo and are in need of something different, this is the place. Beef bourguignon was outstanding.

Thank scubamom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop by this restaurant and have lunch as it looked pretty good from the outside. Coming in, we weren't disappointed as the decor was very quaint, with lots of vintage knick-knacks adorning the walls. We ordered a beef steak with fries and a seafood soup respectively.

The seafood soup had cod in it and a rather interesting sour taste, unlike bouillabaisse. My dad's beef however was a tad overcooked and tough and nothing to shout about. Our bill came up to 400+nok. Overall, pretty average food with average prices (by Norwegian standards) but good job on the decor and ambience. Service was also pretty decent.

1  Thank Mstrbmbztk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for the candid feedback and for taking the time to complete this review and provide us with information in regards to your experience with us.

We constantly strive to provide an environment of food and value to our guests. Average food is not what we aim for, and on behalf of the Management and Staff please accept our apologies for the shortfalls during your visit at Cafe Christiania.

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I highly recommend this restaurant. The setting is beautiful the food was tasty and the service was friendly. They had a nice children's menu but the overall feeling was charming, warm and nice. The prices, by Norwegian standards, were not too high. Our family was treated to lovely warm service and the food was really very good. Overall I think this was one of our best meals in Oslo and I would highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time write this lovely review and share your experience with other travelers. We constantly strive to improve our services and it is always refreshing to receive positive comments like this, so thank you!.

Most sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketing manager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The owner is a collector of old handicrafts/skills. Good food. Food and drinks are not cheap (but where do you get that in Oslo?)
Just across the streets of the Parliament

Thank Trond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBergerud, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Therese Bergerud
Booking & marketingmanager
Cafe Christiania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christiania also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing