We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary perfection”
Review of Ylajali Restaurant - CLOSED

Ylajali Restaurant
Price range: US$36 - US$144
Cuisines: French, Norwegian, International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Hammerfest, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Culinary perfection”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I decided to try this after reading a review in Aftenposten newspaper.
We got the 21 course meal with wine package, and went out on a fantastic culinary journey.
The most expensive meal we´ve ever had, still well worth the price.
Truly professional service in every aspect. We came up with a few tricky questions, which both the sommelier and the waiters had no difficulties responding to.
Relaxed atmosphere. An experience to be remembered for the rest of our lives.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllanKlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    19
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
174 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An absolute culinary delight”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An absolutely decadent evening of culinary delights.

We arrived early and spent half an hour outside at the tables of the neighbour cafe, on a beautiful summer night (in April even!).

Ylajali is a small restaurant with only 26 (?) seats. A set menu of 19 small dishes, perfectly matched with a set of 12 wines - our compliments to the sommelier (Simon Zimmermann - the 2013 Nordic champion) for having made some unorthodox choices that worked out very well. A very enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff performed a well-choreographed serving, done with friendly youthful informality throughout the 4 hours it took.

The food was a tour de force of Norwegian ingredients, artfully crafted into a series of visual and flavourful revelations. The menu apparently evolves with the seasons and the availability of ingredients, which are definitely Scandinavian as opposed to French or Mediterranean.

We left thinking we should already now book a table for our next visit (knowing the wait list is now many months long).

This was a meal to remember. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cicignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Brilliant food. 19 dishes, 5-6 exceptional and the rest very tasty.... Very friendly and correct service. Interesting wine menu, with a few perfect matches. The match of wine/food has room for improvement.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite ”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We happened to get a table last Friday and had an unforgettable meal. Good reviews all over, one M-star and it did not let us down. Wines matched the food to perfection.

Helpful?
Thank Gaptrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worty two Michelin stars”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The meal was a journy through norwegian inspired flavours and textures together with perfect matching wines and extremly knowledgable service. All the dishes were full of flavours and they were beautiful on the plate. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ylajali Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing