We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They know their Dim Sum”
Review of Taste of China

Taste of China
Ranked #501 of 1,446 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They know their Dim Sum”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Taste of China give you very good food at a reasonable price. The staff know what they are doing, and they do it quickly. The interior of the restaurant is fairly ordinary, but the staff are professional and give you good advice as you go along. The price level is low to moderate. We always seem to end up ordering Dim Sum.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolay434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    70
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant. But don't expect excellence”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

The menu as a wide choice. The usual starters in a chinese restaurant. I'm writing the review while i'm here, and the service is typical chinese, fast. dinning room is full.
Starters arrived, i choose a kind of samoosa. Steaming hot, spicy and very tasty, recomend it despite is not a chinese speciality...
Now came the dim sum, crab and shrimp. Tasty, but i'de like to try other dim sum to give an accurate opinion this one. Main course in the table.the rice is very bad. Choosed the mixed seafood and its good. Prawns and squid are really good soecially when combined with cellery and aspargus. Delicious!

Helpful?
Thank TiagoCosta86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
192 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Oslo”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a very secluded place that really works. It has been in Oslo for many years, supplying dumblings with lovely flavors.

Dim sum refers to a style of Cantonese food prepared as small bite-sized or individual portions of food traditionally served in small steamer baskets or on small plates with different flavors.

I personally like pork best. The Chinese know how to cook their pork. They also have different kinds of good beer.

The price level is fresh and you can expect around 80-100 dollars per person. But hey, we're in Norway, and this site will send you straight to China. A special experience in Oslo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank localPatronOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only Dim-Sum restaurant in Norway - worth a visit!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Walking distance from Oslo Central Station. The interior of the restaurant is plain, but if you like Dim Sum you are probably there for the food. Having tried the Dim-Sum menu, I can honestly say that it is very good. It is traditional Dim-Sum and it is currently the only Dim-Sum restaurant in Norway. The Har-Gow is very good, and the Won-Ton was not bad. I did prefer the steamed pieces though. Very folksy and nice family restaurant with decent, traditional Dim-Sum in a cozy atmosphere. Price wise it is very cheap . The staff was very helpful and likable. Go there if you are interested in authentic Chinese cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Atle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Taste of China”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Any questions I may have had about the authenticity of the restaurant were quickly pushed aside by the 20 page menu that included, among other things, Chicken Feet prepared three different ways. The food is tasty and presented in a modest and unassuming manner. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere generally pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of China also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Taste of China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing