We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant”
Review of Palace Grill

Palace Grill
Ranked #153 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Very popular outdoor backyard with a unique atmosphere. Thursday-Saturday the backyard turns into a nightclub with dancing and a good party atmosphere. Outdoor concerts during summer. Indoor concerts at the bar all year.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If u like food, this is the restaurant. The only problem with Palace is you can not reserve a table.
On the other hand, this is a blessing. Just ask for food. This is the place, if u manage to get a table. You have to be there early( 17 hrs) to get a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 526jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    28
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food served in an informal setting”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Excellent food served in a very cosy and romantic restaurant. Will definitely be visiting again.

Only downside is the pub toilet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
338 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wow! (and a few other things you need to know)”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Absolutely wonderful food, fit for any foodie alive. 10 courses, fixed menu and price. Wine paring is popular, but optional. One seating per night. If you can afford it, by all means go when in Oslo.

A few things that others have not said:

1) You need to be at the restaurant and one of the first 20 diners in order to be seated
2) Seating occurs between 6:00 PM and 7:00 PM. If you don't arrive before 7:00, you will not get in
3) The price turns out to be somewhere between $200 and $500 per person, depending upon whether wine is involved, and whether you opt for the cheese course

Be prepared to spend a lot, but the meal and the total experience of the Palace Grill is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

i was very fortunate to be treated to dinner on business two years ago. I have traveled all over the world and as a diehard foodie I love finding the best restaurants. My experience at the Palace rates as one of the best restaurant experiences that i have ever had. The cuisine and wine pairing was exquisite. Highly recommend.... But bring an expense account or ample credit. It's top $$$$ but definitely worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodgothic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For Oslo this represents Good Value”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Despite warnings about waiting times, we were lucky in Mid August as we rocked up at 7pm and got a table straight away. This we were told was very unusual, and due to summer holidays. Before we were seated the Chef explained the menu options, which were basically 10 course tasting menu either with or without wine pairings. I could not afford the latter, so opted for the waiter's recommended bottle of white at a fairly reasonable NOK 450. The food arrived at a wonderfully leisurely pace, enabling us to savour every course and look forward to the next, and ensured that a second bottle of white was necessary!

The atmosphere was perfect, the music emanating from the kitchen was both nostalgic and gave the impression that the chefs were having as much fun as us. Every course was both delicate and in some way surprising; it didn't make us laugh out loud like at The Fat Duck, but the execution was as good, as was the enthusiasm.

I don't remember how we got home, but I do remember that 25% tax was added to the already eye-watering bill; other reviewers seem to have forgotten that. Nevertheless, in Oslo where a Big Mac costs £10 and a Red Bull is £4, this was actually good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UKKid35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Grill also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Palace Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing