We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Mehfel Restaurant

Mehfel Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 1,445 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$52 - US$78
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A cultural restaurant in the Kvadraturen district, inspiring both the mind and the taste buds. The restaurant serves the traditional dishes served at Pakistani celebrations, fragrant delights which can be shared among a group of friends. The restaurant regularly invites musicians, poets, authors, painters and a whole number of other artists, both Pakistani and Norwegian, to entertain their guests, providing a memorable evening out. The interior is stylish and light with white tablecloths and comfortable chairs.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Ended up at Mehfel at a coinsidence. We had a great four course dinner accompanied by matching white and red wines. The food was very good and the spicy fish soup was extraordinary. The waitress had a lot of knowledge and provided useful recommendations. We felt very welcome at this restaurant and will for sure be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Svein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    57
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
271 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Boring food, shabby furniture and unskilled serivce!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went there like a group of friends after a reservation days ago before the visit. We were seated in the basement where we had open-buffet.

The food was typical Pakistani food since the restaurant is Pakistani and that's OK until you start eating!

The food was oily, fatty, high volume with low quality. Just tasteless and boring!.. Even the bread was cheap white floury and non-healthy.

The water was poured directly from the tap!

There was ONLY one waiter who served us, We were 20 persons!!! He talked on the phone for a while while serving us and went back the wardrobe and turned on the Radio to his Pakistani music!!! ...

The furniture is old, shabby and very old-fashion! they had Tripadvisor poster posted on the main door braging about their good reviews on tripadvisor which is not reflex the reality at all!!!

I was totally disappointed! Even the wine was disappointing! We were served only one type of white wine and had no other choice to buy by glass but by bottle!...

I will NEVER ever go there and I don't recommend this place at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Nice Pakistani restaurant, best food, great service in affordable price.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I visited many restaurant in different European cities during my stay in Europe. Mehfel is best one due to tasty food with nice service and location. Hotel's administration is very friendly. Try once, I am sure you will like it.

Helpful?
Thank Bilal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best food with great service and nice environment”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great service , nice starter soup and awesome cousine. After long time I got my favourite dishes with best taste in Oslo while I travelled many cities in Europe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shabeerchappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine , worth the penny!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A centrally located restt , with a good decor and quiet surroundings; all leading to a wonderfully cooked and excellently presented food. The staff is polite and readily at hand ,never far away and yet never too near to seem nosy
We were seated quickly even though we had no reservation, the owner politely excusing for any delay.Even the advice given by him was good as we ended up having a better meal than planned.The food was made with traditional spices , but was not hot, so easy to eat without gulping down water!
Even though the staff and the owner were really busy with all the guests, there was never a frown , only smiles .
A place I'd go to again if I could.
Recommended for all travellers, Oslo pass also gets a concession!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alzoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehfel Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Mehfel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing