We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly expensive”
Review of Mitt Hotell

Mitt Hotell
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitt Hotell
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Moss
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shockingly expensive”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This hotel is just terrible for the price you pay, Its 5 star money for a 2 star hotel. I only stayed here because we were getting a connecting flight from rygge airport the following morning, If I knew the hotel was going to be so poor we would have slept in the airport terminal. The hotel is atleast 25 years out of date and I'd say even then it was bad. 170 euro for the nite we were charged, Ive never been so overcharged in my life, deffinitly wont be returning. In fairness the hotel was very clean and would be fine if it were 60 - 70 euro nite but its not.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Massey183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
10
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel has 2 good features, the location and free parking place.
The location is good, is close to the sea side and close to malls and restaurants, and to a boulevard full of beautiful sculptures, that by the way fill up the whole city.
The price is like for a 5 star hotel, there is almost no service, the dining room is small and cold.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avargasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moss hotels

Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you like period hotels then this Hotel is classic 1970s.
Clean and simple with lots of brickwork and wood. Loads of hot water and - wow - linoleum on the bathroom floor, pure retro! No kettle which is a big minus.
A few modern features like a flat-screen TV and wireless door locks but a poor selection of TV channels.
Hotel's right on the edge of the town centre so loads of restaurants and night life close by.
Best assets? Convenient and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I think there is a tendency for people to assume the same standards from one region of the world to the next! What you get in Norway for £100 per night is not what you get in Las Vegas for the same. The room here was clean and functional and had free wireless internet which is important always! The hotel staff were freindly and helpful and the situation in Moss is excellent - very central to the town and a short walk from the railway station so no need for taxis even with a suitcase for most people.
Breakfast was included and there was a good selection both hot and cold. A small relaxed bar area on first floor for residents. I'll use again and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Our double room was large with twin narrow single beds which is fairly common in Norway. Its a simple hotel which is fine for a short stay - gloomy dining room - a hotel devoid of atmosphere, with the sweet smell of the paper mill when the window is open. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattYorkshire012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown,Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I stayed in Moss as it is a short taxi ride from Rygge airport, where Ryanair have now a connection in from Dublin.
I have been travelling for over 25 years, and never in this time have I been overcharged, like in this hotel.
This is a drab, 70's style 2 star hotel standard. There is no atmosphere at all in the hotel and the outside of the building tells it all as it has a red brick facade that you would never see on a hotel.
A Norwegian colleague, had booked the hotel on my behalf for 900 Kr. two hours before I arrived at the hotel.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was told the rate was 1200Kr..
The lady on reception then made up a story that all hotels were full because of an Exhibition in Oslo, and that was the rate.
When I checked the room , it was OK, but the heating system which should have been turned off as it was a warm night, hissed of air leaks, which meant I got abut 3 hours sleep.
NB
I had a walk around the small town, and two other hotels which were much better quality , had vacencies and had a rate of 900Kr.
When I challenged the lady on reception about this later , she refused to alter the rate downwards.

Norway hotels are all expensive, but this takes the biscuit .!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chefdegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
211 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

This is a basic tourist class hotel in the town centre. My room was small with two narrow and firm beds. Flat screen TV. Wireless Inernet for a fee. The bathroom was very close to disgusting but it had a good shower and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was the standard Scandinavian style buffet. This is definetly not a place to stay if you want something more than a bed for the night.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss
0.1 mi away
Moss Hotel
Moss Hotel
#2 of 5 in Moss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotell Refsnes Gods
5.7 mi away
Son Spa
Son Spa
#1 of 1 in Son
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotell Jeloy Radio
Hotell Jeloy Radio
#3 of 5 in Moss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.3 mi away
Stotvig Hotel
Stotvig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkollen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marche Rygge Vest Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitt Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitt Hotell

Property: Mitt Hotell
Address: Raadhusgata 3, Moss 1531, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Moss Municipality > Moss
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Moss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitt Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mitt Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitt Hotell Norway/Moss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing